We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful 5-night stay.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chrisjap
Osaka, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful 5-night stay.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My wife, I and friend stayed at The Petals from March 20th through to the 25th. It really is a slice of paradise and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. The lush green gardens filled with Jasmine trees are beautiful - Jagath does a sterling job. The pool was so welcomed for a daily morning swim. The bedrooms are also well furnished with adequate lighting and a range of books if one wishes to read. Upul kindly prepared us breakfast every morning out on the dining table on the verandah. He also whipped up a few glorious dinners. The outdoor living area made for a unique ambience. Be aware that hot water can be in short supply. We loved the three dogs - they were so friendly and welcoming.

One is able to walk to the beach in abut 20 mins - however the tuk tuk option is probably better. Be aware that many tuk tuk drivers claimed they were unaware of the address. The Petals does have a regular tuk tuk driver, so I’d suggest going with him - note that one needs to give exact money at all times, otherwise the driver will say “no change”. The beach near “Wijaya” restaurant is better in my opinion than the main beach at Unawatuna. We sat out on balcony at Wijaya with wonderful views sipping delicious fruit juices. Be aware though, that even restaurants claim they don’t have change - so again, exact money is best to avoid the inevitable of getting ripped off.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2014
Hi Chris!
Many thanks for your kind words - I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future. I was thinking of having little direction cards in Sinhala printed that guests can take with them and hand over to tuk-tuk drivers not familiar with the house. Following your feedback we'll make that a priority. Thanks again for your custom!
Linda, Upul & Jagath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToriFinch
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A heavenly retreat that surpassed every expectation…”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Returned to Blighty this week and already I'm day-dreaming about our stay in Sri Lanka! The Petals really was the cherry on the top after a few weeks travelling around this beautiful country. I hadn't expected to be so enthralled by a place but the location, surrounded by paddy fields and jungle, the villa, which was beautifully decorated with understated luxury, the pool, awesome for our 16 month old son, the food, Upul the chef cooked the most delicious curry and I cannot recommend eating his Sri Lankan fare enough - you will dream (as I am now!) of his aubergine curry for weeks if not years afterwards! Jagarth the housekeeper was so sweet and considerate, always there with a cup of tea first thing in the morning or showing us the flora, fauna and wildlife abundant in the stunning garden. My son, a toddler, was enthralled by the visiting monkeys, tortoises, peacocks and birds. Widjaya beach is a short tuk tuk ride away which is stunning but we actually loved The Petals so much we ended up hanging here for the week! The Petals was a perfect, restful retreat that has topped my bill of best places I've visited so far. I couldn't recommend staying here highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. I'm so pleased you loved it all. It's a pretty special place I agree :) We hope to welcome you back some time in the near future.
Best,
Linda, Upul & Jagarth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonRou...
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Restful”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The Petals is a beautiful villa. You will be greeted by 3 lovely dogs and Upul and Jagarth who will all make your stay memorable. Upul cooks the most delightful food and Jagarth quietly attends to everything you'll ever need, from a cup of tea when he sees you get up in the morning to showing you the delights of the garden flora and fauna. Its peaceful, contemporary yet cosy and is a great location to get to nearby beaches and hangouts.

Would recommend taking a tuk tuk to the main road and heading to Wijaya restaurant and bar on the beach early in your stay, its a beautiful beach and the food is great. From here you can get braver and venture further afield. Unawatuna is more commercial and OK for a more lively drink in the evening but it didn't strike us as a place for a nice meal or quiet drink, but you'll probably eat at home most nights as Upul's cooking is amazing!

Just one small thing…do double check the price of the tuk tuk with Upul before you use them.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back some time soon.
Best wishes,
Linda, Upul & Jagarth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabalino
Castelmaurou, France
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn’t have been better”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had a great stay. The peace and calm, tranquillity – yet close enough to Galle and other beautiful sites. Hired a scooter to zoom around on, had some great food and cooking experiences at The Petals with the cook and houseboy. We will be back.
Kevin & Leila

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden, pool and staff
Liked least: One night of barking dogs (no big deal)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty W
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Just Beautiful”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent a week here with our 10 year old daughter. The house and garden are beautiful. There is an abundance of wildlife to see in the garden, we saw monkeys, a kingfisher ( a paradise for twitchers!), frogs, a large terrapin and lots of fire flies in the evenings - not to mention the 3 rescued street dogs that live there (they are very friendly). The pool is lovely and we used it a lot. I think I can honestly say that this is one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever had.
The beach is a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away - we went to Wijaya beach - great restaurant, best tuna steak I've had in years. Galle is about 20 minutes away and also worth a visit.
We arrived very late at night, but were met by "the boys" Upul and Jagarth. Upul whipped us up some tasty (very fresh) prawns with some roti, despite it being the early hours of the morning, and of course a chilled bottle of beer.
I hope we get the opportunity to return. If you simply want to chill out, in beautiful surroundings, this is the place to go.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary00000...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a beautiful place!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We wanted to be away from the crowds and The Petals was perfect!!! It's so tranquil and restful and gorgeous surrounded by paddy fields. The rooms are sooo comfortable and Upul and his family are lovely people who we will really miss. He takes so much trouble to make your stay a great one. His cooking is delicious and he does great bbqs!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing