We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day of laughter!!”

Karuna s Cooking Class @ Sonja's Healthfood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Food & Drink in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
woolacombe devon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A day of laughter!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

i took karuna's cooking class a few years ago but i had a great day that involved involving lots of laughter and cooking!! we made some gorgeous curries that i still cook today. I still visit unawatuna and Karuna's classes are always busy and full of people having lots of giggles!! The class also involves a trip into galle the nearest town where you visit the vegetable market to buy all your vegetables for the class along with spices and fish if you want to cook this.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    21
    14
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food. Great fun!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The day started at 11am. Our group (10 people) gathered above the main entrance and were whisked off to Galle by tuk tuk. We visited the fresh fruit and veg stalls, the fish market and the spice and grain stores. It really gave us an insight in to the shopping experience in Sri Lanka.

We then returned to Unawatuna and were shown how to cook a range of traditional Sri Lankan curry dishes. The session was hands on, where possible, but with so many in our group we had to take it in turns to chop,peel and dessicate. Karuna is a brilliant laugh and has a cackle that is contagious. You are supplied with a pad and pen to write down all the recipes and instructions, which Karuna calls out as she goes.

The end result was a real feast at about 3.30pm: a pineapple curry, a pumpkin curry, a beetroot curry and a tuna curry complete with dahl and popadoms. Some of the curries were slightly too spicy for me but I am a total wimp (korma is occassionally too hot!).

Since returning home we have impressed our friends by referring to our hand-written recipe booklets and recreating the Sri Lankan feast in our home. It was great to cook all the dishes ourself from scratch and they (nearly) tasted just as good as Karuna's masterpieces.

This is a really fun way to spend a day if you enjoy cooking/eating

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoveLifeLiveLonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Day one in Sri Lanka and I don't think we will get a better one!! I enjoy cooking at home and had high expectations and can say I was not disappointed!! Once we arrived Karuna welcomed us both with a great smile a laugh that stayed with us all day. There was only the two of us at a cost of 3000 rupees. Sadly it was a public holiday and most of the markets were shut, but we did see enough to have have had a feeling of it. We visited the spice, veg and fish markets. We asked to cook a fish curry and also something with pineapple, Karuna did not disappoint, we had 6 main course dishes and a pudding all washed down with water, we even invited our tuk tuk driver to Join us!! A must is to ask Karuna how to eat properly with your right hand, this is not as easy as it looks-it takes practice and when you have finished you have a hand that looks like you have been stirring the pot whilst the host's is almost spotless! Of course, you understand this is a skill taught from childhood. It all adds to a very authentic day which was superb. As one of the posts says get off your sunbed and learn some skills to take home (via the essential spice market). Enjoy!! Oh and don't forget to buy your fresh spices to take home and a coconut grinder!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank stueyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Fantastic Teacher”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were looking for a cooking class in Sri Lanka since we loved the food. Finding this amazing place, we couldn't have been happier! Karuna was always laughing and smiling and she knew what she was talking about. We got to take home the recipes and make it for our families. We couldn't have been happier with the experience. A definite must do!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandSteph2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bankeryd, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent cooking course”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Karuna made this one of the highlights of our trip to Sri Lanka. She arranged a great cooking course and we learned a lot about Sri Lankan cooking. It was nice to visit the markets in Galle where we could shop some spices to bring home. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JPC494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karuna s Cooking Class @ Sonja's Healthfood Restaurant also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Karuna s Cooking Class @ Sonja's Healthfood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing