We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingfisher Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingfisher Hotel
Ranked #14 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Spent two nights over weekend in Kingfisher Hotel on a business trip. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay: excellent location (room balcony 30m from sea shore), good room, nice breakfast, good food and service. Internet is only available in lobby.
Thanks God that the hotel is one mile away from a disco that played techno sound through whole night. The sound is still mixing with the sound of waves.

Room Tip: All four rooms are facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weidewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    32
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
109
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmwoods
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked in for 4 nights at Kingfisher and added another 2 nights as the staff,rooms ,location,foodwere better than any other hotel we have stayed in -all over the world-yes 29 countries.
We were torn away to see the rest of Sri Lanka & after 6 days of misery we left Kandy and drove back to Kingfishers heaven for our last three days .
Best hotel for a 7 day break anywhere on this planet,
Thank God Sri Lanka has Kingfisher Resort.
Love Travel Rob

Room Tip: Maybe bring quality Goggles ,fins and s.noggles. After storms fuses on hot water heater need to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6bambam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very new, modern and stylish boutique hotel, sits directly on the beach. Good size rooms with air conditioning, flat screen TV, wifi, balcony with sea view. Friendly staff, open-air bar/restaurant serves tasy meals. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

It was a little difficult to find Kingfisher at Unawatuna and nobody seemed to know of this place surprisingly. We checked in around midnight and staff were very courteous and expecting us. Check in was a breeze and in no time we were inside the cozy, comfortable and elegantly designed room.

All rooms have lovely view of the ocean with large sit outs. All rooms are tastefully done and very clean. Bathrooms were also really clean and neat with a lot of attention put into the details.

Beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning was perfect. We had really good sleep at this property and have nothing to pick on.

Service and staff were very courteous and always eager to help. Even in the middle of the night, there will be someone to attend to if you needed something. This made our stay very special and felt a lot more comfortable. We met owners who also showed keen interest in knowing their guests and understanding their requirements.

Wifi was available in all rooms and was functional and had decent browsing speed.

We could not try their restaurant that was rated the best in Unawatuna as the govt authorities had demolished many restaurants during the week we stayed there. We went with recommendations from Christina and they worked really well for us.

If not for Kingfisher, our stay at Unawatuna would have been a concern and we thank everyone at Kingfisher for making out stay at Unawatuna memorable and a very pleasant one.

Room Tip: Rooms do not come with bathroom doors and is part of their lovely design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InsaneNirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

It's 1-1/2 hours from Colombo, right on the beach (safe for swimming) and has great rooms (only four) and the best seafood restaurant around. Absolutely spectacular - and great hosts Duminda and Cristine!

Room Tip: top floor rooms are high ceilined and offer broader view from spacious balconies overlooking the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moss77006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had originally booked pre-booked our accommodation with another provider (also reviewed on this site and can not believe the high ratings). We decided to jump in a tuk tuk and see what was available closer to the beach. SO glad we did. We lucked on Kingfisher as a place to have a cool drink and sort out our next move. We liked the staff and room so much we moved in for 5 nights. It is clean, friendly, relaxed and good food too - although you are spoiled for choice! Perfect accommodation for a holiday at the beach!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the top floor - had a lovely view of the beach and great balcony to catch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeefromHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here with my mum and boyfriend for 6 nights, and after much deliberation looking at all the hotels on Tripadvisor, I am SO glad we picked Kingfisher! From the moment we arrived everything was just perfect! The hotel is small and so stylishly designed, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds were really comfortable. Balcony's have a stunning view across the bay of Unawatuna and we spent alot of time just taking in the view and listening to the sea on ours. The bathrooms were amazing, open plan, contemporary and also spotless.

Downstairs in the restaurant/bar/beach area was also great, really well laid out and always popular with non-guests who came in to enjoy the food, which was excellent and much nicer than any other meals we had in Unawatuna!

What really made our stay so good was the lovely staff..always smiling and chatty! We really felt welcome the whole time we were there, and the owners Duminda and Christina were great, it was a pleasure to meet them and they helped with tuk tuks, trips etc.

Dont be put off by any posts about the condition of the beach due to the recent demolition of some structures in this area of the beach, it did not affect our holiday in any way and has been cleared away from the area near Kingfisher. It sounds alot worse reading some previous reviews, and it probably was worse a month or two ago. Most hotels have cleared this away and what remains is only small scale and not on the beach directly in front of Kingfisher.

We LOVE Kingfisher, thanks to all the staff for such a wonderful week. We'll definitely be coming back!!

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Hotel

Property: Kingfisher Hotel
Address: Welle Dawala Road, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2011, Kingfisher Hotel is beachside boutique hotel on Unwatuna Bay. We have 4 modern rooms with A/C, hot water, mini-fridge, international satellite TV, WiFi, and every room has its own balcony with an ocean view. You can also join us downstairs in our delicious restaurant or have a cocktail overlooking the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kingfisher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing