We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent setting, gorgeous rooms, nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingfisher Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingfisher Hotel
Ranked #14 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent setting, gorgeous rooms, nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for our honeymoon after getting married in a villa the week before. The hotel gave us the room with best view, which it certainly had, right over the whole of Unawatuna beach. The staff are extremely helpful. After a party one night (not at the hotel) we complained about the music keeping us awake and they went and bought us earplugs bless.
The rooms are stylish, clean and the balcony is brillaint. The only downside for us is there is no mosquito net but if you keep the fan on at night they don't bother you.
We ate in the restaurant, the food was delicious although the service was a little slow, luckily we were not in a rush.
I would reccommend this place although my only critiscism is that on a Friday and Saturday night the dive centre accross the beay play loud music until 4am in the mroning. Although this is outside of the hotel's control this did ruin a good nights sleep for us. After talking to other people everyone staying on the beach has the same problem, lets hope this dive centre doesn't drive everyone away as Unawatuna is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliLou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    32
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
110
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Kingfisher is exactly the kind of hotel we prefere - small, clean and spacious rooms. A big balcony and not at least a wonderfull view.
We stayed for 6 nigths, and enjoyed every minute of our holiday.
The staff and the management was so helpfull and kind - the only thing to be sorry about, was the missing restaurant. We have been told it was a fab. place with great food.
But now we have a cause to come back...hopefully next year

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Great food in the newly open restaurant, nice and clean little beach, marvellous rooms with great view and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and it is well worth the extra money for the lovely rooms and view. It was unfortunate that the restaurant was not open, but there were plenty of other places to eat and it did not spoil our enjoyment of the hotel. Hopefully the restaurant is now open. The staff were extremely friendly and service was excellent, thanks for the flower displays! Lasting memories of sitting on our balcony overlooking the sea and listening to the waves - we will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatSilb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The main reason for booking Kingfisher was the nice looking rooms and the great sounding bar and restaurant advertised on their website. We were therefore disappointed on our arrival to discover that the restaurant had been knocked down. As explained in previous reviews it would have been nice to be told this before we arrived to manage our expectations.

We were offered a small discount on the agreed room rate, which partly made for it, as did the nice room with balcony and the friendly staff.  We also got to discover other nice restaurants and bars we otherwise might not have done and the owner was quick to recommend some places to us.

Overall a very nice room with good balcony and friendly staff. The immediate location is currently let down by the recently demolished restaurants and debris on the nearby beach. Hopefully this will be up and running soon which will no doubt improve the overall experience and value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Spent a week at Kingfisher in January.
A governement demolition raid against illegal buildings at the waterfront in December 2011 put a temporary end to Kingfisher restaurant.
When we visited the place end of January, there was still the 4 rooms, the lobby and a beach bar, and small stretch of private beach.
The owner had cleared the beach from rubble but some was still in the water and on either side of Kingfisher rubble was piled up in front of the neighbouring buildings. Next to the lobby, they were building a new kitchen and the owner told us that they were hoping to get the restaurant going again soon.
Kingfisher was really quiet except for occasional noise from the building proces - they tried to keep it down, not starting too early, but still we prefer the sound of waves.
The owner and the staff were friendly, but somewhat disheartened from the loss of the restaurant.
It is a nice place, but without the activity and contacts that we had expected from the previous reviews.
The kids used the kayaks a lot enjoying to surf on the waves in the lagoon.
The rooms were perfect - beautiful decor, good beds , lovely bath room and everything spotlessly clean. The balcony with a view of the bay and some treetops.
We would have liked to have known about the construction site surrounding the hotel and the non-functional restaurant before we came. This might have influenced our choice and would certainly have influenced our expectations.
We recommend that you check in advance the situation of the hotel and restaurant.
We hope the very best for the future of this little place.
To sum up : friendly staff, lovely rooms, quiet atmosphere, good views and good intentions.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamadoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingfisherunawatuna, Owner at Kingfisher Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Mrs. Kajeldahl
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations on your stay with us. Indeed our restaurant was demolished by the government just one week before the high season and we were busy in cleaning all the rubble on the beach in front of our property as well as rebuilding the new kitchen to get back on our feet as soon as possible. I have written to Trip Advisor on Dec 26th to make a note on our site that the restaurant is in rebuilding but got a response on Feb 02nd only.
Because we did not start building early mornings and sometimes due to guest complaints had to stop completely , our schedule of reopening was more and more delayed. Anyhow this whole situation was out of our control and we tried to do best possible to keep our guests happy and get the restaurant on its feet's again. Unfortunately this is a bit of a limbo as you can't complete the building fast without making a bit of noise during the day time.
Finally we managed to complete the building and are busy refurbishing the kitchen and create the new restaurant space. Our plan to reopen in latest two weeks time will be finally completed and we are happy to be able to indulge our guests soon again with a little taste of Kingfisher's specials.
Thanking you again for your helpful comments and hoping to be able to welcome you again in the Kingfisher.
Best Regards
Christina Matarage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Returned from 2 week stay at Kingfisher. Room equipped with all comforts and furnished with taste. A beautiful terrace overlooking the sea. Nothing more is needed to relax. Christina and Duminda, and the whole crew is friendly and willing to help at any time. Breakfasts are delicious. Duminda has a comfortable cars and help arrange any trip into the island and around Unawatuna. If you want to spend an unforgettable holiday in the tropics Kingfisher certainly give it to you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maciej1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Hotel

Property: Kingfisher Hotel
Address: Welle Dawala Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2011, Kingfisher Hotel is beachside boutique hotel on Unwatuna Bay. We have 4 modern rooms with A/C, hot water, mini-fridge, international satellite TV, WiFi, and every room has its own balcony with an ocean view. You can also join us downstairs in our delicious restaurant or have a cocktail overlooking the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kingfisher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing