We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kingfisher - Topnotch”
Review of Kingfisher Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingfisher Hotel
Ranked #16 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Kingfisher - Topnotch”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Kingfisher was recomended and we ended up staying 8 days. It is situated right on the beach and you can hear the sea lapping under the resaurant. The rooms are 5*, large and airy, satellite TV, large bathroom and wonderful sea views from the balcony. There are only 4 rooms so the service is very good. The restaurant is always busy as it is very good. The staff are very well trained and responsive to the customer. There is free Wi-fi. The hotel is situated towards the north and calm end of the beach, good for none swimmers. One unusual feature is that all the staff are given the same day off a week so there is no breakfast one day a week, maybe a consequence of the Swiis half of the owners. They have no staff turnover here! You could try a trip to the fascinating Sinharaja rain forest, try Palitha, 041 2273368 for a guide and Jayantha 0777496490 for transport. Try Nilu for massage 0723381485. Bike ride the paddy fields Alex 0777906156.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but are the same size but top floor has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    32
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
109
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Kingfisher Hotel is just so stunningly gorgeous situated directly on the sand. The 4 balcony rooms in this new boutique resort are spacious, clean & cool with stunning views that even my photos are of travel magazine quality. Enjoyed watching locals & tourists surf the break while at Kingfisher's beachfront bar with tasty local brew Lion - it was always beer o'clock. Keen friendly young staff throughout and a tempting & delicious menu. There is a baja rank area 100m away to whisk you off to historic Galle Fort and the beautifully restored National Maritime Museum and Galle Fort Hotel for its delights. But at Kingfisher Hotel, nothing surpasses the evening swish of gentle waves on your doorstep. We have visited them all, but no other Asian country has given such a warm welcome and the urgent planning of a return holiday as has Sri Lanka - a beautiful country with charming people with heart and soul.

Room Tip: Kingfisher Resort top rooms for magic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This accommodation consists of just 4 rooms set on Unawatuna beach. The complex includes the best restaurant in the area with its deck set right over the water. There is a lounge area and rustic styled, chilled out bar. Local fishermen deliver their fresh catch daily and it is cooked beautifully. The rooms look brand new and are modern in design with very spacious bathrooms. The balconies look out over the Indian ocean. Great space for couples.

Room Tip: All have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stumbled upon Kingfisher because we had heard great things about their restaurant from other travelers. On a whim, we asked about rooms and found out the hotel was just built and were shown one of the rooms. I was sold the second we walked in the door. The rooms are spacious, well designed and have balconies with ocean views. The bathroom was huge and has a really nice rain shower. It also has every modern amenity with, satellite tv, AC, a mini fridge and thoughtfully provided outlet adapters. It took a little work to get the wifi going, but the staff was eager to remedy the situation.

The room was cleaned well and flowers were placed around the room daily and again on the bed in the evening when we returned from dinner. The owner, Duminda, and the rest of his staff absolutely know how to treat customers and were friendly and doting the entire time we were there. I wish every hotel had staff like this, as it made our stay there so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooksonbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Kingfisher was a breath of fresh air - it's modern, clean, simple design won me over the minute I walked in. The room was pristine and colorfully designed. Fresh flowers were places throughout the room giving it a special feel. I loved the big balcony and comfy chairs. You could sit and listen to the waves crashing into the beach. Plus you have the added bonus of a great restaurant at your fingertips. The evening meals were top notch - but made even better by the great friendly service. I liked the fact that the staff really were bonded together as friends and all helped each other out.
The floor plan was really 'open' with no real doors. Satellite TV and great AC.
Since the hotel just opened, it still had an empty lobby when I was there and they were working out some issues with the wifi connectivity. Once completely finished this place will be the gem of Unawatuna!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leaott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Hotel

Property: Kingfisher Hotel
Address: Welle Dawala Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2011, Kingfisher Hotel is beachside boutique hotel on Unwatuna Bay. We have 4 modern rooms with A/C, hot water, mini-fridge, international satellite TV, WiFi, and every room has its own balcony with an ocean view. You can also join us downstairs in our delicious restaurant or have a cocktail overlooking the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kingfisher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing