We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Unawatuna
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a beautiful place, an 1735 Dutch building tastefully maintained with two pools (one quite large) landscaped very well with some of the tallest bamboo I've seen. Rooms clean & a/c good shower room and ample space. We had the Lankan breakfast and ate excellent local food three times at supper. Very friendly and helpful. Short distance to one excellent beach with a good walk to another over the hill behind the hotel down to idyllic Jungle Beach. We loved the place.

Room Tip: We liked the bungalow ones with the small veranda to sit out, but nt yhe one next to breakfast terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 404 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

We took our two young kids to Sri Lanka for two weeks, and had a wonderful time at Nooit Gedacht, We stayed in a huge "family room" in the historic building, with basically two huge adjoining rooms, our own patio and table for eating. And, we were directly next to the small pool, which made my kids happy.

We were a short walk to the beach, and I particularly enjoyed the historic charm and peaceful ambiance. There were beautiful small fountains and ponds throughout the property, and each morning fresh brightly colored flower petals were placed in them. My daughters loved putting the petals in the ponds and staff always gave them handfuls to put in when they ran over to help.

It was a easy place to meet other families, was in a good location. My kids loved loved the pools, and we were a short walk to the beach. (We had decided to forgo beachfront for the pools to keep the kids happy). One other tip: I did a fabulous fabulous bike ride with Chameera Cycling in Unawatuna too, which was a great way to see the side roads and real village life. Also, we loved staying at the beach by day but tuk-tuking to Galle in the evening for sunset and dinner! The Galle fish market and fruit market a few miles up the road were a fun adventure!

Room Tip: They had a great "family" room for us with two big rooms, our own bathroom and even our ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyTravelerswKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you want to stay in a hotel where the service is top and the surroundings are like a small paradise, you should visit this hotel. We have never seen so many exotic birds in one place. You also had monkeys and a beautiful lotus pond. We were treated very well and will certainly come back to this place another time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirtheHavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised to see the quality of service and rooms given the price. Very reasonable for clean, tidy rooms along with a fab pool to boot! If you don't mind a quick 10min walk to the beach this is a good spot and worth every penny. Take mosquito repellent tho!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Nisa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I had been traveling throughout Sri Lanka for three weeks and we were booking hotels a day in advance (you'll get the best rate). Coming from Mirissa, we weren't sure we wanted to go to Unawatuna but decided to go for it. I looked at some hotels online and finally called this place due to the great reviews. I called and they offered us an air-con room for $30 USD per night with a buffet breakfast.

We decided to check it out and could not have been happier! It's a stunning place and if you like attention to detail, then I would definitely stay here. It is very close to everything, but far enough to be at peace. I also appreciated the gardens and fresh flowers. It was a perfect place to stay in Unawatuna.

Actually, we met a couple when dining at Flower Garden Hotel and we raved about Nooit so much that they decided to check it out and actually switched their reservation (they were paying 88 per night). Flower Garden is a beautiful hotel, but you just cant beat $30 for the stunning property and breakfast.

In all honesty, I though Unawatuna was smelly and the beaches were dirtier than Mirissa. We enjoyed going here though (just for 2 nights) for a different view and we needed to catch the train to Colombo from Galle.

FYI, Jungle Beach was depressing, filled with trash, and we stayed for less than 30 minutes. Not worth the effort, don't bother.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 30 USD rooms. Absolutely fine and if you're close to the restaurant then you sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank journeys4thesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was our second stay here and hopefully won't be our last. We were upgraded to a superior room after the first night,and it was excellent. Clean,spacious with a very nice balcony which overlooked a pond with water-lilies and the jungle in the distance. Lots of exotic birds and other creatures such as large monitor lizards in the grounds below.
The food is very good - buffet breakfast with eggs cooked to order,grilled tomatoes,coconut pancakes,toast,rolls,rotti,fresh fruit,curd,tea,coffee etc.
An extensive evening menu including rice and curry,which is very good. No alcohol sold,but there is no problem drinking your own beer/wine which you have purchased elsewhere. They will even keep it in the fridge for you and serve it whenever you wish.
There are 2 nice clean pools or should you prefer,the beach at Unawatuna is only a few minutes by tuk-tuk or 10-15 minutes walk.
Buses leave every few minutes from right outside the hotel's grounds,on the main road,to Galle. Also tuk-tuks are coming by all the time - 15 or 20 minutes into Galle.
The reception staff are really helpful and will arrange trips and excursions (e.g.whale-watching from Mirissa) and also transport to/from the airport or other destinations. They are very pleasant and friendly, and made a big effort to help us with a particular transport problem we had. It could not be resolved in the end, but it was certainly not through lack of trying on their part.
Would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room facing the mountain and water-lily pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner just for one night but enjoyed it very much. Room was old but clean enough and the fresh flowers on the bed were a nice touch and the welcome drink was delicious fresh juice. Didn't eat in the restaurant as we wandered down into Unawatuna instead which took 5 minutes so can't comment on the food. Hotel is on main road but set back through the main old colonial building so rooms are v quiet. Beach is 5 min walk or 100 rupees in a tuk tuk and is divine! Wish we'd stayed longer!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank stephtrueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#24 of 34 in Unawatuna
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#5 of 34 in Unawatuna
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 34 in Unawatuna
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel

Address: 182 Matara Road | Opposite Timber Co-Operation, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Resort)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $39 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, Also known as Nooit Gedacht Ayurveda Health Resort is a historical Colonial style villa built in 1735. It was once the country home of a Dutch governor name De jong and was later taken over by the British as a military logistic centre. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the Unawatuna beach & 5 Km from UNESCO world heritage site of Galle fort. Nestled at the foot of Rumassala mountain (referred as Sanjeewani Mountain in the epic of Ramayana ) Nooit Gedacht is situated in the middle of a palm garden full of natural flora & fauna & a lotus lake. Guests can also enjoy traditional Ayurveda treatments, Spa, yoga & meditation while they indulge them selves in the tranquility that this place has to offer. Nooit Gedacht...Your Home in the Sun, is a place with old world charm & modern comforts that you must not miss while you are in Unawatuna! Come & enjoy the beauty & simplicity this place has to offer. Please note there are NO branches of Nooit Gedacht in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing