We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Falster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to relax”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Very old colonial estate with newer buildings. We had room in new wing, good space and very nice balcony/terrace above ground facing the pool. A beautiful garden with interesting trees, a pond with lotus flowers, a white pet duck, lots to see and enjoy. The garden ends where the hill and the forest begins - bring binoculars and spend some time during the day watching monkeys and birds.
The rooms are obviously not new or modern, especially the bathroom needs a makeover before long. Only top shower with water spraying all over the room - this was fixed effectively with some toiletpaper!
Beds are very squirky and a bit hard, especially the pillows are not so comfy. They are charmingly decorated with fresh flowers, sheet and towels put in nice arrangements. Every day, not just the first day of your stay. Mosquito repellants installed.
Free and good wi-fi indoors and outside.
Breakfast is good with varied foods and fresh fruit. Lunch can be ordered all afternoon, but dinner is preferably ordered in advance. The kitchen wants this for better planning, but it leaves less space for guests' impulse. We had excellent fresh fish several nights. No alcohol sold, but we didn't miss it at all. Guests may bring alcohol and the staff will serve it.

The staff is very kind and helpful. Always a smile and a greeting when you meet them.
Visitors at this historic hotel with a botanical garden are mainly people who want peace and quiet, tranquil surroundings. Nature makes a lot of sounds, but the guests shouldn't. So party people and noisy children may be welcome, regarding to the staff, but other guests will find them very disturbing here. It is our impression that the place calls for easygoing, laidback tranquility.

All in all: a very charming hotel with a faboulous garden, perfect place to relax. Very pleasant staff, really nice and helpful. Good food, well-working wi-fi. Best for adult guests, since most come here for relaxation and will be annoyed by to much noise, running around, playing in the pool etc.

Absolutely recommended, especially if you want quiet and beautiful surroundings with a scruffy historic charm and the feeling of staying in a park or even a small zoo.
We loved it!





D

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    139
    45
    25
    8
See reviews for
91
149
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Reviews sounded promising, so we decided to spend last days of our SL trip relaxing in a nice hotel with pool. But already the first sight of the entrance hall revealed that hotel is away from it's glorious days. Some restoration is urgently needed. Our "cheaper" room in one of old buildings was huge disappointment: small, humid, with old degrading closet and bathroom full of ants. Rooms in new buildings beside pool are better but noticably pricier. Food in the restaurant was ok, nothing special (classic mix of western, chinese and SL) though.
Staff is a bit lost, not well organized I would say. Waiters seem a bit lost, not knowing how to approach guests and are not always polite. In the same time there was a group of older Danish people, which of course got much different (nicer) attention as we did. Staff that takes care for the garden had really inpropriate timing for work like triming of the grass (at noon whene everybody were laying on the lawn around pool), sweeping (soon after 7 am) or cleaning of the pool.
Hotel has a good potential, but needs restoration and some improvement in management. Comparing with some other places on SL south coast, for us facilities & treatment simply were not worth of price range 50-80 USD per night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursuula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights and this hotel is pretty good considering the price we paid £30 (6500rupees) per night.
It's a charming hotel with a huge potential.

Good: bed decoration every morning with flowers, bed sheet styling etc.
Breakfast buffet: large selection
The look of the hotel: old colonial building (not extremely well maintained but very nice)
Average:
Spa was not great, therapists talking to each other while doing treatments and not a great technic.
We stayed there the night of a massive party in Unawatuna and a group of teenagers stayed at the hotel and came back from the party at 3,4,5 and 6am so we were woken up several time during the night by this group of kids. And when wanted to go for a swim at 8am there were all by the pool drinking and smoking.. Not great!
There were a (kind of) well behaved group of youngsters but that's not what you want to see when you reserve a hotel like this.
We are laid back hence the positive rating and really £30 per night is nothing! But i have to say that i was expecting much more from this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RMCartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Upon arrival, first impressions weren't wonderful... the entrance gates were straight onto the very busy main road; and I feared that descriptions of "historic" and "characterful" basically meant "a bit run down"! One of the two pools was under repair - the other a milky colour; tarapaulin was stretched over sections of roof; our 'old' rooms were a bit musty; and plastic corrugated roofing topped the ensuite bathrooms. But during our 4 day stay we slowly grew to really like the place. The staff were absolutely wonderful; the pool was great for our young boys and the breakfasts were fresh. As a wider location, it was good being a bit removed from the crowds of the beach and main drag; with easy tuk-tuk access to both, and also to Galle. We didn't love the dinners (other guests did!) - but no minor quibbles could overwrite the sheer goodwill of the staff. Our rooms themselves weren't great - we had been strongly advised to try and get rooms in the new block (which were weren't able to do). These were better and are highly recommeneded.

Room Tip: try and get a room in the "new" blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del1977Santo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent hotel, very homey, great Ayurveda spa and great food !
The stuff is very nice and kind, the roons are nice ' clean and roomy and the swimming pool is great. they also have a pet duck :p
A short distance walk from Unawatuna beach and a took took 5 minute drive from Galle.

Room Tip: Take the rooms above the pool, they are way better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johny1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights here. And loved it. For the price. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is excellent. I would highly recommend. Especially for the price. Good clean place. Located near the center. Only a 10 to 15 minute walk or 5 minute Tuk Tuk ride to the beach and shops.

Would stay again.

The Spa prices are excellent. And we enjoyed our treatments tremendously

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nusiax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

A lovely Dutch heritage hotel with modern amenities and super views of the jungle, pool and lotus pond.
Staff and surroundings were excellent.
Woke up each morning to see lots of tropical birds and lady staff gathering blossoms to decorate the beds in the rooms, etc, looked onto from my room balcony..
Rooms lacked wi-fi, tv, frig and coffee making facilities but wi-fi available in dining area and coffee or tea could be delivered to your room.
There is currently no alcohol served in the hotel but this is due to change shortly with a bar being opened, probably before Christmas.
Buffet breakfast and other meal menus were extensive and of good quality with local and Western dishes freely available.
Nice clean swimming pool and interesting walk up steep climb to jungle beach. You may need a guide!

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs, overlooking the jungle and pool areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aslimversgwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#16 of 32 in Unawatuna
26 reviews
0.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel

Property: Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Address: 182 Matara Road | Opposite Timber Co-Operation, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Resort)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, Also known as Nooit Gedacht Ayurveda Health Resort is a historical Colonial style villa built in 1735. It was once the country home of a Dutch governor name De jong and was later taken over by the British as a military logistic centre. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the Unawatuna beach & 5 Km from UNESCO world heritage site of Galle fort. Nestled at the foot of Rumassala mountain (referred as Sanjeewani Mountain in the epic of Ramayana ) Nooit Gedacht is situated in the middle of a palm garden full of natural flora & fauna & a lotus lake. Guests can also enjoy traditional Ayurveda treatments, Spa, yoga & meditation while they indulge them selves in the tranquility that this place has to offer. Nooit Gedacht...Your Home in the Sun, is a place with old world charm & modern comforts that you must not miss while you are in Unawatuna! Come & enjoy the beauty & simplicity this place has to offer. Please note there are NO branches of Nooit Gedacht in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing