We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AYURVEDA WITH A DIFFERENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“AYURVEDA WITH A DIFFERENCE”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just before the beach access road to the gorgeous beach-bay of Unawatuna - named after the story in the Ramayana where a portion of the hill containing a life saving plant carried by Hanuman allegedly fell there - there is a black and white sign Nooit-Gedacht which is immediately noticeable owing to its simplicity. What is it you wonder?
The Dutch orgins are immediately apparent as one steps in to have a cup of tea in the simple but inviting cafe. It is a ayurveda centre where visitors come for a short and long stay to undergo spa treatment,massages and the like. Set up in a colonial property, there are sprawling lawns as befits a rejuvenation spot and lots of history on its walls.The swimming pool was undergoing a re-fit before the commencement of the peak season in October-April.The staff are friendly - our bearer spoke good Hindi on account of his stay in Kerala undergoing training in ayurvedic massages - the food is non-vegetarian and one absorbs lots of heritage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vayudoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking time to write a review about our hotel on Trip adviser. We hope that you enjoyed the stay with us & look forward to your return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    138
    45
    25
    8
See reviews for
86
148
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were greeted so warmly when we arrived and made a connection with the staff instantly. We were fortunate enough to get an upgrade for our room which was lovely as it was low season and not very busy. The meals here are as good as anywhere in town, although Unawatuna has a great vibe. Not too far to the beautiful beach 10mins walk or a short drive/tuktuk journey. Well placed for our first stay in Sri Lanka as we drove anti clockwise around the island, the hotel offered everything we could have asked for and more.

Love it..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
We highly appreciate your valuable comment about our hotel in Trip adviser. We are glad that you liked your room & the meals at Nooit Gedacht & enjoyed the hospitality of our friendly staff. We hope to well come you again with a warm & a friendly smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Generally a good place to stay, in natural surroundings. Staff are friendly and helpful, and the herbal facial was fine. Handy tuk tuk for trips to Galle.
The only downsides were that the large swimming pool was empty at the very time when the sea is too rough for swimming. And there was rather too much pressure to buy the hotel's dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review for us on Trip adviser, specially about the garden & the magnificent Colonial building. The large swimming pool will be soon open to guests after the repairs. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was a very nice, though strange, place to stay in. We stayed in a huge, Dutch colonial room. Really beautiful. It is however, a bit far out from unawatuna beach but it is worth the drive. It is also a nice walk through some nice streets with typical houses. The pool wasn't that great (rather small) but the gardens were magnificent as are the buildings

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjp1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Me and a few friends stayed in a triple room, which was a great value for money. The 'Certificate of Excellence for 2012' given by TripAdvisor (along with other awards) is proudly displayed at the entrance. The staff were friendly, the room was modern, clean and had a small balcony at the back which gives a view to the forest. It's very quiet and green around the resort. Lunch and dinner is available a la carte at reasonable prices.No alcohol is served, so you might find the alcohol shop down the street useful. Although it is not right next to the beach, it is only 3-4 minutes of walking from the resort. As for negative points, I felt the breakfast variety could be improved, since it is a bed/breakfast place. There are two swimming pools and Ayurveda services(for a fee). If you are thinking about getting dinner from the resort, you will have to place your order by 6pm. If you are a late eater, good luck as there are no restaurants around the area and most shops close by 9:30pm-10:00pm. Overall, we found the place nice, and we enjoyed our stay in Unawatuna. A definite recommendation to anyone who is finding a difficult time picking a place, as it is one of the best deals you can get around the seaside town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tharaka360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a descriptive review on our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay & it was 'Great value for money'. Thank you again for the photos & recommendations to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

For me this was exactly what I needed after a 15 day adventure tour around Sri Lanka. It was just a beautiful oasis of tranquility. The colonial main building of the hotel was lovely, the bedroom was spotless and was beautifully presented with the a/c working perfectly. The staff was so hospitable and friendly and just could not do enough for you. There were lovely hidden areas of the garden just to sit and read and the pool was large and well maintained. The food was excellent and I stayed for five nights and really enjoyed it all. I also used their spa - fantastic treatments carried out in a lovely quiet area of the hotel. It was a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in the older part of the hotel and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 35Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragna J, Manager at Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your detailed review on trip advisor about our spotlessly clean rooms, lovely garden, nice food, friendly staff & fantastic Ayurveda spa treatments. We highly appreciate your valuable review on us & helping future guests to know what we offer at Nooit Gedacht. We hope you will return one day to enjoy our hospitality again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taarnby, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had two neighbor rooms so we opened the door and had a suit – perfect when travelling with two kids at 7 and 12. The staff was friendly and the food was great. Breakfast was a bit poor but ok. At 6 pm they knocked at our door to ask if we wanted to have dinner at the hotel or not. We stayed 7 nights and enjoyed it all. Theirs trips were a bit pricy so we didn't try them. I tried a manicure - but they just cut my nails and polished them... I didn't try the other treatments. A great stay after all.

Room Tip: The rooms near the back garden are perfect and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindstrom116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#19 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel

Property: Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Address: 182 Matara Road | Opposite Timber Co-Operation, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Resort)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, Also known as Nooit Gedacht Ayurveda Health Resort is a historical Colonial style villa built in 1735. It was once the country home of a Dutch governor name De jong and was later taken over by the British as a military logistic centre. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the Unawatuna beach & 5 Km from UNESCO world heritage site of Galle fort. Nestled at the foot of Rumassala mountain (referred as Sanjeewani Mountain in the epic of Ramayana ) Nooit Gedacht is situated in the middle of a palm garden full of natural flora & fauna & a lotus lake. Guests can also enjoy traditional Ayurveda treatments, Spa, yoga & meditation while they indulge them selves in the tranquility that this place has to offer. Nooit Gedacht...Your Home in the Sun, is a place with old world charm & modern comforts that you must not miss while you are in Unawatuna! Come & enjoy the beauty & simplicity this place has to offer. Please note there are NO branches of Nooit Gedacht in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing