We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idylic hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I was nicely surprised by the hotel when I arrived. The room was cheap and I expected an average room with average facilities.

The room I had was probably not the best, but it was clean and in a good condition. But I didn't have a view. It was very basic too. It would have been nice to have a radio or TV and tea making facilities. Though it served it's purpose as somewhere to sleep!

The hotel setting was perfect. Sitting by the pool, overlooked by a small forest/mountain with the sound of birds and other wildlife was so relaxing. There are lots of trees and plants and it is a little hideway compared to the average looking run of the mill hotels and guest houses closer to the beach.

Drinking tea on my porch watching a monkey clamber the trees in front of me...lovely.

I am surprised about comments of the staff not being very friendly. I was always greeted with a smile and they always asked how I was an where I had been that day. There are lots of staff working all day, even the ones who didn't speak much English always waved and said hello.

I only had breakfast at the hotel as I wanted to eat out every evening. The breakfast on my first few days was a good experience as they served me personally at the table. Though on my last day they had a buffet instead, I assume this was because more people had arrived. This wasn't a great, there were a lot of flies, though someone was fanning the food in attempt to keep them at bay. Their food was also a little more expensive compared to the many places along the beach. But still a low price.

I had a back massage and a facial when I was there as well. Both of which were very good and a great price. I felt no pressure at any time to have treatments as someone else mentioned.

When I paid for my room an additional 10% service charge was added. This is something I object to in any establishment. Let me decide if the service was good and how much it deserves in tip. Also it concerns me that tip didn't reach all of the staff! Who knows.

I would recommend the hotel and if I am ever in the area again I will stay here, even if another hotel is cheaper.

Only recommendations I have would be TV/Radio in room and tea making facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the newer block overlooking the pool or mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellyb123red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 380 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

Although our booking stated we would have a room with a private veranda with views of the pool, lake or mountain,we had no view at all.We also found the room extremely hot at all times unless the air con was on full blast constantly. The breakfast buffet was covered in flies even though there were plenty of staff around,YUCK. Even budget hotels serve the buffet from trays with a lid. Staff also seem to be pushy,on a rainy day,"come for a beauty treatment," on a sunny day,"try our excursions."
At $80 a night we expected this to be the best hotel of our trip, it was by far the worst. There was no soap provided and no hot water tap, only for the shower. We stayed in far better places on our trip for far less money.
What actually gave the hotel a 2/5 rating was it's beautiful gardens and the hotel building itself,otherwise it would've been 1.
Over priced and poor standard.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We came from a terrible hotel on Unawatuna beach and were happy to enter this quiet hotel. There is a nice garden and a ok pool, and you can hardly hear the buissy road nearby. There are sounds of birds and sometimes you can hear monkeys from the little jungle next to the pool. Staff was very kind and helpful. We only had breakfast, which was average, if you prefere more spicy food. There is a short walk to the beach and to shops and nice restaurants, though it all is based on turism. But we had seven great days there after travelling around in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: We had a room (45 dubbelt)) in the new block. A nice balcony from where we had a nice view to the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annegrete34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

We appreciate your valuable review on our hotel. Thank you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Whilst the room was lovely we were given-in the annex- the hotel itself is in need of some tlc and cleaning, and the staff running the place are unfriendly and un-helpful. The food leaves a lot to be desired and we stayed in much nicer and friendly places in Sri Lanka for a great deal less money. Apart from the young waiter and the head porter, the staff were unfriendly and not helpful. we were disappointed as we stayed for Christmas Eve and Day, no-one even acknowldeged it was. you could stay for cheaper in Unawaturna and get better service. A poor place for the money compared to some much cheaper and superior accomodation around wonderful Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The Nooit Gedacht hotel really is a haven of tranquility. It is the first hotel ever where we were given a free room upgrade & where after arriving with chronic toothache the staff had arranged for me to be treated by a local dentist within 2 hours - not bad for a Sunday lunchtime (try doing that in the UK!).
The hotel is ideally placed for a short & interesting walk to Unawatuna beach (the jungle beach walk was too wet) for safe swimming, shops, restaurants & bars etc & also for a tuk tuk ride visit to Galle & Koggala. But the hotel's standard of food was also superb & we still rate the breakfasts as the best of our holiday.
The standard of accommodation was excellent & the staff could not have been more friendly.

Room Tip: We were given a room in one of the new blocks overlooking the lake & spent hours just watching t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midmore123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Just off the main road and away from the madness of the beach this haven of tranquiity is a delight.Originaly a V.O.C. property.(Dutch East India Co.) Great rooms service and food although be aware that alcohol is not served. 2 pools and large gardens means you are not ever crowded. We had a driver with us and he was well looked after for free during our visit.

Room Tip: The new wing is excelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

We appreciate your valuable review on our hotel. Thank you & hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Let me start off by saying my family and I really loved this place and have already recommended it to another friend who is on their way to Sri Lanka next month. Lush gardens, great clean pools (1 just for kids!), large clean rooms and an amazing jungle hill view (we booked the wing at the back of the grounds near the big pool). The resort has been owned by one family for 5 generations and as an American I was over joyed to stay in a place that was built before the USA signed its constitution. It has a lot of history which the owners will gladly tell you if you ask about it. The food was very good, in fact I loved that the kitchen was open for viewing via a window so you can see the chiefs at work. We had a choice to stay at a resort on the beach but after visiting the noisy (but fun) beach during the day for drinks and sites, we determined we made the right choice to get some peace and quiet at night. At the moment they do not serve alcohol but you can buy it at any near shop and bring it with you if you want. They only thing I would caution people against is thinking the health clinic is a kind of romantic spa. It is very basic but at a good price you can get a professional clinical massage. I wish I would have done the yoga which was offered. It looked so relaxing but I was busy chasing my 5 year old around the pool. lol He loved it too. I would recommend this place for families or anyone else looking for peace and relaxation but still wants to be close to the beach night life which is only about 2 minutes and a dollar tuk tuk (taxi) ride away. Oh almost forgot to mention that they arrange wonderful tours of Galle for a great rate. They arranged a van with a professional guide who took us to 4 of the major sites in Galle including the turtle farm, the Peace Pagoda, a cave temple and a river boat tour! If you book with this hotel you can be sure to get personal service that they take pride in. We will be back for sure on our next trip to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BareFootPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Hope you will visit us again with your family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel

Address: 182 Matara Road | Opposite Timber Co-Operation, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Resort)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $34 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel, Also known as Nooit Gedacht Ayurveda Health Resort is a historical Colonial style villa built in 1735. It was once the country home of a Dutch governor name De jong and was later taken over by the British as a military logistic centre. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the Unawatuna beach & 5 Km from UNESCO world heritage site of Galle fort. Nestled at the foot of Rumassala mountain (referred as Sanjeewani Mountain in the epic of Ramayana ) Nooit Gedacht is situated in the middle of a palm garden full of natural flora & fauna & a lotus lake. Guests can also enjoy traditional Ayurveda treatments, Spa, yoga & meditation while they indulge them selves in the tranquility that this place has to offer. Nooit Gedacht...Your Home in the Sun, is a place with old world charm & modern comforts that you must not miss while you are in Unawatuna! Come & enjoy the beauty & simplicity this place has to offer. Please note there are NO branches of Nooit Gedacht in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nooit Gedacht - Ayurveda Health Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing