We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super lovely villa”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shalini Villa

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
128 reviews
Pool
Seating area near pool
Seating area near pool
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Lounge area
Hallway
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1
Unawatuna Beach
Blowhole near Tengalle
Sunset at Unawatuna
Paddy Fields near Unawatuna
Koggala Lake
Habaraduwa Beach
New Unawatuna Beach
Yoga
Breakfast
Coconuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 128 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
lindalaze...
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super lovely villa”
Reviewed July 21, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This has been my second stay at Shalini Villa. It’s such a little gem just moments from the beach and I highly recommend it to anyone.
The house is stylish and comfortable and the garden is really lush and exotic. There are different lounging areas so you can always find a shady spot and there are fans everywhere which is great.
The staff are on standby to supply coffees, fresh juice and delicious meals. Make sure to try a Sri Lankan breakfast! Next time in the country we’re definitely factoring in a slightly longer stay at Shalini.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous villa and great food”
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I stayed here for a week in March for a yoga retreat, it was absolutely fantastic.

The villa is lovely - huge, nicely furnished bedrooms and bathrooms, a large lounge (perfect for yoga!) and a lovely space to eat outside. The garden was very relaxing, beautiful sounds of wildlife permeated our yoga practice, and the pool just perfect for cooling off.

The food, cooked by the in-house chef was fantastic. Our party had a variety of dietary restrictions which were catered for with the most delicious breakfasts and dinners including hoppers, curries (vegetarian and fish), fresh fruits and coconut pancakes.

Location was great, a short walk (or even shorter tuk tuk ride) to the beach and town of Unawatuna. Lots of good places to eat nearby and not too far from the surf beaches or town of Galle.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdiskob...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing.”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The location of Shalini villa is great, it`s just a few minutes from the beach and some great restaurants. The owner (Alison) and housekeeper (Kamindika) were absolutely amazing throughout the whole process of booking and staying.
The villa is extremely well kept, spacious and it felt like a safe haven throughout our stay there.
Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokumon_L...
London
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pure relaxation!”
Reviewed January 12, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights at Shalini villa. We had a really lovely time. It's a very spacious, private, well resourced and very relaxing villa. Other reviews have already mentioned how lovely this villa is, so I won't repeat them.

The house keeper (Kamindika) and in-house chef (Dammika) are amazing! No request was too much for them. For example, on day 2, Kamindika popped out after breakfast to exchange cash for us and returned promptly with the local currency and receipt. Dammika took the time to understand the types of food we liked and incorporated these into the absolutely delicious dinners and breakfasts - the best we had in our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka!! He even made us homemade crisps to nibble on during the day as we lounged by the pool! They also sourced all our drinks and food shopping (with receipts), all we had to do was reimburse them each morning. The staff are very quiet in going about their business and provide such privacy that we often forgot that they were around.

One point that I'd like to mention is that the doors in the communal areas of the villa (i.e. not the bedrooms) are designed with open wooden slats that enable good air circulation, keeping the place cool even when the doors are closed. These open slats raise the concern of mosquitoes but the staff mitigate this well by putting out mosquito coils every evening.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Tip - if at any point you find that the hot water tap is running cold water, just ask the staff to turn the hot water on.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for relaxing”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Stayed with two teenage kids, my wife and in-laws. The villa was a fantastic size (4 x double bedrooms) with a great open plan living/kitchen area opening out to the garden and pool area. When we arrived my daughter asked how many other families were staying there it was so spacious. Our 4th trip to Unawatuna and better than the resorts we previously stayed at. The staff were fantastic, make sure you try the dhal and garlic prawns. Fresh fruit, bacon, eggs and toast every morning was the perfect start to the day.
Would recommend to anyone visiting Unawatuna.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louari
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay! ”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We are lucky enough to have just returned from a 12 night stay over Christmas & New Year at this beautiful villa. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay. The photos of this stunning villa do not do it justice. It is so lovely, spacious and airy. The 3 bedrooms are gorgeous, huge beds with such sumptuous mattresses (our girls remarked they felt like they from ‘The Princess & the Pea...’, crisp, white bed linen and super showers. The gardens are a pleasure, we saw much wildlife passing through - monkeys, squirrels, monitor lizards and a kingfisher came daily to practice its diving over the pool. The proximity to beaches is excellent, and we had the great luxury of having the choice of meals cooked for us by the chef, which were wonderful, or eating out at the many local restaurants. Both the housekeeper & chef were very helpful & friendly & we would like to relay our utmost thanks to them both for helping to make our Srl Lankan holiday so special. We can’t wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue5153
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great villa”
Reviewed December 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Can I just say a big thank you to Alison. The villa was a lovely place to stay with a very nice pool area . When we were in unawatuna the weather was not at all nice to us to say it rained was an understatement but to know we had a nice comfortable villa it made it bearable and yes the chef cooked us a perfect meal this is a must when you stay. In the end we had to move to colombo because of the weather and we were very sad to go but if we were to return to unawatuna we would stay at shalini villa. Sue marriott

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing