We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning calm oasis”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shalini Villa

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
126 reviews
Pool
Seating area near pool
Seating area near pool
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Lounge area
Hallway
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1
Unawatuna Beach
Blowhole near Tengalle
Sunset at Unawatuna
Paddy Fields near Unawatuna
Koggala Lake
Habaraduwa Beach
New Unawatuna Beach
Yoga
Breakfast
Coconuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 126 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
H A
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning calm oasis”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just back from a week of yoga at Shalini Villa. It was one of the most beautiful places I have stayed. The attention to detail was fantastic as were all the staff who couldn't do enough for me to make my stay as restful as possible.
A great place in a fabulous country, walking distance to the beach. I can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurreySar...
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Villa & breakfast with the monkey's”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This Villa is as beautiful in reality as it is in the pictures. The staff are warm, welcoming, helpful as well as discreet and unobtrusive. The pool is the perfect size for kids young & old. I cannot praise this holiday enough. It was sadly only 2 nights 3 full days, but it could have been a week it was soo relaxing! We had dinner cooked by chef one evening & it was amazing!....Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home! We will, without question be back!!! xxxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davinia J
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Total peace and relaxation”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After spending a week travelling around Sri Lanka we were fortunate enough to be able to stay at Shalini Villa for 10 nights. And they were the most fantastic 10 nights!

We felt like royalty in tropical surroundings, the villa is stunning and the staff are absolutely brilliant. Kamindika made sure we had everything we needed, (including a regular supply of beer for the boys) kept the place spotless and even arranged currency exchange and tuktuks for us every time we went out anywhere. Tilak cooked us the most amazing food, some of the best we've ever had, and he even taught us how to make some of the dishes. Every morning he would ask what we would like to have for lunch and dinner and then go off into the village to buy all of the local fresh ingredients.

The garden and pool are superb, we spent the majority of our time in and around the garden watching all the amazing wildlife popping by for a visit. For any ornithologists, the bird life is fantastic, we were able to sit on the verandah watching flycatchers, kingfishers, woodpeckers, bulbuls and all sorts of other birds dropping by for a dip in the pool. Not to mention the monkeys, mongoose and monitor lizard that all pop in throughout the day. 5pm was our favourite time, this was when the garden really came to life so no matter what we were doing we always made sure we were back in time to see the spectacle!

If I were to sum it up in just one word - magical. Don't hesitate to book this place, but please leave a space in the diary so we can go back!

Thank you to Alison for letting us stay, and for making the booking process so easy and answering all of our questions so promptly. We can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, pool, food, staff...
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinwood
Birmingham UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Fortnight in Utopia”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our stay at Shalini offered the perfect blend of privacy and service. Kamindika was thoughtful and helpful, and looked after us well in a caring and light hearted manner. Tilla the cook fulfilled our culinary requests and made 'eating in' a highlight throughout our stay. The food was always freshly prepared, healthy and delicious, in fact the meals were much better than what was being offered at most of the local restaurants. The main bedroom was by the pool and garden, the villa spacious, tastefully designed with lots of areas to sit and relax depending on your mood.
We spent most of our time in the garden, enjoying the monkeys, butterflies and furry animals but our favourite were the exotic birds that visited the pool for a late afternoon dip.
The staff were inconspicuous yet manage to be present when needed. Overall, Shalini allows for peace, harmony and tranquility. We hope to return someday.
Best wishes and much good health to you all. Vincent and Nigel, Birmingham, England.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the villa and sitting area by the pool
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyMcG
Edinbugh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful, well maintained house and pool, Great cook and helpful staff.”
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here. The house is terrific and very comfortable. It has everything you would need and Kamindika (housekeeper) and Tilak (cook) made us very welcome.It was a treat that we also got to meet the owners Alison and Githe who very kindly arranged for us to have a discounted massage at the fabulous Sanctuary Spa in the Unawatuna village. We really enjoyed the nearby (5 mins in a TukTuk) Wijiya beach where there is a reef that makes for safer kiddie swimming and a nice (if rather Ex-pat) bar and restaurant. If there were any negatives I would say that the coastline around Galle is getting quite developed so 'away from it all' this is not and the main road at the coast is busy so travel on foot to the beach or the village is a bit hairy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being cooked delicious food and bike ride in the backwaters
Liked least: The busy road at the bottom of the hill (but thats not something the owners can do anything about)
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Can't recommend this villa enough for couples, families - ANYone!”
Reviewed March 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

My wife, 3 year old son and I stayed at the Shalini Villa last November, and it was perfect in every way! The villa itself is beautiful; a great place to while away a few relaxing hours every day before heading out to explore Unawatuna. I'd even be happy spending entire days there without going out at all. The staff is fantastic. Friendly, helpful, and what an amazing chef! Our son particularly enjoyed the monkeys that visit the trees around the villa every morning just as we finished breakfast.

I'd recommend this Villa to anyone; families with young children or teens, couples looking for a romantic getaway, small groups travelling together - all will enjoy!

One last tip - I highly recommend dinner at Kingfisher. Great nearby restaurant on the beach. Sit at a table in the sand and enjoy the freshest seafood you can get.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff and the pool
Liked least: Nothing. Everything truly was fantastic.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c_simoa
Santander, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Five days in paradise”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We (3 couples around 35 from Spain) travelled to Sri Lanka at the end of November 2015 and booked Shalini Villa for the 5 last days of our trip. From the very first moment we contacted Alison she was more than helpful, providing all kind of details and getting all our questions answered. Even when we already were in the country we kept in touch via Whatsapp and she continued providing answers to all our questions. Having seen lots of hotels and other accommodations during our trip, getting to the Villa was like arriving in paradise.
Every detail, everything you can ask for is provided. The Villa is not as it is shown in the pictures, we think is even better!
Khaminda and Thila were waiting for us when we arrived late in the evening from Yala and showed all around the place and from that moment they were caring all the time to get all our needs covered.
The architecture and decoration of the house is superb, the garden and swimming pool are amazing and every detail is taken care of to the infinite.
For Thila, the cook, we have no words. He went shopping for us and cooked the most delicious meals we have tasted in the island. Even more, we would tell him a time for breakfast, having everything served on the table once we got up from bed.
Khaminda, the master, was all the time around (when needed) providing us with information on the village, tuk tuks etc, and taking care everything was fine.
Should we come back to Unawatuna, we will for sure go back to Shalini.
Even having rated the place as excellent, we can assure its much more than that.
Thanks Alison, Khaminda and Thila, and the kindest regards to you :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cant pick just one thing!
Liked least: As usual in Sri Lanka: mosquitoes (not Villa's fault)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing