We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of heaven on earth”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shalini Villa

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
128 reviews
Pool
Seating area near pool
Seating area near pool
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Lounge area
Hallway
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1
Unawatuna Beach
Blowhole near Tengalle
Sunset at Unawatuna
Paddy Fields near Unawatuna
Koggala Lake
Habaraduwa Beach
New Unawatuna Beach
Yoga
Breakfast
Coconuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 128 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Dean D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of heaven on earth”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Shalini Villa is a small piece of heaven. I've been to Sri Lanka before so this 10 day holiday was one to recharge my batteries and relax. This is certainly the place to do that, the staff were amazing, the setting stunning and weather kept its part of the bargain too. The villa is beautifully decorated in a traditional Sri Lanka style, rooms large and airy and garden well maintained. The pool is great for cooling down in the afternoon heat before sitting under an umbrella and reading the day away. I cant praise this place enough. I would move in tomorrow if Ali would let me

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoOBrien
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderfully stylish calm oasis, safe and nourishing.”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I stayed at this lovely villa with friends and two teenagers. I was feeling exhausted before I left London and as soon as we arrived at the villa I could feel the stress and tension leaving me. The lovely garden, high ceiling, generously proportioned villa, clear blue pool, calm competent staff , crisp cleanliness and beautiful bedlinen made this a Five Star experience.
I could have stayed in the villa all day, but there is also plenty to see and do an easy tuk tuk drive away. Adults, kids and teenagers will all find something of interest. Lovely beachs and restaurants, turtlle sanctuaries, shops, wildlife reserves and tea plantations.. whats not to like?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and cleanliness
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Declan B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“superb villa, devine food and faultless care and attention”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I keep coming back here as yet to find anywhere as good and such great value
superb villa, devine food and faultless care and attention
we were so well looked after in every way and nothing was too much for the housekeeper or cook who took care of our every need from ordering tuk tuks to cooking superb meals

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyTetle...
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I can not fault anything, we had an amazing stay at Shalini and I really hope we get to visit again. Perfect place for our 10 month old baby. The staff were so lovely to her and she felt so happy and comfortable there. Alison was so helpful and the information we were given prior to our stay covered everything you could ever want to know.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NellM69
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way!”
Reviewed December 5, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed for a week in Shalini Villa. We loved it in every way. Extremely well appointed and in great, private location. The garden and pool are an absolute bonus if you're looking for a relaxing, away from it all break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, gardens, chef.
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whilborou...
2 reviews
“fabulous villa”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The villa is lovely - spacious and tasteful - set in a lush garden which is frequently visited by amazing wildlife (including cute monkeys). Pool is ideal. The guys looking after us are very helpful, organising tuk tuks, taxis etc and cooking delicious Sri Lankan meals. Location is ideal for either popping down to Unawatuna or onto Galle and not too far from the airport (2.5 hours).
We had a lovely time there. Would definitely come back and have already recommended the villa to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wildlife visiting the garden
Liked least: i couldn't sleep well due to noise of aircon ( I am a light sleeper however)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing - where you can find family in Sri Lanka you did not even know you had!”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I cannot say enough good things about this place. If you are looking to be pampered beyond what a hotel can do without feeling like people are hovering over you then look no further. We have stayed at vacation rentals all over the world and none have compared to the service that this rental provides. The staff here went above and beyond starting the moment I put in the request until the moment we left the property. This is a beautiful property located in an ideal location. On arrival we requested a meal and after this we requested breakfast and dinner every day that we were there (a first for us as we typically like to do things ourselves). The chef made everything we requested and he even prepared a separate meal or item for our daughter when we knew she would not eat what we had ordered. We spent hours in the pool as well as watching monkeys everyday. The landscaping on the property is gorgeous and Kamindika (the hoursekeeper) showed us a few of the trees and plants on the property that make this place truely unique. Kamindika cleaned the place and made our beds daily. He even played with our daughter and provided entertainment for her - that to us only elevated the ambiance of this rental. We felt safe here both during the day and at night. Again, we cannot say enough good things about this place. We will defiantly stay here again and highly recommend this to anyone (young and old) looking for a place to stay in Sri Lanka where they can not only enjoy themselves but feel like family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing