We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food off the beach”
Review of Nautilus

Nautilus
Ranked #28 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent food off the beach”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

If your looking to step off the beach (by 10 metres) then this is a good shout. The food is considerably cheaper than the beach front establishments and very tasty. It's mainly Sri Lanka cuisina and some detect stuff at that.

Only one warning and that is if you don't like spicy food make sure you tell them. The curries are very hot, but hey so is traditional Sri Lankan food!

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    62
    17
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Value for Money”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nautilus has two dining areas, one on each side of the road. In the windy and wet conditions we decided against a beach view and chose the dining room on the inland side of the road. September is a slow time at Unawatuna and while we the first patrons to arrive. Four other tables were occupies by the time we left. We were told that the Sri Lankan rice and curry item would take 40 minutes to prepare but the wait was well worth it. At around $5 a head it is probably the best value for money at tourist restaurants along the strip. One of our party had cocktails at prices that were comparably to other establishments but cost as much per drink as dinner per person. Food for thought.

Expect to have to wait a while for your food - but then what else is there to do at Unawatuna. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ditsywitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Class for cooking and understanding”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was the complete experience

Arriving at 930 I was whisked away on a tuk tuk to buy the ingredients , two separate markets , firstly the vegetable market and then the fish market in galle , the tuk tuk driver being the excellent tour guide

Back at the restaurant I was given a full course in how to make ny tuna curry with three vegetable side dishes. Youminda owner and teacher eas patient as she took me through step by step both the preparation and cooking .

When I finished I invited two friends to join for lunch ( that I cooled , a great experience .

As a final gesture I was given the recipes for everything with hints all for under 20$

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cooking course”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Did teh cooking course hear. Very tasty food and fun tuk tuk drivers to take you to the market to choose ingredients.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Some of the best food In Sri Lanka”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Loved this place. The food is amazing, try the curry or the devilled dishes. The staff are really friendly and are really efficient which isn't the case with some of the beacside restaurants. Ice cold drinks and always served with smile. One of the best places to eat in Unawatuna

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickersBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautilus also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing