We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not fantastic”
Review of Nautilus

Nautilus
Ranked #30 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but not fantastic”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The food at Nautilus was very nice and the owners we very helpful and friendly. We had a traditional Sri Lankan Curry and devilled Squid. The fish Curry was very nice and came with 4 different vegetable curries and rice (all for 55lkr - £2.75) the devilled squid was only average and not as hot as I would have liked.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonW-England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    61
    17
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queen Charlotte
Level Contributor
272 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Bland, Hot and Overpriced”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We ate dinner here, and found it an excellent place to suck back tuk-tuk fumes while looking at the road. The food was exceedingly bland for Sri Lanka, and especially given the small quantity, poor value. It was slow to arrive, in a place where waiting was hot, stuffy, and uninspiring.
-
If it's good curry or seafood in a pleasant, quiet, fan-cooled garden atmosphere you're after, go to Thambapanni Retreat. In fact, I defy anyone who eats at Thambapanni one night and Nautilus the next to give Nautilus any higher than a "Poor" rating.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was recommended to us and we really enjoyed it here. Their fish curry was lovely, as was the pizza's

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank moshchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent curry”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Sri Lankan curry was amongst the best we had. The chairs are too upright for comfort for those of us with dodgy backs.. so ask for one of the plastic ones round the back!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The food was amazing probably the best whilst we were in Unawatuna.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gerri1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautilus also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing