We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice food, basic setting, slow service”

Il Rustico Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: Italian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Description: New restaurant on the beach. Chef specializes in fresh catch seafood and authentic classic Italian fare. Exceptionally good quality and value for money (e.g. 600 LKR for bowl of pasta).
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very nice food, basic setting, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I wouldn't call this a restaurant (anymore?) but more something of a beach-bar. The guy that cooks is a very good cook and can make very nice food. Service is rather slow though, which seems to be common in Sri Lanka. The risotto is especially nice here!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank olafmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best devilled Chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Il Rustico is situated at the calmer end of Unawatuna Beach, the north end, nearly where the beach finishes. It is right on the beach so that you're sitting with your feet in the sand. Tablecloths are clean, there are even cloth napkins, not those impossibly thin useless things you get at other places.
You can get all the usual Sri lankan dishes and some Italian as well. It took a little before our food came, but it was made from the ground with fresh ingredients. We tried a very spicy devilled chicken, Srilankan rice&curry, pasta with shrimps and it was all very delicious and well spiced. And the beer was cold! And the price level was adequate.
Recommended!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hehoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxed beach cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Had lunch at Il Rustico twice. Both times a really pleasant experience. The chef cooks wonderfully with lots of ginger and garlic when appropriate. Tom yom soups is great and so was our grilled red snapper. Sitting on the beach completes the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mamadoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Dalarnas Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“All you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Fantastic food and service, Dinesh, the owner, makes the guests feeling at home, comfortable and satisfied. He really likes italian food and music, he even played some opera in the bar!

Visited January 2012
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
Thank Lottisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerllish
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ripped off on our last evening”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

After spending lots of money in this restaurant during our 2 weekstay as the food was very good, we had agreed on having 3 jumbo prawns on the last night the same as we had had on a previous night. They arrived cold with 2 of them having big chunks of the meat missing and the other one was half the size! After comlaining to the owner, he just denied it. We should not have said it was our last night, but didnt expect this to happen. Very disappointing

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Rustico Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Il Rustico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing