We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but practical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dalawella Beach Resort
Ranked #67 of 147 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average but practical hotel”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed in the Dalawella Beach Resort for 4 nights, breakfast included, which was good food to start the day.
The hotel is located on the beach, however it's not on the actual Unawatuna beach (swimming there is not ideal). The good thing is that it wasn't far from Unawatuna beach so going by tuk tuk was easy and cheap.
The staff is friendly, except for the manager who is quite a character. He arranged for overpriced tours for us, and always increased the price of transportation. Be careful when dealing with him.
Overall, it was a nice and comfortable stay. Just make sure they clean the rooms everyday!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
10
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Wonderful small hotel - 7 rooms - on the beach with all mod cons and excellent service. The restaurant is only for guests and top notch in all respects. Staff is friendly in the best Sri Lankan fashion, managed by Mr. Priyantha who adds his own special touch.

Room Tip: 4 rooms uostairs, 2 down, and one cabana (not up to the standard of the other rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdgoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Our intent was to stay 13 nights at half board. Pryantha, the manager demanded a 30% deposit of which I thought was a bit odd but he said it was a busy time. We complied. Having our $300, he still made us pay for the airport transfer, and the laundry he had arranged to be done for us which was ridiculously expensive. We complied. After three days of really bad food, we had to leave. Dinners were a bowl of soup from a mix, one 2 ounce piece of overcooked fish with chips and a tiny serving of coleslaw. Fruit for desert. Next night was cold cabbage and a chicken leg, same soup and more fruit. Breakfasts were meagre. The location is far from town so there are no alternatives for dining in this area. Pryantha told us we could collect our $36 owed to us the next day but he wasn't around when we returned and he never returned my calls. At best this is a poor B&B run by dishonest management. Avoid the disappointment and hasstle

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed for five nights in the Cabana, Smart looking establishment right on the beach, located kilometre and a half East of Unawatuna. Accomadation clean if a little dingy as located below lots of foliage which also kept it cool ! Staff were friendly and efficient, food was very well cooked some of the best on our trip. Beach was nice very quiet but not great for swimming although there is a great swimming beach at Wijaya just half kilometre east. Easy access to Unawatuna via tuk tuk for 150sr or walking but some stretches along busy coastal road. Over all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kontakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2011

A very nice resort of a wonderful beach. Its one of the best views which one can get for a beach. We have just stayed for four nights and our stay was excellent value for money. room was clean and very comfortable with a lovely view sea. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good. the rooms were cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henney_bouman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2011

very nice location actually very beautiful . staff is very great . great sea food .. like lobster , prawns ,, kalamari , rice @ curry big postion good for lunch . exceleant
but room no good , have more mosqitos , dusty ,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenneymari1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We landed in the town of Unawatana without any prior booking and went around looking for a not-so-expensive but yet comfortable stay (needed A/C badly). While there were many places to stay that we checked out, unlike most of them Dalawella Beach resort had access to part of the beach that had some *beach*. Unawatuna has good stretches of beach but sadly not suitable for a swim (given the weed growth).

The rooms has nice bed, small TV, mini refrigerator, fan, a/c (check pics attached). the staff was ok-dokey (the manager was always in some mood of his own). but this place included bed and breakfast (continental) which was good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingvishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.2 mi away
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
#7 of 31 in Unawatuna
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
EKA Beach
EKA Beach
#1 of 10 in Talpe
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
Rockside Cabanas Hotel
#3 of 128 in Unawatuna
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 147 in Unawatuna
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#8 of 147 in Unawatuna
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanthi Beach Resort
Shanthi Beach Resort
#14 of 128 in Unawatuna
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalawella Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalawella Beach Resort

Property: Dalawella Beach Resort
Address: 445 Matara Road, Dalawella, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalawella Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalawella Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalawella Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing