We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too bad but nothing to rave about...”
Review of The Sanctuary Spa

The Sanctuary Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A massage spa offering relaxing treatments e.g. Swedish massage, Ayurvedic massage, Face massage, Shirodara treatment, Herbal steam bath etc set in a tranquil lush tropical garden down a small lane off the beach road. Booking is essential - Please book with Ranga +94 (0) 77 307 8583 to avoid disappointment.
Brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing too bad but nothing to rave about...”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My partner and I went for a massage. The location is great and the staff were very friendly. My partner wanted a Swedish Massage and I went for the traditional Sri Lankan - both were okay (nothing amazing but quite relaxing) and good value for money. However, when we discussed how it had been for us at lunch afterwards we realised we had both been given exactly the same massage!

Anyway - it's a good value for money thing to do if you want to relax....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    80
    22
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Visited the spa on 2 occasions whilst staying in Unawatuna. The staff were lovely, and they have female and male therapists and the massages I had (with 2 female therapists) were fantastic. I would recommend a visit!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Spacecake777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too much noise”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beware of people chatting to the receptionist out loud and having banter as this may affect your spa experience. The people or tourists are not to be blamed of course but the management seriously need to put a board up or instruct the staff to keep communication at an acceptable level for those in treatment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary39, Manager at The Sanctuary Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thankyou for your comments. We have addressed this issue by providing more training to our staff and also placed a sign at reception which reads "Silence Please". Thankyou The Sanctuary Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

So nice to have a treatment hearing a sound of the ocean.
There are many healing places in Unawatuna, and I believe this place is one of the best.
Staff are trained well, are very helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
3 Thank tomoko162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Tucked away up a garden path. A very peaceful and relaxing experience. The staff were very friendly and professional.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CJLymbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sanctuary Spa also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to The Sanctuary Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing