We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place but aware for routine”

Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 99 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is listed in the latest edition of Lonely Planet and Rough Guide. No website as far as I know.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice place but aware for routine”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

the intention of this restaurant is very good, also the attitude to food and how to prepare it. But it's difficult to make the same high quality every day. We came there on the special Indian day to eat Indian dosa and we think it could be done better.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    159
    77
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“MUST VISIT”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Service is very personalized. Food is great....and fresh! We were in Galle for just one night. Accidentally crossed this place and had dinner. Next day, when we were leaving Galle, we went back specially to get tea and cake.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ishita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If I would have to be vegeterian I would live near this place”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I hardly imagine a meal without meat but this restaurant persuaded me that vegeterian and vegan food can taste absolutely fantastic. We had a word with the chef. Nicest person ever. Hope to see him and his cooking again soon. Its a definite must try if you are in Unawatuna.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelupanddown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray Leics
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

After enjoying the food at the near by South Ceylon Restaurant we thought that we would try Jina's .The food their is not expensive but its truthful to say that we were disappointed with is quality, the dahl for example was watery and the greeen bean curry had little flavour. In truth I cannot remember the other dishes we had except that non of them were of of very good quality. Maybe we visited it on a bad night but our experience is that the food at the South Ceylon Restaurant was of a much better quality. Also whilst there they were burning a log in the garden which had the effect of smoking all the customers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinasatzimmer, Owner at Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi and thanks for Your review.
as you mentioned, our neibour - South Ceylon Restaurant offers good cuisine. I have 30 years chef experience and their chef is trained by me.
By the way, I cannot remember the "green bean curry" in our menu, so I cannot comment your insutisfaction.
What you coul find at Jina's - good selection of mexican and Indian food - prepared by myself and under my permanent surveyance.
I would appriciate if you leave your concrete comments on my cuisine
Cincerely yours
Jina (Jinasena)@ jinas@ Zimmer rest, Chef and owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great food in a quaint setting, by a passionate chef”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Jina's a charming man who is really passionate about the food he puts on the table. He knows so much about cuisines from all over the world!

The food here is excellent and I especially recommend the soup selection (carrot ginger and avocado!) The indian thali is great too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyallovertheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing