We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food from the hearth”

Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 99 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is listed in the latest edition of Lonely Planet and Rough Guide. No website as far as I know.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food from the hearth”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It felt like being invited at grandpa's place for dinner. Jina has taken care of us and the other guests since the moment we ordered, thought the wait and finally after dinner with a nice talk. Yummy home made Sri Lankan curry, filled Naan bread and a delicate dessert to conclude. Not to miss.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aze_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    159
    77
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food from a lovely chef”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We ate at Jina's restaurants two nights out of our three night stay in Unawatuna. We went for the Indian option and the food was gorgeous. However the highlight of our night at Jina's was the time spent chatting to Jina. He is passionate about food and really enjoys what he does taking it all in his stride. What a lovely man he took the time to chat to us giving us tips on how to cook brussel sprouts at Christmas and then brought us on a tour of his garden where he grows all his own vegetables and herbs. He also introduced us to his pet dogs, frogs, turtles etc. We had a great evening at Jina's and would most definitely recommend.
Ps Jina the parsnip seeds are in the post

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catriona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent food and philosophy”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I'm not a vegetarian by any stretch of the imagination, but one of our party was. We decided to eat here due to the excellent reviews on trip advisor.
All the dishes are cooked fresh, and the menu asks for your patience. It was worth the wait; most of us had the Indian thali meal which consisted of a daal, Aubergine curry, mushroom curry, mixed veg curry, rice and papadums. Delicious.
The owner/chef used to work in a restaurant in Croydon, and he is very much into growing his own produce and believing that food is a spiritual thing to take great pleasure in.
It's hard to disagree, when Jin takes the time to chat to his customers whilst cooking and serving the food!
He did say they were going to take on more staff, which will really help during peak periods, but for now be prepared to wait a little in order to gain a lot and you will leave full and content.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“S0fisticado e familiar”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Sofisticado, delicioso e familiar. Jina (JInasena) preocupa-se com a origem dos alimentos. Cozinha com a mesma boa energia que sentimos nos pratos. O Staff é acolhedor, bem como a sua família.Aprendemos muito nesse lugar.

Sophisticated, delicious and familiar. Jina (JInasena) is concerned with the origin of the food. The kitchen with the same good energy we feel in the dishes. The Staff was welcoming, as well as his family.We learned a lot in this place.
José Luís e Lucimar - Brazil

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucimar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic veggie & vegan food in a friendly restaurant”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A great menu with a large variety of Sri Lankan, Indian, Mexican and European food. Jina is a lovely man, welcoming and friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. It's good value and the service is excellent. The food is also really, really tasty!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mairead_Mc_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing