We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great.”
Review of Happy Banana

Happy Banana
Ranked #82 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restauarnt and Hotel/rooms
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not great.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I have to say this is by far the worst place I have ever eaten in Unawatuna. I had chicken kebabs and was ill for days after. The staff are pathetic as service is slow and they didn't even get the order correct. A real shame as it could be so much better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary9999SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    99
    84
    58
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and food. Do go.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Gorgeous location and great cocktails with amazing fish. Very inexpensive. We moved indoors as there was a short shower and it was just as nice

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Prawn salad with one prawn!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Well, I would have expected more than one prawn in my prawn salad. It wasn't exactly cheap!!!! The waiter explained that the one prawn was just garnish, and that there were prawns inside the salad. Okay, there were some tiny flakes of prawn if you really searched. This was the sort of prawn salad I might expect inside plastic packaging, from a supermarket in England, not a restaurant on the beach in Sri Lanka. Totally underwhelming. What a shame.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karentoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst meal I had in three trips to Sri lanka”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Parter had fish kebabs,they were tasteless and cold. Meal made her sick for 24 hours. I had crab curry which frankly was the worst curry I have ever had, crap shell's in a weak curry sauce.But on a positive the beer was ok.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willk186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“They think to be clever but they are not.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We went there for 1 beer. As soon as we come in, we asked the price. I have been answered 300 rupees for one beer. The waiter arrived with 2 beers and we said that we just wanted 1 beer. He said it was ok. After few minutes e come back saying that it was happy hour, so 1 beer is free, and gave us the second one. When we asked the bill, it was 800 rupees for two beers. Of course I just gave them 300rupees and left.
I think Srilankan people think we are stupid just because we are tourists...but we are not.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robbyroroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Banana also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Happy Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing