We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience--gem of a hotel”
Review of Sun'n'Sea Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun'n'Sea Hotel
Ranked #16 of 152 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Comfortable rooms, very clean, well managed, attentive service, Ameen the owner is fantastic---makes the time to speak with all the guests and made us feel very welcome. The local Sri Lankan staff are very very hospitable and service is on par with a 5 star. The beach is amazing--a small clean strip accessible directly from the hotel. The shoreline has disappeared along parts of Unawatuna caused by some ongoing reclamation so be careful which hotel you book yourself at. Very good breakfast included in the room price.

Cons--The bathroom had an odd smell, something to do with the plumbing, the staff kept spraying air freshener--Didn't help much.

Beware of the weekends --Mind numbing house music blaring until around 4am, apparently this happens every weekend courtesy the 'Happy Banana' at Unawatuna We were across from the main beach and still experienced this onslaught until 4am in the morning. It wasn't so bad where we were but think twice about staying on the main Unawatuna strip on the weekend--you will get no sleep until the wee hours of the morning. Unless of course--mind numbing blaring house music is what gets you going !!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are smaller but have a great seaview The downstairs rooms are bigger and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daytripper1on1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 118 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very beautiful view on Unawatuna Bay from bedrooms, bar and restaurant. Ideally situated especially at sunset. We had a very good lunch just on the sea with the sound of waves ! Moreover very nice and friendly staff. To be strongly recommended !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphayel092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I'll start by saying that I have travelled fairly extensively around the world and the Sun N Sea guesthouse in Unawatuna is one of the best places I have stayed, largely due to the excellent service you receive when you stay there.

The guesthouse is in an ideal location in Unawatuna; ten minutes' walk from the centre of Unawatuna so ideal if you want to stay away from the noise of the bars and beach parties. The restaurant is set on the beach and so every meal you eat there, you eat with a beautiful view of Unawatuna beach. Sun N Sea virtually has its own private beach, which was never crowded during the 6 nights we spent there. Lovely warm water and white sand, just a step away from our room.

We had a ground floor room sleeping three people and it was light and airy, clean and comfortable, and good size room with an en suite bathroom. There were views of the beach from our room and a nice terrace area where we could sit out and sunbathe, lounge around in a hammock, or simply look out at the sea.

What really made Sun N Sea stand out for us was the service we received from the staff. Particularly Rohan and the other waiters who work in the restaurant and Nuwan who works on the front desk. Each of them were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. On our first morning we slept in and didn't leave our room until midday. The staff still offered to make us breakfast even though the breakfast service has ended and some people were already having lunch.

One evening we ordered some chocolate ice cream (off menu) for dessert and later found out that they had been out to buy it especially for us as they had run out. One of the staff offered to post our postcards for us on his way home from work. On two occasions the staff at Sun N Sea organised transport for us and the drivers were very professional and we had very comfortable journeys (a refreshing change from experiences at other places in Sri Lanka!). One evening my pizza was slightly late in arriving and my sisters had already had their main course, so the staff gave us a complimentary dessert pizza to make up for the delay.

The restaurant itself is great; we actually ended up eating there every night during our 6 night stay which we wouldn't normally do. The menu is extensive and the food is delicious. It is also reasonably priced with mains around £3-4 per person. Service was very quick and there never seemed to be a feeling of not enough staff to serve the guests.

All in all the Sun N Sea is exceptionally well run and the staff were nothing but polite and helpful. The guest house is a credit to Ameen and his team who work there. If we visit Unawatuna again, there is only one place we will stay.

Thank you for making our stay a very memorable one.

Room Tip: I believe the ground floor rooms are slightly larger. All rooms seem to have views of the beach so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R58C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Expertly managed, perfectly located and comfortable accommodation make this the perfect place to stay for a very reasonable cost. I was only in Unawatuna for 4 nights and 2 of them were spent here. Move just 5 minutes down the road (or along the beautiful beach) and I would've felt the full force of the festival taking place, which whilst packed, noisy and colourful, it was nice to escape from, which was not the case for other hotels/b&b's during this time. The food is very good and cheap, although a little steeper than other places (but we're talking pennies) and my room was just heaven. Hearing the waves crashing outside your door (which is actually the case for every room here) is very very relaxing. A must stay in Una.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms, for me, are better. Room 5 was simple, clean and the view from your bed with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamesraff34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel earlier this week following a recommendation from a lady my friend had met on the bus only a few weeks ago. Although, the hotel may look pretty basic from the outside, it makes up for it with its idyllic views, great hospitality and delicious food.

We were greeted by a very friendly British guy (Malcolm) who showed us to our room. We had an upper floor room with views of the beach and out to sea. The room was very basic, slightly old fashioned but importantly clean with warm water! The bathroom lights were rusty and the whole room needs a touch of TLC but for £30/night you cant complain too much. As we dumped our stuff in our room, we spotted the lady my friend had met on the bus, Florence. Florence has worked at the hotel for 17 years and is truly a delight. She clearly took a shine to us and asked the hotel manager (Malcolm- same guy) if she could show us around. We saw the £45 rooms, which were obviously much nicer than ours but we were happy. Malcolm then kindly offered to take us on the grand tour. He arrived 5 months ago and he's transforming this hotel. He's created a bar area which is modern without looking out of place including Mahogany tables, benches and cushions creating a very relaxing ambiance. Heading upstairs, he's created a tradition Italian stone baked pizza oven for an alternative option to the main menu at meal time. I tried one and it was probably one of the best pizzas I've ever had! The same colour scheme is continued upstairs adding a seated bar so that you can watch the sunset whilst enjoying the faultless hospitality. What impressed me the most other than the friendly staff was the desire to use local produce. From pepperoni to mozzarella, all their ingredients were sourced a maximum of 10 mins down the road. Pretty impressive considering they're making authentic Italian pizzas!

The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home including providing some excellent recommendations of places to eat and visit in Galle.

We ordered pizza (as described above) for dinner which was lovely and much to our error of judgement, 2 glasses of wine (which we now realise was almost as expensive as London and not half as nice).

We woke up at about 10ish for breakfast and much to our surprise, they were still willing to serve us - bread, fruit and egg (however you liked it) made a real change to the usual 7-9am breakfast slot!

We even hung around on the beach and sampled lunch. The menu is varied and easy to navigate providing nibbles, snacks and fuller meals if necessary. My friend had seafood noodles which were tasty and I had prawns in a garlic sauce with rice and chips, equally as delicious. We settled the bill and much to our surprise, it came out as £60 for our room and food- bargain!

From speaking to the staff, the owners do have plans to do up the rooms and if they are as nice as the new bar/pizza diner area then this hotel will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_K2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

First time I stayed here in 2010 it was my first night ever in Sri Lanka. I thought I was in paradise. My room practically on the shore, restaurant looking along the beach and out to the waves. Beautiful food, smiling friendly staff, clean rooms with air con, good showers and crisp white cotton sheets and room to lie in the sun sipping coconut juice and watching the sea. We came back in 2013 and Sun n Sea was a must to return to. A short walk to the rest of Unawatuna but away from any noisy parties at night. An extremely short walk to a dip in the beautiful bay. Fabulous sunsets over scrumptious dinners. And now they have an additional bar and dining space on the first floor with even fabulouser views. Managed, I am told, by a very interesting chappie who has travelled the world and brings his experience of what travellers want with a range of cooking skills and travellers stories. The hotel has been run by the same family for many years with consequent attention to detail and good atmosphere. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Ground floor have large lounging area with shade from trees outside rooms, first floor have views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinnerlorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here with my Father in 2005 and though both he and Mrs Pereira who founded Sun'n'Sea are gone, their spirit lives on. Prices at Sun'n'Sea have gone up quite a lot and it was bit beyond our budget so we stayed at the other end of the Beach but we came here for a 60th Birthday dinner for me which was very nostalgic. The place hasn't changed much at all and the view remains fantastic - we were treated to massive lightning storms and a huge deluge after sunset. The food also remains very good - an impressive selection of seafood and curries plus some Chinese and European options. it was very nice to return and find the place much as i remembered it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AgentC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
1.6 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun'n'Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun'n'Sea Hotel

Address: 324 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $45 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A piece of heaven on Earth... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing