We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice and friendly place, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice and friendly place, but...”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

A nice and friendly place, but with some clear hickups.

We stayed at Tartaruga for 6 nights in a spacious family room. The room was clean and could be cleaned by asking. We had it cleaned every second day which was fine by us.

It is a nice place with friendly staff.

The place is situated right on the Beach or what is left of it, see below.

The seafood was good and also some of the cross over dishes. The singaleese food was no more than ok (and we usually enjoy singaleese food). Anyway if you stay at the Tartaruga we suggest that you also try some of the other places along the road for eating especially the ones that also have cooking classes or go to Galle Fort 15 min with Tuk Tuk.

Hickups:

The alleged Italian food : We tried both the pizza, pasta and the bruchetta and it was not even close to what can be expected from a place that supposedly has an Italian owner and advertise it's Italian food. It does not resemble anything Italian other than in name.

Service: The service was at some times extremely slow. It could easely take one hour to get the breakfast. Lunch and dinner could take even longer.

Entrance: the entrance to the Hotel is 50 meter from the street, which in itself is not an issue, but the way was filled with trash and litter. We realise that the ground was probably not owned by the Hotel, but they could still have sent out some of their staff to clear up the entryway.

Music was confusing: a mix of bossanova from the 70's and techno. For some reason the music was sometimes turned up late in the evening (from 22.30 and later) - perhaps in an effort to compete with the music from the neighbours?

The Beach in front of the Hotel was gone when we arrived. Hopefully it will come back, but they seem to have built closer to the sea than many others and that may perhaps be part of their problem with sand erosion.

Despite the hickups we believe that the Tartaruga is ok place to stay if you are going to Unawatuna

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Knuteoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sraji, Guest Relations Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you Madam,Sir.
The road to our hotel from the junction actually not only ours. It is a public. anyway thank you again for your comment, we can make over our failures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    72
    47
    19
    14
See reviews for
62
88
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We come to Unawatuna second year in a row and Tartaruga is our choice #1 for the seafood. We tried quite much restaurants on Unawatuna beach and every time we come back to this one! Staff is progressing in service on different languages. Today they announced they have menu in Russian and they also speak different languages (not fluently, but you still can make an order and get a good service - for sure English they speak better). The great benefit of Tartaruga is that you can pay card here! VISA accepted. Food is great and tasty! We tried here Jumbo prawns, grilled fish and Crab - still coming here for seafood! They also serve European menu - pasta, pizza, beef, pork. We took lasagne once - it was good!
In 2 words: it's worth to come here once nether than reading or hearing about it!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Garegin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in Tartaruga hotel from 21-30August 2013.
When we arrived we realized that the sea eroded the beach in front of the hotel. We were quite disappointed as we chose this hotel because of a friends recommendation and the beach in front.
Next morning the GM of the hotel came to us and apologized for the situation. It's absolutely not his fault as this is a vis mayor. He offered us a better room and also some discounts so we decided to stay. It was one of our best decision.
There was a beach about 200m away so we went there everyday. The place is called Full Moon. It was a good choice.

We always went back to the hotel to have lunch or dinner. They have the best kitchen on that area and also the staff is one of the best I've seen in Asia.

Altogether it's worth visiting this hotel with their friendly staff and great food!

Hope the situation is better with the beach by now!

Thanks for everything!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrasOssko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvide Sande, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We decided to head down to this lovely beach restaurant and the food knocked my socks off!! The staff was very efficient and friendly. The view of the seagreen beach is simply breathtaking...and all u need to do is order a concoction with local alcohol and ur day can't go any better...the steak and the shrimp cocktail was exceptionally good and I must say that it is a must visit for a meal whilst in Unawatuna!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Drtsk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at Tartaruga with our kids. Though the beach in this part of the bay is temporarily eroding due to the changes caused by the recently built sea-defence, but in spite of the changes we spent a very nice holiday there. The location is really good! It was impressive to see how much effort is taken with urgency, to restore the beach as soon as possible. The staff was very kind, we felt like being surrounded by a family, the food was excellent, reasonably priced. We tried almost the whole menu anyway :-) and even the kids found always something new which met with their picky taste. I liked the owner's continuous efforts to be close to the guest, understand and fulfill their needs. He was there all day, all of our requests were managed immeadiately. Should the sandy part of the beach restored, this would have been a paradise place to stay for a vacation.

Room Tip: Room 9 is quiet, but not AC, just fans, so may be hot for some people. Room cleaning is done as freq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoltan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

After a couple days in Unawatuna, staying at a different hotel, we found ourselves always parked in front of Tartaruga due to its central location, friendly staff and cold drinks! The logical choice was to stay there for the last night to maximise our time at the beach. The hotel is basic-basic to say the least, but seeing as we were mainly relaxing during the day, I did not mind the restless night (our room was closest to the public / staff area). They were pretty strict regarding check-out times, but I was able to use the beach shower to rinse off for the last time as I was headed straight to the airport directly from the hotel. It was definitely a luxury to be directly on the beach, and the plethora of restaurants, shops, stalls, within a short walk is a huge plus. If your #1 priority is location, then this is definitely the place to be. Book early to get a more private room so you can get a better sleep than I did!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genval, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We made a reservation for two nights at Tartaruga during our holiday in Sri Lanka, based on the excellent comments on Trip Advisor. We made a reservation for the family room, which was supposed to be quite luxurious based on the photos we had seen on the website. The price was according to the supposed luxurious room. However, when we arrived at the hotel, the room did not match the photos on the website. The room was small and dark, and the bathroom was just supertiny, with rust on the shower, and a strong moist smell. The room is nearly on the beach, with a beach restaurant stuck in between, and the sea eroding the beach. There were some workmen trying to build some concrete wall or so to avoid further erosion. In fact, there is no space at all to sit on the beach, as the restaurant tables nearly touch the water. In any case, we decided to stay there for the first night as we would see for the second night. We thought that maybe we were being too picky. However, that night was a nightmare. Our room was adjacent to a restaurant where some locals spent a big part of the night partying, making a terrible noise until well into the night. On the top of that, some car got jacked in the parking, and the alarm of that car went on every 10 minutes during the entire night. In any case, we didn't sleep at all.
After that night, we decided we would not stay one more night in this horrible place. We went to the front desk to tell them we were leaving and not staying the second night even though we had reserved it. We told them that the room did not match the pictures and reviews we had seen on tripadvisor and on their website. The hotel manager was very embarrassed and indeed confirmed we had been cheated by them. Apparently, the room we had seen on the website was a room "in construction" and not finished yet, and they gave us one of their older rooms. However, the price we paid was way too much for that old smelly room (we paid 150USD for a room not worth more than 30USD). Because of the embarassement caused, they did not charge us for the dinner at the restaurant. We left the hotel feeling cheated and went to a much cheaper and nicer hotel in Galle. What we learnt from the experience: don't make a reservation if you don't find the hotel in a guide book like Lonely Planet or the like (it was not mentioned in any of our 3 guidebooks), and don't always trust tripadvisor. Having seen this hotel just a few weeks ago, I can't believe so many people give it a 5-star rating, I'm not sure that all the reviews are objective. If you really want to go there, my advice is: don't book in advance and go check it out in real time before you decide if you want to stay there. Just go there first, and then ask to look at the room before you accept to stay there. There is only one good aspect to this place: the restaurant serves excellent food, and the price is reasonable. For the rest, especially for families with children, stay out of this hotel. We like honest people, not cheaters. Even when they apologize afterwards (and therefore admit they cheated us)...

Room Tip: look at the room first before you decide to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolineandBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
814 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Property: Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Address: Yaddehimulla | Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartaruga Hotel And Beach Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing