We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dining along the beachfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Reviewed January 10, 2013

tried the bbq calamari and prawns. grilled to savour, especially after a relaxing day at the beach. Be prepared to wait though, as food can take ~45 mins to get to the table.

Costs ~ $20 usd per pax for filling meal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tzewei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 269 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Awesome food! Fantastic place, friendly staff, value for money and the most relaxing place on Unawatuna beach . Tartaruga..... you guys a the best!!
A note re the bach vendors in Unawatuna, this is the only place where they dont bug you and they respect your choice.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank JeremyE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Tartaruga is a nice place to stay and the charges are not much for stay if you negotiate with them. The variety of seafood is nice and the guys are very friendly and helpful. I stayed there twice, once was in off season and the other in the peak season..both times, there was a difference in the cost. They have a new menu and stuffs now..~~~

Room Tip: take the rooms facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fad_leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Ok so Tartaruga is not the most prettiest place in Unavatuna.. but it does make up for this in many ways.. The location is spot on- possibly the best in Una.. cause its smack bang in the middle on the bay and the best place to swim and also to have a beer (its not full of the bus day tourists that can come on a weekend).. The Rooms are quite basic- but clean sheets and hot water (would advice to bring your own towel and shower gel etc. ).. The owners are hand on and the management are great. The staff on a whole are fantastic and its a great atmosphere. The bathrooms can improve in terms of a nice shower- but this is the beach and for the price paid I guess I cant complain.
Food I would say was SPOT on.. - the pastas are great and I think the owners lived in Italy for over 10 yrs or something. The rice and curry I think is a bit overpriced though..

Room Tip: BOOK EARLY... this place gets packed.. If full try the place called Baywatch (its not on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel/restaurant for 7 days and could not have been happier. Our room was large and clean with a closet, a bench for luggage, a good working air-conditioner, a minfridge and a flat screen TV. The bed was very comfortable and had a mosquito net (although we were not troubled by mosquitoes at this time of year.) There was always plenty of very hot water from the shower. Best of all, we just had to walk outside our door to have delicious and multiethnic cuisine at the beach restaurant. A few steps further took us to their lovely sandy beach, one of the nicest on the island, and the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. (Be aware, that Unawatuna is a pretty small beach community and many of the hotels here do not have a beach, just rocks.) The outdoor beach restaurant is a perfect setting at all times of the day: peaceful in the morning, a great place to enjoy the included breakfast; sunny and beachy in the day; and romantic at night. Lots of tropical plants and huge shade trees, too. Imagine dining on luscious food in the warm balmy breezes, listening to a great sound track of music, all to the background sounds of the waves lapping on the shore and flaming torches and candlelight to add to the ambience. Ah!! Heaven !!! While we were here, several covered “chill out” areas were newly constructed. Do you want to rest on pillows, sit at low tables and be under the cover of an awning while enjoying the beach and ocean? Check. There is also a quite large and very attractive 2nd floor restaurant (think bamboo and rattan and mood lighting) if rain becomes an issue.

I also cannot say enough about the professionalism and friendliness of the management. The hotel and restaurant is family owned and operated by three brothers, Neel, Shyam and Milan. (I probably have the spelling wrong, sorry!) They checked with us frequently to make sure that we were comfortable, that our room was good and that the service was excellent. The rest of the staff was universally friendly and courteous and helpful. This place is very popular, particularly the restaurant and there was always plenty of staff on hand to handle the need. The owners were also an immense help in making travel and tour arrangements for us. Through Hotel Tartaruga, we booked a wonderful, courteous, and safe driver, Mr. Jaya, for our trips to and from the airport in Colombo (about a 3 hour drive.) One of the owners, Shyam, also made arrangements for us to have a 2 day tour of the southern part of Sri Lanka, including wonderful overnight accommodations in Tissa, a trip to observe the evening Puja at Kataragama and a magnificent jeep safari in Yala National Park. We saw four leopards, a dozen elephants and animals, birds and reptiles to fill a two page list. Again, we had Mr. Jaya as our driver and guide for the two days. On another day, Neel made arrangements for a TukTuk driver and whale watching boat trip out of Mirissa Harbor. Yeah!! I saw a blue whale and a baby that was just days old. We were able to observe them at fairly close range for over ½ hour. What a delight. The brothers helped make all these wonders possible.

This is the last chapter in a 6 month trip around Southeast Asia and Asia. Our stay at Hotel Tartaruga was a perfect end to a perfect adventure. I gave the establishment a rating of excellent and posted a lot of pictures.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimBliss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but ate here a few times.
I thought it was the best restaurant we tried in Unawatuna.
The menu is substantial, offering dishes for all tastes; I particularly loved the Sri Lankan curries and the devilled dishes, requesting that they came 'Sri Lankan spicy'. They were beautifully deep in flavour and spice.
One night we chose a large snapper, jumbo prawns and calamari from the fresh catch of the day, which they barbecued perfectly, and a bargain at 5000 rs for three of us.
It's a perfect setting on the beach and the waiters are so friendly, I would thoroughly recommend it and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I did not stay here but went here for food everytime. They hold seafood nights during Thursdays I think, and it is better than I expected. Wine is not bad either especially for the really cheap price. Breakfast is also really good. Service can be faster, but the staff are really friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sraji, Guest Relations Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for commenting us. We hope in your next visit you'll stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#21 of 33 in Unawatuna
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
472 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Address: Yaddehimulla | Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $37 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartaruga Hotel And Beach Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing