We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place for vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place for vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

It was a really nice place I ever saw in Sri lanka. it was really on the beach. We enjoyed very much. their food was excellent, fantastic.... they serve italian food, chinese, Sri lankan and sea food was the best of all.
Thank you everyone working at the hotel. we really enjoyed our vacation. hope to see you in our next vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yuri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    69
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
57
83
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Very friendly people runs this place. You get really good value for money. The rooms are fine and clean - and the food are very good as well. A good place to bring your kids - the staff are really nice to them.
The hotel are perfectly places on Unawatuna beach - a bit difficult to fint from the road, but the tuk-tuk-driver will help you ;-).
We recommend the place to anyone - enjoy your stay.

Karin and Ole

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oso009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We'd been there for 3 days of our 10 day trip in Sri Lanka. This place is located on one of the most amazing and beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka. Most noticable things for Tartaruga: exceptionally friendly environment, staff treat you like a friend and peer, tasty and delicious kitchen, clean and tidy rooms with A/C, suitable location - beach is only 30 seconds (!) away from your room. You feel exceptional treatment and hospitality rightaway. In my personal opinion, all benefits of this place are due to personal touch and attention to each and every detail of the owner Mr. Neel and the staff of Tartaruga. Would highly recommend this place as a chill-out and relaxing vacation place.
P.S. Mahesh makes amazing cocktails at the bar! Just try it! ;)

Would highly recommend this place. We'll definitely come next year!

Andrey, Kazakhstan

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anufrius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is my second time in Sri Lanka and in Tartaruga. Overall i can say, i was in different places, different hotels and guest houses and tartaruga i found the best one, location, condition and Price! Unawatuna is the most beautiful beach, always clean and good to swim. Tartaruga is a guest house which offer you a very comfortable rooms, simple, but stylish, always clean and pleasant. Good restaurant with great food, cooked with a soul! You can have breakfast, lunch or dinner on the beach, under the palms, with a great music, great prices and very friendly attitude! Special thanks to Mr. Niel and to Mahesh!

Want to recommend tartaruga as a great place and unawatuna as a best beach! Will not experiment anymore in Sri Lanka, will return back to this place only!

Anele, Kazakhstan

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anele_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed for 5 days at Tartaruga from late Feb to early March 2011, I wish now we had stayed longer. The owner Neel and his team were so welcoming and just lovely. The room was clean and good value for money, We had aircon in our room that worked just fine but really we didn't need it as the fan was more than adequate.

We ate lunch there most days and the food was good value and tasty, fresh fish, good curry and the bloody mary was pretty damn good. I would recommend this little gem to all my friends as the guys there were just so beautiful and welcoming, Thanks for a wonderful stay and hopefully see you again sometime. All the best. Janice and Ian

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janiceduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

While travelling my homecontry for the first time in 35 years i ended up in Unawatuna and Tartaruga. I was supposed to stay two weeks, but ended up staying almost a month..
The location is just heaven, and Tarauga is like no other place on this beach.. Paradise!!
The food is great, and the rooms are nice and clean. There is always a helping and if you need anything!! But getting a smile everyday from the staff and the owners, making me one of the "Family" makes me call this one of my homes in this world. A big Thank you to everybody working at Tartaruga!!! Wish you all the best!!

Deepani Maria Westander Sweden\Srilanka

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deepani76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

I have been in Sri Lanka from the 1st to the 15th of February at the Tartaruga resort in Unawatuna. It has been for me a good accomodation, simple but well managed. Neel, the owner, is a very kind person and he trys to satisfy every customers' need. All the staff is very friendly and they make you comfortable. Cooking is tasty with fresh fish and many people come to the Tarataruga's restaurant from other hotels. I suggest this resort to everyone who is going in that part of Sri Lanka. I hope to go there again soon.

Bruno

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brubru_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#16 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Property: Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Address: Yaddehimulla Road | Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartaruga Hotel And Beach Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing