We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nope. Dissapointed.”
Review of B's Place

B's Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B's Place
Ranked #116 of 156 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Well...I must say that the website (http://bsplaceunawatuna.com/) gives quite a wrong impression about the place. Nestled at the very end of the line of guest houses of Unawatuna, it seemed less than perfect really. The 'lobby' area had a strange, mildew smell and a narrow staircase took us up to a little room with minimal amenities. That's fine for $30 for a day perhaps, but not when the locks of the room, balcony door and window were so badly done that anyone could have forced their way through it. We could see that the roof was hardly cleaned out, with ciggarette butts and other randome throwaways littered and being an eyesore. The lounge area to the beach was OK, the papaya juice we had was OK too. We didn't eat there so cannot comment on that. Later on, there were lots of local on the right of the beach who had very loud music going on, half of them were drunk and we reckon the bad sort hang around due to the main car park being just 50m away.

We didn't feel it was the best place and definitely not family friendly. Would otherwise recommend Happy Banana, which had more people and tourists as well as Kingfisher, which looked more studier built.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed here for three nights whilst travelling through the south, great value, nice clean room. 400 rupee a night for the room with a sea view.

The owner is great and a very nice guy. He changed my dollars for me and is very trustworthy!

Would deffinately recommend the accommodation, and the food they serve, great value!

Matt and Edith

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

To all readers PLEASE do not view this as an attack on most of the fine people that live in Unawatuna,Sri Lanka,for they are wonderful people in an amazing country.I have never been treated with such humilliation and crap in any place i have ever stayed in my life.The sheer robbery and intimidation i received at this place from a certain SUJI was a discgrace.I was looking for a place to stay near the beach and was offered the reasonable rate of 800rupies a night,this is roughly 8US$,very cheap in any-one's language...my mistake.My first error-leaving my passport,some cash and my Australian sim card with the manager(In a supposedly secure area)....On going out on the second night i took 10000rupies out of my money belt,this should have left a balance of 12000rupies,first,"crap",of this place...on checking my money belt the following lunchtime i was horrified to find 2000rupies in my money belt.I thought to myself i may as well give these people another chance being the gentleman i am.Second,"crap",i payed a bill for 3 days of 6750 rupies(Inc food and drinks),the manager wrote a bill for 3450 rupies less than this amount i can only asume he pocketed the money.There was 1 other occasion which i will not write for only the courteous way in which the other staff treated me at this hotel.The rooms were never cleaned and i was pushed on many occasions into eating at the hotel restaurant..I was horrified to learn when after 5 days i left this place my Australian Phone card..had mysteriously dissapeared(from my Secure Place of holding!).I urge all travellers to by-pass this hotel on the beach..at first this guy seems very genuine..DONT take the chance!..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

B's Place is the best hotel in SriLanka. When u're in SL dont forget to drop in here as it has all the things SL has to offer. As a tourist me and my family enjoyed it to the fullest.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Een goede raad: blijft daar uit de buurt. Het zijn oplichters, die te lui zijn om te donderen. Zij h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pegasusmichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ve4nostnaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 4, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
945 reviews
0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
0 mi away
Mini-Hotel VillaWatuna
Mini-Hotel VillaWatuna
#52 of 156 in Unawatuna
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
720 reviews
0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B's Place

Address: Wella Devala Road | Yaddemulia, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing