We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Grove is Paradise”
Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Grove
Ranked #3 of 149 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Have been visiting Sri Lanka since 2006 and this is my favourite guest house by far!
Situated a 5 minute walk to the main beach, down a little lane of the main road nestling between palm trees, and lustrous vegetation.
Beautiful building, with the most amazing open air terraces to relax on and savour the peace.
The top one with hammocks and space to chill and read a paper or look out on the tree tops and see monkeys, birds and local wildlife.
The lower terrace for comfy chairs, place to plug in your ipod, unwind, and fridge to keep the beer cool.
Rooms are immacutely clean, with lovely antique furniture, 4 poster beds, towels, toiletries, hot water and lots of little extras.
Key thing about the Palm Grove are the owners - a lovely, warm and friendly retired couple from England (Lorraine and Paul) who bend over backwards to impart local knowledge, organise trips, snorkel hire, tuk tuk rides and secret gems of places to visit.
Nothing is too much trouble. They also have a small team of local staff - who are part of the family too and will do anything to go the extra mile and make your stay comfortable.
Like a home from home. Can't recommend enough. Have taken family and friends to visit and everyone I spread the word to visits, falls in love and comes back for more.
ZOE 31

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ZoeSriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 255 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2010

Beautyfulll hotel in Unawatuna!! A peace garden front the room, 2 cosy terraces (one on the roof, with hamac), and the owners are really friendly. A nice place to stay!!!!
The rooms are all big and compfortable with mosquito nest.
Just 5 min walk to the beautifull beach of Unawatuna, we can have calm and local life.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank marylinemateokim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Stunning guesthouse just a few minutes walk from Unawatuna's main beach, bars and restaurants. The rooms are wonderfully clean and spacious with gorgeous 4 poster beds, crisp white linen and hot water showers in the ensuite bathrooms. The setting is beautiful with guest balconies, a lounge area and terraces to relax in. My particular favourite was the rooptop terrace which I had to tear myself away from after delicious breakfasts each morning.. and to where I returned for a lazy afternoon in the hammock watching the monkeys swing amongst the palm trees! Superb value for money. Paul and Lorraine are incredibly hospitable and provide impeccable service. Couldn't fault this place and will undoubtedly book in again next time i treat myself to a Lanka holiday!

Just to add, I've stayed here with friends which was great fun, but also on my own and I always felt totally safe, which is so important as a young female traveller. There is a housekeeper and night security guy who is there to greet you anytime day or night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank QueenyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Dietmar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Как мне кажется, лучшие номера на втором этаже, где мы и жили.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Татьяна М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Pernille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGroveSrilanka, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 20Maury1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGroveSrilanka, Owner at Palm Grove, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 149 in Unawatuna
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: Egodawatte, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $29 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove is located in an idyllic village setting. Very quiet setting. Away from the nightlife but still within walking distance to all locations. Only a 10 minute stroll to the shops,bars,restaurants and the beautiful bay of Unawatuna. There are many tours that you can take from Unawatuna to suit all tastes. The turtle hatchery is less than 20 minutes away, as is Koggala Lake where you can take a relaxing boat trip on the Lagoon and visit some of the small islands situated there. A three to four day tour will take you to Ella with its waterfalls, Nuwara Eliya with its tea plantations and greenery. The 'Temple of the Tooth' at Kandy and the nearby 'Elephant Orphanage' are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing