We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Grove
Ranked #3 of 152 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent in this lovely guesthouse a week in January 2013.
It's located in a 5 minute walk from the beach of Unawatuna. Palm Grove is situated in a very beautiful and quiet place among the trees. The breakfast (omelet and fruits) was served on a spacious terrace with an amazing view to the jungle. And there is also another small and secluded terrace on the 2 floor where you can enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. Or you can read books from a little library or play games.
You can even listen to the stereo, if it doesn't bother other guest of course :-)
Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mosquito net and ensuit bathrooms.
The best thing about the guesthouse is definitely their owners. They are incredibly friendly and do their best to satisfy all your needs. And it wasn't formal. It felt like they took care of us as if we were their friends.
It was a great pleasure to have a little chat with them in the evening sipping local beer.
We want to thank the great couple for everything.
And if we happen to came to Sri Lanka again, we will certainly stay in Palm Grove.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maroosja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights, once on our way to Mirissa and also on the way back. The guesthouse rooms are very clean and comfortable and there are some good communal areas for reading or sitting around.

It is a short (5 minute) walk to restaurants and the main beach but this means you benefit from it being quieter and the nearby nature (not uncommon to see monkeys at breakfast).

The owners are very friendly and happy to chat and give tips on the best places to eat etc. whilst they are originally from Lancashire even as a Yorkshireman I couldn't fault them!

Galle fort is well worth an evening trip for sunset and only 400 rupee each way by tuk tuk. The main beach is very crowded so don't expect the deserted sands you find further south.

Overall a very pleasant stay, great food, nice people...can't ask for much more.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Palm Grove has very friendly atmosphere. The guesthouse is decorated with relaxed, but good taste. It is located about 200m from the Unawatuna´s main (and only) street, surrounded with trees. You can sit on terraces and watch monkeys play in the trees, while eating breakfast or enjoying refreshing beverage in the evening. We stayed one week in family room with ac. The room was big and clean. We enjoyed our stay completely. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amarimar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently spent 4 nights at Palm Grove, arriving in Unawatuna from Mirissa. Owners are Lorraine and Paul, Lancashire couple who have owned the place for some 8 years and have a wealth of local knowledge and give you a really friendly welcome. There are 5 large spacious room that have AC if you need it at a few extra dollars per night (rooms work out at about £22 per night without the AC), we made do with the ceiling fan and a standalone fan.
The house is very clean and tidy and set in lovely grounds, surrounded by trees with monkeys never too far away. They have a well stocked fridge of beer, water and soft drinks with an honesty board to mark off what you use.
The house is tucked away down a narrow alley where no cars can go. The walk to the beach is at most only 5-6 minutes past a few shops and restaurants and most of the drinking and eating establishments are located right on the beautiful beach. They recommended 3 restaurants to us and we ate at all of them (Pink Elephant, Flamingo and Curry Love) and had great food at all, The guest house has a night watchman who can let you in if you decide to stay out for a late one!
This is great accommodation at a great price and an ideal quiet location. What more do you want?

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank gec290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Such a good place! It's better than a ordinary guesthouse, here you'll feel more comfortable than in a hotel! Because of it's unic friendly atmosphere you feel like home since first minutes of being here. Lorraine it's owner is a very very good person who always ready to help you. Despite of it's quite far away from the ocean, nearby places is great! Palms and flowers is all around. There's no wet ocean breeze but wonderful bird singing all the time. All guests are gentle and calm persons, making no noise at night.
All rooms has an good air-conditioner, look clean and comfortable. Thee large and wonderful guestrooms makes the sense of real big house of friends. Absolutely best non-glamourous and comfortable place in Unawatuna. We will definitely come here again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyuver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Want to be friendly welcomed, sleep as long as you want, have a great breakfast with fresh fruit afterwards while you watch the monkeys in the trees and all the beautiful plants and flowers? Then go for it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgjjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed at palm grove for 2 weeks in jan, beautifull surrounding accomodation exellent. spacious rooms, very clean, brilliant location just a few minutes walk to the beach. breakfast on the terrace every morning, paradise! Lorraine & paul were brilliant, very knowlegable & welcoming, did a 4 day tour with guide that was recommended by paul & lorraine, was brilliant recommend it. will definatly be back to lorraine & paul at palm grove.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 152 in Unawatuna
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#2 of 152 in Unawatuna
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Castle Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: Egodawatte, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $30 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove is located in an idyllic village setting. Very quiet setting. Away from the nightlife but still within walking distance to all locations. Only a 10 minute stroll to the shops,bars,restaurants and the beautiful bay of Unawatuna. There are many tours that you can take from Unawatuna to suit all tastes. The turtle hatchery is less than 20 minutes away, as is Koggala Lake where you can take a relaxing boat trip on the Lagoon and visit some of the small islands situated there. A three to four day tour will take you to Ella with its waterfalls, Nuwara Eliya with its tea plantations and greenery. The 'Temple of the Tooth' at Kandy and the nearby 'Elephant Orphanage' are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing