We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbe”
Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Grove
Ranked #2 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brumath, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superbe”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Dear Lorraine & Paul,
Thank you very much for your welcome. We did have 4 beautiful days with you. I would say it was our 4 best days during our 3 weeks tour. Our little daughter enjoyed as well your relaxing garden, the breakfast with monkeys, and your kind attention. It will be a pleasure to see you again if we plan to come back in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
117
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Unforgettable holiday in a true paradise! Everything was perfect: luxurious room, beautiful garden and very delisious breakfast. Special thanks to Lorraine and Paul who made our standing in Palm Grove more bright with their kindness and care.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaisiyaSamoylova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 2,5 weeks and congratulated ourselves having chosen this place. Lauraine & Paul, more hostparents than owners, are the heart of this guesthouse: being always attentive to their guest`s needs, enjoying the company of their guests same as giving helpful hints about restaurants, trips and shops.
Palm Grove is a comfy place, a clean and tranquil oasis after a day at the crowded beach or strenuous traveling. It is a perfect base to explore surrounding beaches, go for trips to the nearby snake or turtle farm, also for daytrips like whale watching or to the Yala National Park.
Even at rainy hours, you can chill out in a hammock or chat away with other travelers, sipping at a beer or coke from the provided fridge and watch the monkeys climbing the nearby palms.
Distance to the beach is 5-10 min, if you like you could dine every day at a different restaurant along the beach - we liked most Jina`s veggie cuisine, the more upscale restaurant at Flower Garden as well as the small but awesome friendly Roti-Shop on the way from Palm Grove to the beach.
Palm Grove is situated a bit away from the beach road in a small lane, not known to every tuk-tuk driver. So if you arrive at late hours, it is helpful to contact Paul or Lauraine ahead or even arrange a pickup.
We left full of fond memories & maybe will return one day - thanks a lot, Lauraine & Paul!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

When we arrived in Unawatuna we couldn't find Palm Grove. A quick call to Paul solved our problem and when we finally arrived, Lorraine was already on the go with an umbrella to save us from the rain that had just started. Our whole stay (4 nights) continued like this: whenever we needed something, Lorraine was more than happy to help us.
The rooms are spacious and comfy. We really enjoyed the common areas where we hung out and waited for the rain to stop while we got to know other guests.
One of the highlights was spending New Year's with Paul, Lorraine and the other guests at the beach.
Palm Grove is the family you do not have when you travel. Thank you for an awesome stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKTraveling_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Overall a good value guesthouse with very friendly owners.

We didn't give the guesthouse a 5 out of 5 for a few reasons. The room itself was fine, but had a damp smell. Air con was an additional price. And it was a little further away from the beach than anticipated.

I would say if you want a budget friendly guest house with friendly owners - stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srilankanjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

EX-UK now living in Sri Lanka, the family and I decided to take a long weekend relaxing. Palm Grove was an excellent choice. Paul & Lorraine are just wonderful people who take great pride in looking after their guests. Plam Grove its self is a haven of tranquility and very relaxing, the rooms are perfect.
No matter where you stay and what you pay from the humble B&B to a 5X hotel there is always an expectation of service. Not many places exceed the expectation. Palm Grove does.
I would recommend Palm Grove with no hesitation.
As a side note I was a little disappointed with Unawatuna .... BUT... Once again P&L helped out by suggesting a nearby beach that was much better and fullfilled our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lankaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed as a couple in October 2012 having booked very last minute with Paul over the phone. From the minute we started chatting on the phone, we knew we would enjoy our stay as Paul is just so friendly and welcoming. Lorraine, Paul's wife wasn't there at the time which is why she isn't mentioned so much here! I will say though, that Paul often talks about Lorraine being "better then him" at looking after guests/doing reservations - Paul - you are fantastic.
We were only in Sri Lanka for 5 days and had planned to move around a little - we had only planned to stay at Palm Grove for 2 nights but ended up staying the whole time. Paul helped arrange our transfer from the airport and back again and gave us lots of local knowledge about Unnawattuna which was really helpful as we were new to Sri Lanka and only on a short break. (Note to anyone traveling Sri Lanka - Do you research and spend as much time as possible traveling this amazing country) - The area around the guest house is very relaxed and whilst people "hassle" to a certain extent they don't push it too far and understand that no means no! Unlike some other places in asia. Always check with Paul/Lorraine on expected prices so you can manage how much you are getting ripped off - no point getting annoyed by this - it will happen so just be prepared, understand the "local" price from Paul and haggle your way around!
We had a very relaxed few days, only really visited Galle Fort & a lake nearby (ask Paul, I've forgotten the name!) where we visited a temple and cinnamon island. Spent a lot of time at the beach and eating. Make sure you try the local food in the area and explore the back streets for food places (not right on the beach - for something more authentic) Lucky Tuna on the beach was our favorite place though - good food and nice enough sun beds!
If you are looking for a "home away from home" type place then Palm Grove is a must whilst traveling Sri Lanka - everyone working there makes you feel so welcome, at home and can not do enough for you.
The rooms are very spacious and we thought very well priced too - of all the places we rang (last minute!) Palm Grove was the most reasonable and having seen most of the others whilst in the area we definitely chose the best place! Hot water shower in the bathroom!!
The honesty fridge tops it all off - you can help yourself and just tally down what you have had which is then billed at the end of your stay! (Beer/Water/Soda)
The bed was comfortable and we found we had more then enough space to unpack and feel at home - not cramped like most hotel rooms. We had a big wardrobe, dressing table, 2 chairs and a coffee table as well as side tables and the bed. Not forgetting the comfortable communal areas - 1 on the second floor - 8/10 chairs around one big table next to the honesty fridge (we ordered pizza here one night with Paul and had a night in with him - we ordered pizza from the Blow Hole restaurant (again, ask paul) which was a fantastic recommendation and another must do)
the other communal area is on the top floor - separate seating areas and a hammock, with a few board games to play. Forgot to mention the iPod Docking station on the second floor where you can play your own tunes.

If you are the 5* hotel type, who considers personal service to be "Good morning Sir, Madam" then this isn't the place for you - if you consider personal service to really mean personal then Palm Grove is a must. We both work in hospitality ourselves and can not fault this place on service,cleanliness & making sure we enjoyed our stay- not only in the guest house but in Unawatuna in general.
Tip: Take a Torch! (Nothing to do with Palm Grove, just Unawatuna in general)

A Big Thank You to everyone at Palm Grove.... Paul & Lorraine - see you in Malaysia next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#15 of 32 in Unawatuna
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
814 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#3 of 145 in Unawatuna
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Property: Palm Grove
Address: Egodawatte, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove is located in an idyllic village setting. Very quiet setting. Away from the nightlife but still within walking distance to all locations. Only a 10 minute stroll to the shops,bars,restaurants and the beautiful bay of Unawatuna. There are many tours that you can take from Unawatuna to suit all tastes. The turtle hatchery is less than 20 minutes away, as is Koggala Lake where you can take a relaxing boat trip on the Lagoon and visit some of the small islands situated there. A three to four day tour will take you to Ella with its waterfalls, Nuwara Eliya with its tea plantations and greenery. The 'Temple of the Tooth' at Kandy and the nearby 'Elephant Orphanage' are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing