We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay during 12 day trip in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Grove
Ranked #2 of 144 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best stay during 12 day trip in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

The guesthouse is tucked away so you avoid all the noise yet still steps away from the beach. The owner is great, very helpful, offering to take care of sourcing drinks for us, laundry etc.. The rooms are extremely comfortable, spacious, nice towels. The best part is the terrace where you can chill out and help yourself to your drinks next to you in the honesty fridge ... it is as if you are in your own home. And the Wi Fi actually works! Highly recommend Palm Grove.

Room Tip: Guest house is down a very narrow alley way. Unless you have an exact map, worth a 100 rs tuk tuk r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdventurJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
113
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Just a few minutes to the beach of Unawatuna, but most of all this place is a fantastic oasis, thanks to the beautiful position (almost inside a jungle of palms), and the magnificent garden, with amazing trees, flowers and plants. You can relax in the two silent terraces, before taking a walk to find some nice restaurant where having dinner. The rooms are big enough, clean, and provided with useful mosquito net - by the way, mosquitos in this area are really unbearable. Just one recommendation: the owners were not there when we stayed, because they live in UK. Although we had booked in advance, we had some moments of panic, before contacting the next guesthouse's owners, who have the keys of the rooms, and are the reference for everything. We believe that a better organisation would be arranged, because the clients can get confused.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

The guest house is beautifully maintained,clean, with beautiful flowers, plants and tree.
there is a stunning roof terrace where you can stay up among the palms and the flowers.
The room was big,bright,clean,super comfy beds, good A/C and/or fans, hot water, four big white flufffy towels.
Excellent value, in a good position ( not too far to the beach).
Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sdesideria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Pretty hotel and courtyard. Not what we were expecting though. Firstly we thought it would be a lot closer to the beach - not so much. Secondly we read that it would have a balcony - wh is a bit of an exaggeration. You have windows that open and you can climb out of (Once you've moved the chairs from outside) and then move the chairs around and sit outside the room. Not quite a balcony. We also didnt realise the owner wasn't there for half of the year so there is no staff around and just feels like a bit of a weird place to stay. Fans are also awful - rooms feel a lot hotter not being by the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

An excellent place to chill out. Pick an upstairs room as the downstairs one is probably a bit dark. There are two separate communal spaces with fans, chairs, a hammock, wifi and a drinks fridge that works on an honesty basis. Paul was a great host and couldn’t have done more for us. Be aware that aircon costs an extra 1,000 rupees per night, but overall Palm Grove is still value for money.

It’s good to be far enough away from the bars and noise along the beach, though they’re only a short walk when you do want to go down there.

Room Tip: Any upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank apteryx055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

After being somewhat disappointed with the general standard of accommodation in Sri Lanka it was a relief to find such a spacious, clean and welcoming spot. The rooms are large and clean though the family room downstairs is a bit dark.

The outdoor chillout areas are wonderful; a hammock and fan are all you need to while away a day or more. Not especially close to the beach but it's not a great beach anyway.

We had breakfast most days at Jina's vegetarian restaurant just down the road. It's cheaper and there's a great selection if you're sick of the usual eggs, toast and jam.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glenclova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

this is nice place if you are on tight budget.no frills.very basic.according to the owner "cheap and cheerful".the room i slept in had a fan which did not work properly. I could have turned it faster!you have to pay extra for AC.but i think if the fan worked, there wont be an issue. I was told that all rooms have a ceiling fan plus a pedestal which we didn't get. also there was no cloths hangers so be prepared to throw your towel over a chair.
if you are travelling by taxi...please ask your driver to go very slowly as you will miss the sign board as its on the left side of the road.

Room Tip: ask for the AC'd rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhea82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 144 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunes Unawatuna Hotel
Dunes Unawatuna Hotel
#4 of 144 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Property: Palm Grove
Address: Egodawatte, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove is located in an idyllic village setting. Very quiet setting. Away from the nightlife but still within walking distance to all locations. Only a 10 minute stroll to the shops,bars,restaurants and the beautiful bay of Unawatuna. There are many tours that you can take from Unawatuna to suit all tastes. The turtle hatchery is less than 20 minutes away, as is Koggala Lake where you can take a relaxing boat trip on the Lagoon and visit some of the small islands situated there. A three to four day tour will take you to Ella with its waterfalls, Nuwara Eliya with its tea plantations and greenery. The 'Temple of the Tooth' at Kandy and the nearby 'Elephant Orphanage' are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing