We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, clean,well run place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brinkhouse Guest House
Ranked #39 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Welcoming owner, crystal clean room and best breakfast we had in SriLanka. Don´t be confused by first view of hotel, it is really good. To beach you have to cross the street, but it is not far, or too busy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michalek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 68 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for New Year's Eve 2 nights The couple who run the guest house are amazing So friendly and helpful. The guy was walking around with large bottles of water putting them in rooms for free ! They arranged a Tuk Tuk , to take us to Mirrisa for whale watching. Pick up was 445am. They had both got up and made us a breki to take with us. It was still dark , but they were smiling, waving us off

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauldoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just wanted to say thank you for such a lovely stay at Brinkhouse! The owners were lovely and we especially loved the breakfast on our balcony while watching the monkeys! We will definitely come back and recommend Brinkhouse to all of our friends traveling to Sri Lanka :)

Warm regards,

Heather

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for two-nights in late-September 2012. Rooms are clean and well-kept, breakfast was lovely (with the added perk of it being brought up to you every morning!) and the guesthouse was a good distance away from the road - away from the buzz of tuc-tucs whizzing up-and-down the main road during the night.

The crowning feature of this guesthouse was the friendliness of the staff - always willing to help and full advise on things to do and see in the area.

Cannot recommend highly enough - Unawatuna is a place you do not want to miss off your map when in Sri Lanka, and Brinkhouse is a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The deluxe room, which was around Rp.1000 more per night than a standard room is a good shout, the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashraf I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayedhere for the second time in a month on my return visit to unawatuna. Was given the best room in the whole place and it really was great.! Breakfast is so tasty and such a pleasure to watch the monkeys in the trees whilst eating on the balcony. Very helpful and friendly owners.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had originally booked and planned to stay for 3 days, but only stayed for one. We were immediately disappointed upon arriving. In fact, our driver suggested that we go elsewhere, but since we had already booked we opted to give it a try. After we did a bit of research, we learned that we could get an ocean front room with air conditioning for between 500 and 1000 rupees less than we were paying at Brinkhouse, given the time of year we were staying.

The grounds were not well maintained or groomed. The guesthouses on either side were beautifully landscaped.

The rooms do not have any air conditioning and so are extremely hot and stifling. We had one small window near the back of the room and the door open for air circulation, but it was HOT.

The room was clean, but dark. The bathroom had mold, mildew and rust along with a broken light socket and exposed wires. You do expect some mildew in a tropical environment, but this was well above the amount we expected to find. Towels provided for the shower were threadbare.

We had been communuicating with this guesthouse via email prior to our arrival and also used the website extensively. Unfortunately, there was an extreme language barrier with the caretakers (owners?) when we arrived and it was clear that they had not been the ones writing the emails.

The entry driveway is very narrow and our driver was unable to get his minivan down. As we walked down with our bags, we were approached in a rather rude and standoffish way and had extreme difficulty communicating that we indeed had a reservation. There was also a miscommunication regarding the included breakfast. At 9am, we set out in search of tea and food with no acknowledgement. Upon our return, the caretakers were very upset to learn that we had already eaten - but there had not been any breakfast prepared for us, and no tea was available? It was confusing.

The location is great. It is across the street from beautiful Unawatuna Beach and the lovely Indian Ocean. We found a beach spot where we could rent lounge chairs for the day for $200 rupees, including washroom and changing facilities and beach umbrellas. There are lots of restaurants along this road.

Be aware that there is no ATM in Unawatuna (nearest one is in Galle) and most of the stores/restaurants accept only cash.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

BrinkHouse does not look as the best location on the map... But this is not true: Instead of water you got the jungle and I have never been to another place where you sit eating your lovely breakfast watching hords of monkeys in the trees and monitors slithering in the water.

The rooms are basic, but neat and the hosts are friendly and provide you with good service. The breakfast is a mix of local and english/continental and with plenty of food and fresh fruit is a perfect way to explore the neighbourhood. The beach is close, but far enough so one has plenty of privacy. The WIFi is also a must have.

So all in all a lovely place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0 mi away
Black Beauty Guesthouse
Black Beauty Guesthouse
#33 of 161 in Unawatuna
195 reviews
0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
974 reviews
0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#22 of 34 in Unawatuna
91 reviews
0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
750 reviews
0 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 34 in Unawatuna
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brinkhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinkhouse Guest House

Address: Brinkhouse, Welledewalaya rd,, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: $15 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brinkhouse - Guesthouse is a Sri Lankan family atmosphere-run guest house in Unawatuna. Room services: three upstairs cleaned & large rooms with large balconies, attached bathrooms, fans, nets, furniture, refrigerator etc. One downstairs large cleaned room with large veranda. Foods: Sri Lankan meals. We serve high quality authentic Sri Lankan meals (rice & curry with different types of seafood) served on your balcony or veranda. Also different kinds of breakfasts with Sri Lankan fruits. Specialty Hoppers, Egg Hoppers, String Hoppers, Coconut Roties, etc with Sri Lankan high quality tea. Also continental breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brinkhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing