We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brinkhouse Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gloria Grand Hotel(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
$108
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
$81
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sergeant House(Unawatuna)
$146
$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
43
20
6
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
20
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningmosquito netunawatuna beachsri lankabeach towelshostspropertybalconygardenwifibackpackers
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 72 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

BrinkHouse does not look as the best location on the map... But this is not true: Instead of water you got the jungle and I have never been to another place where you sit eating your lovely breakfast watching hords of monkeys in the trees and monitors slithering in the water.

The rooms are basic, but neat and the hosts are friendly and provide you with good service. The breakfast is a mix of local and english/continental and with plenty of food and fresh fruit is a perfect way to explore the neighbourhood. The beach is close, but far enough so one has plenty of privacy. The WIFi is also a must have.

So all in all a lovely place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a well run guest house where you feel you get special attention,
Breakfast brought to your room,
balconies (watch out for the monkeys stealing your smalls)
transfers and taxis arranged
and a fridge in your room. where you pay for whatever you drink.
It's clean and the owners are around all the time so we felt secure as everyone has to pass their front door. Close Unawatuna beach. 1 min away it's great value for money,
lovely 4 poster bed with nets and a fan
we couldn't fault this place

Room Tip: our room upstairs at the front had a better outlook not a sea view but we could hear it
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webby208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Like previous reviewers have nothing but good things to say about this place. The room was clean, bright, cheap, had a balcony and beers in the fridge (at a very good price). The view from the balcony was great, facing into forest area (monkeys, crabs, water monitors, etc). But what really made this place was the owners... a lovely couple who brought us a delicious breakfast to our room each morning. They also let us join them for a tasty dinner on the celebration for sinhelese new year, explaining all the traditions and history - a great experience.

Room Tip: try and get the first floor if you can
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I just got back from staying at Brinkhouse and I can't say enough good things about our time there. The couple who run it are simply wonderful! They organized drivers at reasonable rates who always showed up on time and were very helpful during the tsunami evacuation. We enjoyed having our breakfast of fresh fruit, toast, eggs, juice and tea delivered to our balcony daily. We had late check-out at 6pm and they made us roti etc before we went, neither of which they charged us for. It's located hardly a minute from the beach and you can walk along to all the bars and restaurants. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrottingchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Loved a lot of things about Brinkhouse, the location for instance - close to the beach and restaurants, but still at a comfortable distance from the bars playing music during the night. A family of 11 monkeys visited the trees on the property daily, which was a pleasant surprise! The owners are kind and trustworthy people, and were always doing their best to make our stay comfortable. They also serve a huge breakfast, which you can eat on your own little porch.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews