We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Flower Garden still best in the area for quality & value”

Hotel Flower Garden
Ranked #29 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow Flower Garden still best in the area for quality & value”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This place never fails to amaze us, after 5 years of staying & dining here it is still the best quality and value for money in Unawatuna. The choice is very good from steak to chicken to pork to seafood to past and of course Sri Lankan. The pizza yummy yummy. The price for the main course is inclusive of delicious starter of either soup or salad & dessert of ice cream or fruit salad. The wine list is quite extensive & very reasonably priced along with the beer, spirits & soft drinks. Sassi the owner is always on hand in the restaurant for a chat & feedback. if you are in Unawatuna you would be silly to miss out on great food at exceptional vale

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    42
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bland food not worthy of ranking”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were very disappointed with our meal at hotel flower garden. We've enjoyed many lovely meals across Sri Lanka and this was definitely one of the most disappointing considering what we read on trip advisor. Service was very bad- all young boys who didn't know what any of the dishes were on the menu and couldn't answer our questions about sauces etc. Not their fault, just clearly haven't been trained on the details of the menu. The food itself was very bland; the kind of standard you'd have at a bad all inclusive hotel buffet. The menu is extensive but they used the same sauce from one of the chicken dishes (red wine sauce with onions) on the seafood platter! I wouldn't recommend at all for those who enjoy fresh, flavoursome food, of which there is plenty available at other restaurants in the area. Probably would be decent and cheap option if you're travelling in a large group where there are mixed tastes, for the sake of ease.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBandHannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fantastic service”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The best places to eat in Unawatuna are, without doubt, Hotel Flower Garden, Kingfisher and Koko's.

Koko's does traditional British pub grub like burgers, fish & chips and pizza to a very high standard, their hospitality is excellent, and you can enjoy the sunshine or sunset with chairs and tables on the beach.

Hotel Flower Garden and Kingfisher's are a more upscale restaurant-style experience.

Hotel Flower Garden has the edge over Kingfisher's for cuisine food - we had the steak and the lobster, and on another night the fish and calamari. Excellent both times at both restaurants.

Kingfisher also has excellent food and wine, and is situated on the beach with a great view, but the intimacy of Hotel Flower Garden won it for us, and our daughter loved playing in the swimming pool whilst waiting for dinner.

Service was much better and faster at Hotel Flower Garden, and the owner and chef, Sassi, came out to talk to us and was very caring about the quality of food and the standard of our experience.

We were both completely bowled over by the incredibly high standard of cooking, the fact that the wines had been stored correctly and were served at the right temperature, and that the service was so excellent. They make incredible cocktails too - the margueritas and mojitos were both delicious, and made with the proper spirits (not the more local paint stripper alternatives) and with delicious fresh fruits and herbs.

Not only would I eat here again (every day!), my wife and I are very keen to stay here on our next trip to Sri Lanka and our daughters loved it, and loved being made a fuss of!

Fantastic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simonhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaroslavl, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“very nice guys!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

this restoran was in the hotel where i lived. what can i say. the stuff was realy very welcome and nice. restorant look the most clean and posh from all they have in unawatuna. breakfast was very nice there they always bring it to me with smile. the food for dinner was great also but a bit more expensive then others places. i ate there dinner few times with my friend. and in general bill for 2 person was like 30-40$ $ without alchohol.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lexa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, nice staff”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time enjoying our late afternoon at the balcony while watching the sunset. We also had a great chat with the friendly owner and enjoyed unexpected awesome dumplings for dinner. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dilflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Flower Garden also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Hotel Flower Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing