We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best Restaurant we visited in Sri Lanka”

Hotel Flower Garden
Ranked #29 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Restaurant we visited in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Definitely the best steak in Sri Lanka. Def not as good as Argentinian Steaks we eat in Spain, but still for Sri Lanka, these were great! For 1500 rupees, you get 3 courses. Not bad at all. The service was very good, staff are extremely friendly, lack a bit of flair and confidence, but that's fine. Wine is expensive everywhere in Sri Lanka, but you can't not have a bottle of wine to accompany the first steak we'd had in a month. We ate here again on our last night in Unawatuna.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CadizforniasurfJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    42
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay, slightly away from the main drag.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for six nights. Nice rooms and a lovely pool courtyard area. The food here is also great (the best we had in Unawatuna and we ended up regretting up eating elsewhere when we did). Certainly one of the best rice and curry buffets we had on the whole trip. Service also friendly and efficient. Can't really fault it at all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjamjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taarnby, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in Unawatuna”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The first time we went there we thought it was a bit pricy but when they offered free salad/soup as a starter and free ice cream for dessert it wasn't pricy at all. We went there four (!) times and tried both, the macheroni, lasagna, crabs, steaks, etc. and every meal was superb! We would lke to come back and stay at the hotel as well. The owner arranged a trip for us as well and they were very serviceminded!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindstrom116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place, decent service”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The atmosphere was really nice, it makes you feel like you're in the heart of nature. The chairs and tables and everything else weren't really clean though. Food wasn't really bad.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fadi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had two lovely meals here, very good value as a starter and dessert were included in the price of the main meal. Our little boy only wanted plain spaghetti and they didn't charge us for it, which was really generous of them. Service was fantastic, atmosphere and presentation also. We will hopefully stay here next year.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Flower Garden also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Hotel Flower Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing