We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine dining on the beach”
Review of Kingfisher

Kingfisher
Ranked #6 of 97 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kingfisher is a hotel and restaurant beautifully located on the crescent-shaped beach of Unawatuna in the Southern Coast of Sri Lanka. It’s origins run back to late 90’s. We have a designed lounge bar where you can relax and sip a cocktail and we offer a western and eastern menu at the restaurent. All our products are fresh and from the market everyday. We also have daily and weekly events: Every saturday night, we organise a party with dj's, music in live.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“fine dining on the beach”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

everything was great with this place: the location, the decor, the service and the food. When we got there we actually had to wait at the bar because it was packed (witch wasn't all bad: the Mojitos were superb). The food was really good, and it varies from Thai and local cuisine to a lot of western dishes. We had an excellent Bruschetta for starters, and the mains were divine: i had the shark steak (who knew?) witch was tender and flavorful, and my wife had an excellent Thai fish curry. It wasn't cheap[ (and they don`t accept credit cards so stack up cash in advance) but really worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank royassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    423
    171
    59
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food and great setting on the beach”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I went here during the Sihanalese New Year period.They were accommodating and let our two dogs stay with us. I ordered Green Thai Chicken Curry and my wife ordered the imported Australian beef which at 3000 rupees was a little expensive but when you are on holiday there are times that we forget about our daily budget and have a splurge. Both meals were very good so no complaints at all about the pricing. Can't really talk about the service as the restaurant was empty apart from another table so we did not have to wait long for our food. We ordered a glass a red wine which was served chilled as wine will spoil quickly if left at room temperature inthe tropics.
When back to Unawatuna I am sure we will go again to Kingfisher. The first time I came here was in 2008 and the food was good then. The second time being in 2010 and I didn't even bother going in as they were playing loud techno music to which I do not have a problem but Kingfisher should be a restaurant not a club. It is good that they have gone back to concentrating on food to which they are best at.
Regards
Michael n Kate

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 10-06-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A bit of a gamble”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

First couple of times we ate at Kingfisher the food was really good. The food is expensive but the quality was of a better standard than most of the other restaurants in the area. Unfortunately the last couple of times we ate there the food was terrible. We had the same dishes as we has previousley had and you couldn't have gotten two different meals if you had tried. It made it all the worse when we only ate half of the meal and the waiter asked if the food was OK. We mentioned is was pretty poor and he went away. Five minutes later he returned with our bill and that was it. No mention of a sorry or explanation at all. If you have money to burn give it a go and you might have a nice meal. If not head elsewhere where the food is cheaper and consistant

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickersBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citta di Castello, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Beach Restaurant”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have dined here several times in the last nine months or so and have enjoyed every meal. The menu is as varied as can be expected in a small place, freshly and well cooked. The only disappointment was not getting a table at short notice: Kingfisher seemed to be the only fully-booked place in Unawatuna, which speaks well of it. The prices are in line with what one would expect in a tourist place in Sri Lanka.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cedric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious food and first class service”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We went to the kingfisher after chatting to one of the waiters. He recommended we go and on arrival he had organised the best table in the house for us, right on the sea front.

Throughout our meal and evening he was extremely attentive and informative, providing spot on recommendations! We started the evening with some nice mojito cocktails and ordered jumbo prawns which were not only huge but also delicious.

We are out 5 nights in Unawatuna and although a little more expensive it was the most memorable.

Namel our waiter could not have done more for us. A true example of great customer service and a true gentleman. Thank you for making our night so enjoyable!


  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairesmithlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing