We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Full Moon Beach Resort
Ranked #37 of 152 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Good location, right on the beach with good beach beds which we used several times but we ate there only once and it was not worth trying again.
bad food and sweat smelling servant.
There are lots of other good restaurants on the beach so no need to waste money on this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Didn't stay here as we had a room elsewhere in Una, but this was one of our favourite places to eat during our trip - although the service could be a bit hit and miss at times. We were a bit curried-out after a few days so it was nice to have something different - generous portions of fillet steak with pepper sauce for about £4. They do an admirable gin and tonic too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Swifty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

6 of us stayed here for 9 nights last month and really enjoyed it, The FM is in a great spot right on the beach, The rooms are basic but fine for the price, although you do have to ask for your room to be cleaned. Breakfast is limited to 3-4 options but again is fine. The staff are very friendly and could not have done more for us during our stay. The Friday night disco is very loud next door until 04:00am but this was no problem for us as we were in it! Would return again.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the bar next door as they are quieter. Check aircon is working once you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The location was fantastic! We could just walk out our door to the beach. Unawatuna is where you go if you're in need of a western fix. Full Moon had pizza, pasta, salads, all that and it was delicious. We were lucky enough to get a family suite for the two of us so we had a loft for our bed and an extra bed on the "lower level". Great times! The only thing is that at night, there are bars on the beach so there is music going until as late as 7am. Full Moon can't do anything about that, so just be aware that you can hear it! We turned the AC on and fans, so we barely heard anything.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandSteph2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

If you want some "western food" during your stay in Sri Lanka, this is the place to be! We had the best carbonara ever. Creamy, tasty, saucy. Of course, we tried the other dishes: all of good quality, fresh and tasty. The Devilled beef is really devilled! Spicy at wish!
It's a perfect spot for a candelit dinner on the beach. Your nearly have the feet in the waves... So refreshing!
Breakfast is also very good. A perfect opportunity to book a sunbed. Because it's rare to find a free one after 10am on Unawatuna beach. And believe me, umbrellas and shade are mostly welcome.
That's to say, the service is often chaoitc and slow. But always friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aralya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We enjoyed our 4 night stay in Full Moon Resort. The rooms were clean and cleaned daily, there was a mosquito net and mosquito coils to deter them. This was very welcome after being eaten alive in our previous hotel. The staff were friendly at helpful and the food is good. We would have liked if the bar area was open later at night, its seems a waste for customers to go and spend their money elsewhere. Also we werent told that they only take cash so that was a bit unexpected. Otherwise Full Moon is value for money.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
Thank ACM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Full Moon offers some of the best pasta and dining on Unawatuna beach. Get there early and you can dine on a candlelit table on the sand. The service is chaotic at best and most likely, your bill will have at least 20% of what you ordered missing. We resorted to going to get our own beers rather than waiting for them to arrive. All the food is pretty good but I particularly recommend the Spaghetti Carbonara. It's probably the best I've had anywhere! If dining on the sand, watch out for sand flies. They bite. Hard! Ours irritated and annoyed us for the rest of the holiday. Three weeks!

Full moon is a good place for breakfast too and if you arrive before nine, you can reserve one of the few sunbeds. Try and get one under the tree because it's your only hope of shade! It's a great part of the beach for swimming. Unfortunately Unawatuna is close to being ruined by the same unplanned over development that killed nearby and awful Hikaduwa. If you visit Mirissa, you can only imagine how beautiful this beach once was.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaterwaysExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prime Time Hotel
Prime Time Hotel
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wimals Resort
Wimals Resort
#38 of 152 in Unawatuna
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
#2 of 142 in Unawatuna
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Beach Resort

Address: Yaddehimulla Rd, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $37 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Full Moon Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Full Moon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing