We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SurfCity Guesthouse
Ranked #71 of 146 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel will suit those on a budget. The rooms have ensuite, fan and mosquito net but are dark and have concrete floor. The hotel is very close to the sea and has a little bar/restaurant overlooking the sea but does not have a beach in front of it due to erosion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for SurfCity Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would highly recommend surf city. The hotel is located right next to the beach, which is very convenient and means that you are placed in a very beautiful setting. You could always hear the sound of the waves breaking it was beautiful. The hotel has a restaurant as well, which serves amazing food. Probably the best food I had in Una. The cook was also a lovely gentelmen who offered to teach us the dishes. The hotel owners were very helpful people who gave their honest opinons about other sites/places to eat, which made us feel very comfortable. Amazing guest house-ran by the most lovely people. Could't ask for more!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahdieh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

First off, ignore what the lonely planet says about anything/anywhere in Sri Lanka. Surf City is quite a good place to stay, and we got a very good deal staying here in the off-season. Some rooms do/don't have air-con/wifi/sea-view, so make sure you know what you do/don't have before you take the room. We didn't find the staff super-friendly although they did help us out with what bus to take to Ella. The hotel is not as close to the beach as some others, but it is still very close. When we stayed they were renovating the bar so we had to use the sun lounger and bar facilities elsewhere, but wasn't really a big issue. Nice hotel, would probably stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had stayed with my husband in June 2013 and rooms are basically 20 seconds away from the beach. Clean rooms with comfortable beds. This is just basic hotel what ever we need. Staff are super freindly and the receptonist speaks good English.Higly recommened.

Room Tip: Room 5 have wondeful view of Unawatuna bay.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here in Dec 2012, took me ages to get around writing this. Great place with fantastic staff and milkshake the best dog ever. Rooms are basic but clean and more that worth what you pay. Really close to the beach (like 5 seconds) perfect! Going back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We struggled to find the guesthouse and the staff who we met were unfriendly. It has a good location very close to the beach but we returned to the room on the evening to find a cockroach crawling along the bed. Struggled to sleep with the noise outside although the room was cool as we got a/c. Weird shower in the bedroom instead of In the bathroom. Glad we were only staying one night.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Clubbers91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Surf city has become a yearly must for me, It has become my 2nd home.
All the staff will go out of their way to make your stay as special as they can, any problems will be put right as soon as humanly possible. The restaurant serves some of the nicest Sri Lankan foods you can get.
Relaxation is the key word for Surf City, everything you will need for a beach holiday is at arms length, the Beach, Bar, food and staff. You can just soak up the sun all day and staff will look after you. This is the place for those who want a holiday at a slow pace, Sri Lankans do not hurry in life and it is the way here.
You are only a stranger once at Surf City!

Room Tip: The swimming pool is excellent, better known as the INDIAN OCEAN
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.0 mi away
Little Villa Hotel
Little Villa Hotel
#102 of 146 in Unawatuna
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bedspace Beach
Bedspace Beach
#14 of 146 in Unawatuna
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Full Moon Beach Resort
Full Moon Beach Resort
#35 of 146 in Unawatuna
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Veranda di Serena
La Veranda di Serena
#22 of 146 in Unawatuna
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wimals Resort
Wimals Resort
#40 of 146 in Unawatuna
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SurfCity Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SurfCity Guesthouse

Address: Parangiyawatta 275 | Peelagoda, Unawatuna 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $23 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SurfCity Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SurfCity Guesthouse is located right on the beautiful Unawatuna beach offering a very relaxed atmosphere within comfortable walking distance to the Unawatuna village with shops and a nice selection of original Sri Lankan restaurants.At our SurfCity Guesthouse visitors do find friendly Sri Lankan hospitality with clean and comfortable economy,superior and family rooms comes with Sea view.Surfcity offers free internet, airport pickup (surcharge) and has a best restaurant called Black and White restaurant on the beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your SurfCity Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfcity Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing