We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SurfCity Guesthouse
Ranked #68 of 146 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This guesthouse is okay but nothing special, especially when compared to the price. Our room was full of ants and the staff was unfriendly. We slept here for one night and wouldn't have liked to stay longer. The location is good if you like the beach but that's about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elinatuuliav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    51
    23
    9
    12
See reviews for
3
54
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is wonderful place to stay in Unawatuna. We had stayed 4 nights and rooms are very clean and very good for the price we paid. Staff are very helpful. I recommend to book he rooms before go SurfCity.

Room Tip: Roof Top room which has wonderful view of whole Unawatuna Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked through hostel bookers which never made it clear anywhere that we had just booked a fan room ( if we'd done it here we would have seen!), so we were disappointed to find we were only getting a fan room for 3000 rupees!
The rooms are pretty average really for the price, much more than we've paid anywhere else in Sri Lanka ! It's not right on the beach, doesn't really have a view and was disappointing to see what we could have got for the same money at other places!
If you have extra money to spend and are happy to get nothing for it, then it's okay. If you are on a budget and want to make your money go further, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellysulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you like to be by the beach with a nightclub playing outside rather than listen to the waves this is for you. The guys are overly helpful at night sometimes in the wrong way! The room was simple and slightly dirty and had lots of mosquitos.Very close to the beach

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alextravels88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Pretty helpful owner. There was lack of availability of rooms for the weekend while we had booked. He arranged alternate room for us in other hostel for the time he could not accomodate us. He also offered that we could stay in his house for free if he couldn't arrange for alternate rooms.

Rooms are pretty average to OK. Depending on which one you choose.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the opposite side (alternate site) of the main compound .. They have good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akshat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really friendly staff.
God spicy cheap kitchen.
Nice clean rooms compared to the price, we stayed there 8 nights.

If you like to dive then next door sea horse diver has a really great crew, i had 7 wonderful dives to a really great price.

If i should go to Unawatuna again i would go there no doubt.
Thanks fore a great time
Many greetings to the crew/staff to those 2 places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice, clean questhouse right at the beach. Simple bathroom and shower. We rent a toproof-suite with a balcony and a terrace, with beachview, really nice.
Really nice manager, Assad - good in english. He arranged a 3-day trip for us up to the hill country. We saw turtles, some viewpoints, teaplantations, End of the world, Kegalle, KAndy. We also saw the beatiful forrest and waterfalls in Nuwara Elie.

They arranged living, took us to nice restaurants, both really good local food buffes and nice restaurants. We also went shopping clothes and jewellery.

We had a driver and the manager Assad on this hotel was our guide. He´s really good in English and also very keen to fulfill the guests wishes.

We had a nice car with aircon.

I can really recommend to stay at this guesthouse and also ask them to arrange a trip for you. We saw moore in those three days with car and guide than we did in the rest of our two weeks in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Top roof suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWTripFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#23 of 32 in Unawatuna
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#16 of 32 in Unawatuna
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wimals Resort
Wimals Resort
#39 of 146 in Unawatuna
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
Blue Eyes Inn - Unawatuna
#1 of 130 in Unawatuna
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Veranda di Serena
La Veranda di Serena
#28 of 146 in Unawatuna
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kahuna Hotel
Kahuna Hotel
#20 of 146 in Unawatuna
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SurfCity Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SurfCity Guesthouse

Property: SurfCity Guesthouse
Address: Parangiyawatta 275 | Peelagoda, Unawatuna 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SurfCity Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SurfCity Guesthouse is located right on the beautiful Unawatuna beach offering a very relaxed atmosphere within comfortable walking distance to the Unawatuna village with shops and a nice selection of original Sri Lankan restaurants.At our SurfCity Guesthouse visitors do find friendly Sri Lankan hospitality with clean and comfortable economy,superior and family rooms comes with Sea view.Surfcity offers free internet, airport pickup (surcharge) and has a best restaurant called Black and White restaurant on the beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your SurfCity Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfcity Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing