We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy cheap hotel with cheesy staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of SurfCity Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SurfCity Guesthouse
Ranked #65 of 140 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Noisy cheap hotel with cheesy staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you like to be by the beach with a nightclub playing outside rather than listen to the waves this is for you. The guys are overly helpful at night sometimes in the wrong way! The room was simple and slightly dirty and had lots of mosquitos.Very close to the beach

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alextravels88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    51
    23
    9
    12
See reviews for
3
54
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Pretty helpful owner. There was lack of availability of rooms for the weekend while we had booked. He arranged alternate room for us in other hostel for the time he could not accomodate us. He also offered that we could stay in his house for free if he couldn't arrange for alternate rooms.

Rooms are pretty average to OK. Depending on which one you choose.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the opposite side (alternate site) of the main compound .. They have good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akshat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really friendly staff.
God spicy cheap kitchen.
Nice clean rooms compared to the price, we stayed there 8 nights.

If you like to dive then next door sea horse diver has a really great crew, i had 7 wonderful dives to a really great price.

If i should go to Unawatuna again i would go there no doubt.
Thanks fore a great time
Many greetings to the crew/staff to those 2 places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice, clean questhouse right at the beach. Simple bathroom and shower. We rent a toproof-suite with a balcony and a terrace, with beachview, really nice.
Really nice manager, Assad - good in english. He arranged a 3-day trip for us up to the hill country. We saw turtles, some viewpoints, teaplantations, End of the world, Kegalle, KAndy. We also saw the beatiful forrest and waterfalls in Nuwara Elie.

They arranged living, took us to nice restaurants, both really good local food buffes and nice restaurants. We also went shopping clothes and jewellery.

We had a driver and the manager Assad on this hotel was our guide. He´s really good in English and also very keen to fulfill the guests wishes.

We had a nice car with aircon.

I can really recommend to stay at this guesthouse and also ask them to arrange a trip for you. We saw moore in those three days with car and guide than we did in the rest of our two weeks in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Top roof suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWTripFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Let's be honest... It was ok and I probably shouldn't complain or expect too much, but I have to say it didn't quite meet my reasonable expectations. The room was basic but comfortable enough. I was pleased there was hot water; however, it only came out as a little trickle. Fortunately there's another cold water shower head which is larger. When we were there we were unfortunate to strike a power cut (which didn't affect everything in the area, which makes me wonder...). Fortunately they gave us a candle and soon after the lights came back. BUT it was still disappointing that there wasn't much hot water and later the cold water ran out too! (This kind of frustrating experience makes for bad reviews!) The door in the room said check out was at noon, but when we went down around 11.15, were told it was actually 11. We were just given enough time to clear out of our rooms but managed to pay to extend it by a few hours (whether or not that was worth it for our own cold shower, I'm not sure). The staff were helpful enough but not overly. It was good that there was free WiFi and bath towels (and do I need to mention toilet paper?) but that's about it, as they didn't even provide a piece of soap. Good for basic accommodation if you're happy to put with anything. Oh, on the positive, the location is very good as you can virtually step across to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sriwichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I first travelled alone to Sri Lanka and so glad to have stumbled upon Surfcity guesthouse. The staff here are friendly and helpfull not only with my travel plans but in making me feel at home. I have come back many times since with friends and with my partner and continue to be well looked after. The staff from the restuarant even helped arrange a BBQ for my birthday to be held in the bar downstairs. The rooms are good value for money given their location.I have now stayed in most of the rooms all of which are comfortable and clean. It can be arranged to put an extra bed in some of the rooms which is handy if there is a 3 of you as you can save money by sharing. When I stay there with my partner we always get one of the rooms in the frount building which have the most comfortable mattresses I have ever slept on in Sri Lanka and hot water for just a little extra.There are many guests staying who return here year after year (one guy has been coming for over 10 years) and many spend more than just a few nights here, they like myself consider it to be a home from home. If you are looking for somewhere right on the beach and affordable then please check it out, friendly staff, great food and (in my opinion) the best beach in Sri Lanka right under your feet !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starburstsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Surfcity's main advantage is its location, it is almost literally on the beach, only a few steps away. It is a budget hotel, so don't expect luxury, but the kind staff makes up for the incompleteness of the rooms. The restaurant belonging to the hotel has excellent food, tried both breakfast and dinner. Plus the only drinkable coffee in the whole country.

If you can, book in the new building, there the rooms are considerably better quality!

Recommended!

Room Tip: If you can, book in the new building, there the rooms are considerably better quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szilva_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.0 mi away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#22 of 29 in Unawatuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wimals Resort
Wimals Resort
#31 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Full Moon Beach Resort
Full Moon Beach Resort
#36 of 140 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingfisher Hotel
Kingfisher Hotel
#14 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SurfCity Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SurfCity Guesthouse

Property: SurfCity Guesthouse
Address: Parangiyawatta 275 | Peelagoda, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SurfCity Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SurfCity Guesthouse is located right on the beautiful Unawatuna beach offering a very relaxed atmosphere within comfortable walking distance to the Unawatuna village with shops and a nice selection of original Sri Lankan restaurants.At our SurfCity Guesthouse visitors do find friendly Sri Lankan hospitality with clean and comfortable economy,superior and family rooms comes with Sea view.Surfcity offers free internet, airport pickup (surcharge) and has a best restaurant called Black and White restaurant on the beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your SurfCity Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfcity Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing