We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice - value for money with excellent view from roof top room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SurfCity Guesthouse
Ranked #82 of 155 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed parents and 13 year old daugther 4 + 5 nights in two different rooms. Best was the roof top room because of the excellent view of Unawatuna Bay. A/C is not efficienty in any of the rooms (roof top and no. 6) and bed madrasses should be changed in the roof top room - much too soft.
Service good - also in the restaurant right on the beach.

Room Tip: Roof top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteenDam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 149 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very basic rooms (cold shower, concrete floors) but clean linen and secure windows/doors. And a perfect location! Not right on the waters edge (like some other hotels in Unawatuna), but perfectly on the beach edge, with restaurant/bar. If you're there for the beach and not the room, then Surf City fits the bill perfectly!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Surf City is conveniently located. Bar & restaurant is right on the beach. Highly recommend ordering a Pina Colada (about 450rupees)--made with freshly juiced pineapple and coconut. No sweetners added! A cup of awesomeness!

Basic rooms (no A/C and no hot water) were clean and just right for our stay. We stayed here for 4 nights (at the end of January) so there was no need for neither one of these. We opted out of breakfast option.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SovChhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed at Surf City Guest House in Unawatuna for 5 nights in January of 2012, and had a lovely experience there. I payed 2,800 rupees for a fan room, including breakfast for 2 people. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the bathroom very clean as well. The room backed onto a communal balcony that had a fairly nice view, and was a nice spot for socializing with other guests. Some of the rooms are very large, and some not so much, so take a look at various rooms before you decide.

The best thing about Surf City however was the wonderful staff. The manager is very accommodating and is eager to please all of his guests. Since we stayed for 5 nights he was willing to bring the price down for us, and showed us a few different rooms before we decided on one. The restaurant serves excellent food (the battered calamari was my favorite), and the waiters are friendly and so eager to get to know the guests. The restaurant staff even contacted someone for us to arrange a whale watching tour in Mirissa (a must-do), and helped us to organize our transportation back to Galle as well. The location of the guest house is also great, and there are some loungers on the beach right out front available for the day. From what I observed, this is the best budget accommodation in Unawatuna. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This guesthouse was so good that I had to write a review about them. Immediately when I arrived with my girlfriend to Unawatuna and to SurfCity we felt super relaxed. We ended up spending there ten days. The staff helped us with everything; bus timetables, places to visit, etc. and were extremely helpful. My girlfriend had a birthday and the staff did excellent job to make that important day one of the best ones in my life. They arranged kayak, yoga lessons, an awesome chocolate b'day cake that made my girlfriend the happiest girl ever and created a whole party around us. I truly can recommend this guesthouse to everybody :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JariVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had stayed 4 days in SurfCity Guesthouse and we always felt home. The staff were very helpful. The room rate is very economical and room are very clean.

Room Tip: Top floor and Suites - Direct viwe of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We were lucky to find this place when we got of the bus from Tissa. The guest house is just by the beach and they have a nice restaurant ON the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Always smiling, saying hello and helping out when they could. Made us feel very welcome! The WiFi in the lobby is good, and in the room OK. Our room was clean, though the red sand floor made our bathroom floor very dirty just after a day - but nothing to complain about, they would probably have helped if we had asked! Unawatuna was a nice place, pretty beach, just the right amount of restaurants - it was very laid back and nice. We recomend SurfCity

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannaGabrielsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#5 of 33 in Unawatuna
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SurfCity Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SurfCity Guesthouse

Address: Parangiyawatta 275 | Peelagoda, Unawatuna 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $25 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SurfCity Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SurfCity Guesthouse is located right on the beautiful Unawatuna beach offering a very relaxed atmosphere within comfortable walking distance to the Unawatuna village with shops and a nice selection of original Sri Lankan restaurants.At our SurfCity Guesthouse visitors do find friendly Sri Lankan hospitality with clean and comfortable economy,superior and family rooms comes with Sea view.Surfcity offers free internet, airport pickup (surcharge) and has a best restaurant called Black and White restaurant on the beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your SurfCity Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfcity Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing