We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thaproban Beach House
Nearby Hotels
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
$73
$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thambapanni Retreat(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
$60
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
$34
$33
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
999 results
Traveler rating
579
285
78
33
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
285
78
33
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousesister hotelhotel dogsri lankafresh seafoodsuperior roomsea viewtunasea foodfirst floorstayed for nightsmosquito netthe ground floorlovely roomprawnsspecial thanksthambapanni retreat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
697 - 702 of 999 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We have just returned from a two week trip to Sri Lanka, spending the last 6 nights at the Thaproban. We had two nights in one of the penthouse rooms. Very spacious, clean and with great views. We didn't need the extra bedroom, but would be perfect for those that do. We then moved to a superior room at the front, again great views....balcony overlooking outside restaurant area and the bay.
We had a number of meals at the hotel including breakfast all of a good standard.
Staff as menmtioned in a previous review very attentive and helpful without being overbearing.
Location was perfect for us, on the beach but within easy access of Galle, which was a 10 minute Tuk Tuk ride away. Numerous other great restaurants in the vicinity.
A recently refurbished well run establishment. As the hotel is in the centre of the village be prepared for a little noise from surrounding bars/hotels, mostly loud music, though this did tend to stop before midnight. It's a minor point but worth mentioning if you were looking for absolute peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinnamon-bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

After staying in a few hotels around Sri Lanka, we were quite disillusioned about the quality and comfort of anywhere in the country that wasn't a 'resort'. Then we came to Unawatuna, which in itself is a lovely beach town with a great atmosphere, and stayed in what is now our favourite hotel of our round the world trip. The staff were friendly and attentive without being overbearing, the room was lovely (I would definitely recommend spending the little extra for the deluxe room as the standard room wasn't nearly as nice) and had a lovely balcony and great wet room. Having breakfast every morning by the sea was a great way to start the day, and we loved it here. Wifi was decent enough and the food was reasonably priced compared to other restaurants in the area, and pretty tasty. We also really liked the romantic four poster bed with mosquito net, and the turn down service with flowers was a really nice touch. The woman at reception was our favourite member of staff and had the best, most genuine handshake ever! We will definitely come back to Sri Lanka - mainly for Unawatuna and this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davixens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Thaproban is a luxurious hotel right on the beach. It is fairly new, very well furnished and has all the mod cons you may need. The most memorable thing about it is its staff - all were genuinely warm, welcoming and helpful.

The restaurant is top notch and serves fresh grilled fish and seafood every night. We stayed in a luxury room split over 2 floors for which we paid $100 per room, less than £40 per person.

I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatherineMReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We liked Thaproban and Unawatuna so much that we spent the majority of our vacation here. Hotel is beautifully designed, rooms are comfortable, and the restaurant has great food/value. We stayed here with our 2 children. The staff was fantastic with all of us! Unawatuna has a lovely beach and plenty of small sites that kept us busy for a week. I felt so relaxed here and pleased that I found this great hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRanch_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The rooms at Thaproban are clean and comfortable, with stylish furnishings. They are great value by international standards, though a little expensive for Unawatuna. We looked at a few places and considered this well worth the extra $15 a night - the privacy, the cleanliness, the location etc all made it worthwhile.

On our last night we had to switch from a quiet room on the first floor to a noisy room in the breakfast area (which, admittedly, did open almost right onto the beach, as a consolation) which was the same price. Our friends said their room (above the restaurant) was a little noisy too. Ask to see the different rooms and check the noise for yourself.

The staff were very friendly without being overbearing. The turn down service man did amazing things with flowers to decorate the beds!

A lovely week - take a look!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews