We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good, the bad and the ugly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thaproban Beach House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
“The good, the bad and the ugly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

The Thaproban was all round an excellent hotel but....... there was an incident where cash and a camera were stolen from the hotel, undoubtably by a staff member. The manager agreed it could only be a staff member but really did not take the problem seriously. Itis a small hotel and with a small staff and you need to be able to trust that your room is sacred. An unfortunate occurance that soured our feelings about the hotel and warning to others that a thief is about.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Public Relations Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback about Thaproban beach house.
About the stolen cash and camera, the management had taken this matter very seriously and couple of staff members have been sent home after a series of investigations. Also to avoid any such occurrence in future we have installed CCTV camera system at both our hotels.
The management apologizes to any inconvenience caused by this incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    246
    69
    23
    21
See reviews for
180
406
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

Everything was perfect. We were with our 3 kids in one of the suite and the nice thing is that the kids had a separate bedroom inside the suite. Very relaxing time, the restaurant was perfect with the fish you can chose fresh from the day and then they cook it for you. It was really a very nice place and the people working there were very nice with our kids.
A place I recommend absolutely!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frichdewagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

I made a mistake with my booking and they were very kind to keep our booking open for the correct dates that we wanted, but we unfortunately had to leave early, so my review is based on the 1 night we stayed, we had a superior room with sea views which was great, but the room was very dirty, even the towels had blood stains on them and the floor looked like it had never been washed, the bed is very hard but most of all there is a thumping disco 2 doors away that plays very loud dance music until 4 am!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oysterdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Thaproban Management Team at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Dear Mr and Mrs Rob Folks,

We had many guests staying in the same superior room in April and non of the guests complained about dirty floors etc.. It’s surprising to hear that the beds were uncomfortable since our beds and all mattresses were replaced newly after the hotel refurbishment about one and half years ago.

If you find the floors dirty and the towels with stains, the reception is one call away from your room and we can send our room boys to get anything done to your satisfaction as we believe our guests are the kings.( We have our own Laundry service and all towels and linen are washed before they are put in the rooms). We have our General manager, Assistant manager and supervisors to look in to any issues which might occur to our guests during their stay.

About the Disco, there are parties happening in Unawatuna on weekends and special holidays, unfortunately you stayed with us for one night which was a Saturday night and if you stayed with us one more night you would have experienced your holiday in a different way. The disco noise is not very disturbing once you close the room and switch on the air conditioning as the disco is not played next door!

However the Management has taken steps to clean all the rooms thoroughly so that we won’t have any doubts about the cleanliness of the rooms.

We wish we had been able to make their stay happier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Thaproban Beach House is a very nice hotel right in the center of Unawatuna beach. My wife and I stayed in one of the penthouse rooms with our 9 month old daughter. The penthouse rooms have a bathroom, large bedroom and ocean-view deck on the first level and another bedroom on the second level. The views are amazing from every window. There was a hard, but adequate bed in the main room and the staff had a crib for our daughter. The bathroom was clean and had a few single-serve toiletries.

The staff was very friendly and everybody wanted to help us out. There is free Wi-Fi at the hotel. It didn't really reach all the way upstairs to the penthouse, but there are plenty of chairs in the open-air lobby.

Thaproban Beach House is in a great location on the beach. The back deck is literally over the breaking waves. This prevents you from sun tanning on the sand in front of the hotel, but there is plenty of sand in either direction. We only ate lunch at the hotel. It was a tasty curry meal for a decent price. I would recommend one meal at the hotel and the rest at other restaurants along the beach. You will get better diversity and prices elsewhere. Lucky Tuna and Kingfisher are EXCELLENT options. Do not miss Kingfisher. It's the most famous restaurant in Unawatuna and it does not disappoint.

Compared to the other hotels we saw on the beach, Thaproban seemed like one of the best options. Make sure to reserve a room with an ocean view and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ganks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed here for just a few nights last year and felt that I was in luck to chose such a gorgeous guest house to stay in for a few days. The rooms were very clean and simply decorated with timber and white linen I recall, my room opened out on to a balcony which over looked the Indian ocean.

I only ate breakfast at the hotel, but I recall it was very good. Staff were courteous and friendly.

Have recommended this place to many and will continue to do so. If ever I return to Unawatuna I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smoodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstey, Leicester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed here for four nights and wish it might have been for longer.
Every moment felt like a honey moon!
The staff were friendly and attentive and genuinely interested in us as people. The manager was very good, he spoke to every resident each day to ensure that everything was alright.
Our room was comfortable, with new air conditioning installed and there was plenty of hot water at all times.
The food was very good and therefore we chose to eat there for most meals.
We had a lovely stay and will definitely be returning another year.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris mccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltern
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

A lovely, small hotel right by the sea. The staff are extremely friendly. A special thanks to Priyantha and Nalinda for making my birthday so special. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The food is amazing! I highly recommend the Sri-Lankan breakfast.
The only thing to critisize is the billing. We were able to pay in USD via credit card online in advance. At the hotel itself this was not possible. Payment by credit card is then only possible in Rupees and at the hotel exchange rate, which is quite unfavourable for the guests!!! This fact is not conveyed to the guests in advance, so check when paying your bills!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_handa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Property: Thaproban Beach House
Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing