We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from 15 days at the Thaproban and have had an amazing time. All staff were the nicest people we have met during extensive travel. The food, accomodation and situation were all excellent. While in Unawatuna we met up with our son who was moored in the Port and he and the crew were welcomed by all the staff. Organisation of trips was efficient and airport transfer trouble free.
My husband visited the retreat for treatment and was impressed with the service. Definitely proved a good decision to book here.
The best lobster thermidor ever!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinrossScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 959 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2010

We spent 4 night at the Thaproban beach house and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is right on the beach, the staff is very friendly and the hotel is very clean. A special thank you to Sehan, the manager who is treating all the clients like VIPs and also to Samatha the chef who cooks anything you like and I can say that his cuury is the best I've ever had.
If you stay at the Thaproban beach house, you can also enjoy the swimming pool and the Ayurvedic massage at the Thambapanni Retreat which is their upper class hotel only 10 minutes walk. Thambapanni is also a wonderful place in the middle of a tropical garden, very quiet and relaxing. We will definitly go back to this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We had our original holiday plans were wrecked the week before we were due to leave so we ended up in Sri Lanka by pure good luck. Before arriving in Unawatuna we had spent time exploring the historic north and we were ready to chill out.

Unawatuna and Thaproban delivered everything we were looking for, the location is great, right on the beach, but the best thing was the way we were looked after. Everyone from the restuarant, the bar, the cleaners, everyone was so incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malstonbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

we stayed in a hotel just along the beach, but enjoyed evening meals most nights at the Thaproban. we found the food excellent!!!! and the staff and management very helpful, friendly and entertaining. we was also given a fantastic birthday night for one of our group, and enjoyed a beautiful afternoon at there other hotel as invited guest to use there swimming pool. all in all FANTASTIC !!!! well done to the thaproban for your high standards and excellent service you really made our holiday. from Nicola, Stuart, Josh, emma, and Demi. see you next year x

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottyFrintonOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Very nice and clean rooms. The house is directly on the beach. Very friendly and good trianed stuff. They serve delicious food - especially the cuttle fish was great, they always have fresh fish, prawns, lobster... and a good choice of wines.
The beach of Unawatune was very crowded. If you are looking for a lonely beach go to Tangalla - but there you don't find an accomodation like this.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veitgenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

On the plus side, the rooms are very clean and nicely done. Our toilet and air con broke more than once but this was sorted out very quickly.

The location is good- right in the middle of the beach- but the actual hotel has no more than 2 foot of sand outside so we were forced to sunbathe outside other hotel/ restaurants.

The food was perhaps one of the most disappointing things. Probably one of the priciest places to eat but we found the quality very poor. We ate at the hotel on the first night but didn't want to again. However, we were told upon booking that we had to pay $25 a person for the new year buffet which was average to say the least. Other places had buffets for $5 and we felt very upset by the quality and selection of food. No drinks were included so we ended up paying a lot for some cold curry and over cooked fish.

For me, the most upsetting thing was the attitude of some of the staff. Whilst one or two were charming (especially the Manager and GM) others were simply rude. The language barrier probably didn't help but we felt as if basic standards of politeness were totally ignored. Some waiters seem to think they were doing us a favour by serving us.

Altogether, a good location but we would not return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claphamcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed at TBH for 11 nights including Christmas and it was fantastic. Spacious room, helpful staff, great location and good food.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nociderthanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
834 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
733 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 34 in Unawatuna
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 34 in Unawatuna
465 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 34 in Unawatuna
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $70 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing