We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior room overlooking the road?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superior room overlooking the road?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have booked 2 rooms of different types: one Superior and one Deluxe room.
But the hotel provides two absolutely similar rooms, with no difference.
The Superior room is situated right above the busy road with the windows overlooking it. There is no sea view, even partly, as it was mentioned in room description.
More then that, as we found out there are another four rooms, rated as Superior, but with the full sea view balconies.
So the room overlooking the road is quoted the same rate as one overlooking the ocean (with no over difference) and the rate for two same rooms (Superior and Deluxe in our booking) differ in 1,5 times. The hotel staff can't explain the point. The hotel manager did not find opportunity to talk to us. Very poor service. The hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    249
    70
    24
    21
See reviews for
183
413
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have just left after spending 10 wonderful days at the Thaproban hotel. The location is great right on the beach, the room are simple but clean, comfortable beds and the staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was good, and the restaurant is in a great setting, on the beach with nice lighting and ambience. I would have liked to see more Sri Lankan dishes on the menu, the prawns were delicious.
We had one of the ground floor beach facing superior rooms, which was good value for money and perfect for people like us travelling with young children, we could have dinner overlooking the beach when the kids were in bed at night. Also being able to access the pool at the Thaprobans sister hotel was a real bonus.

Room Tip: Ground floor (rooms 1 and 2), highly recommended for people travelling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thechacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed for one night at Thaproban Beach house in Unawatuna. The beach was splendid, the location of the hotel spot on and the views from the balcony of our penthouse room was stunning. To offset this, the service, especially when compared to other sri lankan hotels, was very average to say the least.

Pros :

1. Location. The hotel is right on the beach and the view from the room was amazing. The weather was pleasant and rained at times making the sea look even more stunning. The sea is one of the clearest we have seen in Sri lanka and many folks were out bathing most times of the day. The location and the views from the room was in fact the only reason for voting this as "very good" instead of "average" wrt overall rating.

2. Spacious rooms and balcony. Also ease of transportation with many tuk tuk drivers waiting right outside the hotel, whether for a trip into galle or anywhere else nearby.

Cons :

1. Poor service. Contrary to what some of the others here have said, we found the service to be indifferent to a very high extent and at times plain non existent. When we checked in, there was hardly any greeting, the woman who checked us in was busy chewing a gum and couldnt bother to offer much help including tips on things to do. Even when we wanted to have lunch, we found such reluctance or maybe plain indifference, that it was a stark contrast to other sri lankan hotels we had been to.
The worst part of the service was in the night when the aircon was simply not working. We called reception to send someone to help and to his credit, the guy came quickly and tried his best to fix it. Then went down to get the manager who just stood around haughtily and didnt bother to say a word directly to us or offer some apology for the inconvenience. We brought this issue up at 8.30 in the night and by 9.30 there still was no resolution. We had asked for the maintenance guy to come and fix it as these guys were not having much clue and were just fiddling around with the remote. We were updated that the maintenance guy will be sleeping!! and hence cant be disturbed. At 8.30??!!! and if so what about our sleep quality? Finally after the 3rd attempt to fix it, the guy never returned and when we called the reception an hour later, the manager casually tells us there is nothing to be done and we just have to adjust without aircon. Very disappointing. We paid for the best room they had to offer and more than the fact that there was no aircon in a sri lankan summer night, what really spoilt the experience was the shocking attitude displayed by staff.

2. Food - Am being objective when i say the food here was not good. The taste was v avg and the food oily. I would certainly not recommend this place when there are so many other options. We had dinner at Kingfisher which was really good food and the setting was romantic and nice.

Net net, if you are happy with a great room and view and can put up with mediocre service, then would still recommend you book the penthouse suite in this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse. The views are simply the best and is worth every extra rupee you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karthik1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We arrived at the Thaproban Beach House after an interesting five hour drive from Ella and were immediately refreshed with a very welcome complimentary cold drink.

We were booked into room 11 which is a Penthouse suite overlooking the beach, and our cases were whisked upstairs and we were very quickly forgetting about our stressful drive.

What a wonderful view, just what we had imagined throughout our wet winter in the UK.

Can’t remember if a beer or a swim came first, but both were equally enjoyable, and became a way of life for the next eight days.

My wife and I had a big and very comfortable double bed in the main part of the room and our son had his own upstairs bedroom which boasted a four poster bed draped with mosquito nets.

He loved it and would disappear into his own space with his iPad for hours, whilst we sat and read our books on the balcony.

We ate at the restaurant most nights and the food was always great and breakfasts, which were served until 10.30 am (civilised) were also very good, with fresh fruit followed by your choice of eggs with either bacon or sausage,

If you ordered the night before you could get a Sri Lankan Breakfast which was chicken curry with string hoppers. You have to try it at least once!

The staff were just fantastic always smiling and always happy and Nuwai on reception was just great. It was our son’s 16th Birthday whilst we were staying at the hotel and the staff arranged a special table for him at Breakfast decorated with flowers with his name and “Happy Birthday” spelt our in lentils, followed by a cake with candles. They also decorated his bed and gave him a special table on the beach festooned with flowers.

He was bowled over by everything and they made him feel very special. Thanks guys.

There are two other hotels in the group you can go to, both in walking distance and both with pools if you want a change for a day, and there are plenty of bars and restaurants to visit along the beach, that are just a short stroll away.

We can’t really fault the hotel and it is what it is, a friendly cheerful place full of smiles and laughter in a wonderful location. You can’t get much better than that!

Room Tip: We had romm 11 which had a great sea view and a second bedroom upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff was great!!! Very nice and welcoming, extremely helpful with anything we needed.
The hotel itself located on the beach there is no walking distance, right in the middle of everything!!
Highly recommended and I am sure i will be coming again!!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dusaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We stay here 8 days, and like the hotel,staff and location. We eat dinner and breakfast at the hotel everyday. Its tuk tuk outside the hotel, if you want to take a trip to Galle.
We miss it already, hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnAndAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

we booked two nights. but we stayed one extra night at The Grand at Nuwara Eliya. Glad that we did. This hotel (Thaproban) is a multi storied slum. recommend other hotels in the vicinity.

Pros
Only location is good.
Cons
Worst food. We ordered whole fish which was totally under cooked ad almost raw at the head. Felt like "life of pie" eating that.
Not a family friendly hotel. There was too much drinking and noise by the youngsters.
Room was smelly and full of sand, towels were not washed well and smelled. The AC was not working and we couldn't sleep at all the only night we stayed there since the AC remote was not working and it was too hot to sleep.
There was a notice about "safe" in the closet whereas there was none!
Worst possible wifi with no signal in the room 315

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloyDroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Property: Thaproban Beach House
Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing