We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for a honey moon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great hotel for a honey moon”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Go there and relax listening to the waves.
Great service and great rooms.
We went there the last night of our honey moon and reserved two massages at a great price.
Everything was made so that we could feel good.
We'll come back !!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Romain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    256
    72
    24
    21
See reviews for
198
421
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Thaproban Beach House at the end of a 2 week holiday in Sri Lanka and it really topped off our whole experience of the country.
The hotel is right on the beach and we stayed in one of the superior rooms on the 1st floor, which has a balcony overlooking the sea. The room was very spacious and clean. Although there isn't a safe in the room, they do have safes at reception in which you can store any valuables.
You can get food throughout the day and the restaurant is particularly popular at night - and it's easy to see why. They have a great selection of fresh fish which is beautifully cooked. On our first night we sat out at a table on the beach and we shared a huge lobster between us. I can honestly say this was one of the best meals I have ever eaten.
As with most hotels, the staff and service are what make or break it, and at the Thaproban Beach House all of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They do all they can to make your stay an enjoyable one and they seem to really enjoy their work, which gives a lovely atmosphere to the place.
We also enjoyed an Ayuverda massage which reception was able to arrange for us at the sister hotel. I would recommend the oil treatment for a different experience, but be prepared not to shower for at least an hour afterwards and to have very greasy hair for a couple of days!!
Overall, a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Go for one of the superior rooms on the 1st floor if you want to wake up to views over the sea and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We loved to stay at this hotel the staff is really friendly..from the clean boy to the manager they are all nice and friendly. The food is good and the carte offers a nice variety. Of course you can eat on the beach..and it's really a m a z i n g!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

On a beautiful beach, with good beds, fridge, aircon, meals, lots of staff, wifi etc, this should easily score an excellent rating. However the room maintenance and staff performance is very hit and miss. The staff are all young boys, who smile a lot and try their hardest, but no-one seems to be in charge. Room refresh was haphazard, beach towels were 'at the laundry', at dinner we had to request everything twice. This needs management attention.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaPinball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentota, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Hotel has a great location and the rooms are spacious, but need maintenance as taps, toilets are in need of work. The beach was fine and the staff were very friendly. Two issues - be careful of the room you book. We booked a private balcony and for 2 days given a ground floor room that faced the beach, but also was a bar area for other guests. After 2 days we received the 1st floor balcony - not private - you share it with another room. We went on a Leopard safari and kept the room for the 2 nights as it was the Eid holiday and we wanted to keep most of our clothes back in the room. Well upon return, we had been moved next door to another room, without even asking us. They had even unpacked a suitcase. To say we were upset was an understatement and the staff member who did this tried various stories but all were very questionable. The manager refunded the 2 days and was visibly upset.

It could be a very good hotel - good staff, the bones of the hotel are good, just needs some work.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a balcony room with direct beach views on 1st of 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trent53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Now we are in this hotel and I want to say that it s really the best hotel on the beach. The location is very very very good! On the beach. We have 2floor penthouse with great balcony! The view is amaizing and I advice everyone to reserve this room. Because you can sit there in the evening and enjoy the nature.

Stuff is amaizing. Very polite and nice! I think it's the best hotel here in unawatuna. The ocean is best-blue water.... No waves..
It s possible to take excursion from the hotel -and reseption made all his best to do the best for you. We reserved city tour -tea plantation, turtle ferm, Galle and so on. Very interesting! Espessioslly tea plantation. It was individual excursion just for us.
The weather is good here. People are very friendly.. Ther are a lot of shops in unawatuna -souvenirs, fruits and so on.

So, I advise this hotel! Have a nice holiday.
I think that if we return in unawatuna we ll stay here...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgaShelevakho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Thaproban Beach House for three nights and stayed for 6. From the time we arrived the staff made us very welcome and really took a genuine interest in making our stay comfortable and pleasant.
The meal service was excellent and the beachside location was great for a relaxing drink or a satisfying meal with attentive service. No special request was impossible and quickly produced. Extra chilli, more ice, another plate, Viola! It was there in no time.
Special thanks to Dinesh, Nirwani, Kumara, and Pradeep for giving us such a great ending to our month's travelling in Sri Lanka. And Unawatuna is a perfect spot to relax. The beach is protected and there are some really nice leafy back streets worth exploring.
We are already planning a return to the Thaoroban..

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stirlwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
683 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Property: Thaproban Beach House
Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing