We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
451 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Great and peaceful location right on the beach. Could not have asked for better. They had lounge chairs and a patio to relax at. I was very happy with the staff and location. Very relaxing with alot of food places to walk to. You could also use the pool t the sister resort and it had a free breakfast. The price was also very reasonable!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PresPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Nuwani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    255
    70
    24
    21
See reviews for
194
419
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here on the Second night of our Unawatuna visit and we were not disappointed. So much so we decided to stay another two nights, the price was cheap the rooms were clean tidy and the staff were pleasant. Breakfast was good and the location couldn't have been better, if your in Unawatuna on a budget I would recommend a stay here! It directly onto the beach and there are lots of nice bars up the beach to keep you busy.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking to see the available rooms before you check in (if your winging it and tryi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevebratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and valuable time spent on writing writing this positive review.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a place which is situated in a wonderful location carries world class service levels. From the moment we entered the Beach House it was an experience of a life time. The Friendly staff adds the icing on top of everything. The quick service levels & the mouth watering food takes you to another level. I called Nuwani & had to only give her my requirements & everything was taken care off in great style. If it's Unawatuna, it definitely has to be Thaproban Beach House!!! Hats off to every one @ Thaproban Beach house!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niro009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and the staff were delighted to read your comments. We hope you will return back to Thaproban in the future.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in the penthouse suite and the rooms were excellent! The room and toilets are well maintained and very clean. Situated on the beach itself.
Breakfast was very tasty. And the pizzas at Thaprobane are simply the best. Staff were very friendly and helpful. If you needed anything they would immediately attend to your request.

Definitely a place that I would go back as well as recommend to all my friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilanthi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Lilanthi,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

plus points : it is a hotel with nice location, right on the beach.
nice view. stayed there 2 nights. unawatuna beach is good with nice waves.
just a few steps from the room to the ocean.
minus points : ill-maintained bathrooms and average breakfast.
advise to hotel : shud remove dog-poop on the beach side
bargain for prices. around USD 50-60 it is a good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarTraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We have made a note of your comments regarding the bathrooms and the beach area. Hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel surpasses all expectations--and even wildest hopes. The rooms are gorgeous: right on the beach, with doors opening on to a spacious balcony. Lotuses bloom in every room; the food is wonderful; the private beach is lovely. The thing that really made the difference, though, was the staff. Always smiling, helpful, and kind, these folks were incredibly dedicated to making every moment of our stay as comfortable as possible. I am beginning to wonder if my husband and I should have come here for our honeymoon! What a glorious place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay in June 2013 at Thaproban Beach House and we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.

We were honored to read your great review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting the overall ambiance of the hotel and the quality of personalized service provided by our associates.
We have shared your compliments to the entire team and they are equally happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. We are certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve the higher standards of excellence.

We thank you once again for your compliments and we all look forward to having you back with us on your next holiday to Sri Lanka. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Unawatuna.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake
Thambapanni Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Location is fantastic,right on the beach.We had two bedrooms and bathroom on the top level with a great view of the beach.Very clean and comfortable,Would be good for two couples travelling together.
The staff are fantastic,always there to help you whenever you need anything.A special thank you to Nuwani for her extra help and attention to detail and always with a smile.
The food is also very good!!
I can highly recommend the Thaproban beach house for a holiday stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay in May 2013 at Thaproban Beach House and we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.

We were honored to read your great review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting your room at the hotel and the quality of personalized service provided by our staff.
We have shared your compliments to the entire team and they are equally happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. We are certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve the higher standards of excellence.

We thank you once again for your compliments and we all look forward to having you back with us on your next holiday to Sri Lanka. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to our hotels.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake
Thambapanni Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
671 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Property: Thaproban Beach House
Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing