We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location ! Wonderful service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Brilliant location ! Wonderful service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked through AGODA for two days and stayed on 26 & 27 th of April. The check in was fast. Booked for Superior room with balcony and beach view. Managed to get a beach facing room (No 3) which had a big balcony too. The room was nicely done with a reasonably sized toilet , round the clock hot water facility. Lighting inside room is not suitable for reading but in such a location you should not expect that. The bed was queen size. The AC unit was under rated for the size of the room and took much time to cool the volume. The TV didnt have much channel options but still managed to get the cricketing action and news updates. Overall the room was nice. The food was very nice but limited options. Room service was quick. Carry couple of water cans as it is slightly over priced inside the hotel. There are nearby shops within 70m for water and other stuffs. The beach was nice and you cannot swim directly in front of this property (we didn't do it!) Get down to the beach from behind the hotel and walk 20 m you get much safer places for swimming. Nice disco and restaurants onto the left side of this property walkable through the beach & road ( 100m) for better night life. Try Happy Banana for Friday night outs and good fish delicacies. Distance to Galle fort is Rs 300 bu tuk tuk ( they will ask for 400-500, bargain for best deals). Overall nice rooms overlooking the beach, good food at affordable rates, always smiling people to take care of you. Recommended for family and friend groups. No swimming pool inside this property but they will arrange to use the pool at their adjacent property ( 250m walk) with excellent views of the sea. The water is saline inside the pool. Visit the place after 5 pm for superb sunset view. Would definitely return !!

Room Tip: Get room no 3 or 4 over looking the beach !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobeasaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your efforts and look forward to having you again at Thaproban Beach House.

Regards,
Nuwani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    250
    70
    24
    21
See reviews for
183
413
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elliot, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

we had 4 nights here and wished we had of stayed the rest of the holiday there! We are a middle aged couple from Australia and travelled around Sri Lanka for 10 days before staying at this hotel. Unawatuna and this hotel were the highlight of our holiday.The management is professional, the staff were great, especially the servants, who are happy, helpful and have a great attitude. The room was clean and spacious. The food was great and good value for money. It is well located and a great way to wind down and relax.

Room Tip: the seaside ones have a good view, but can be noisy if there is a night function next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magpiemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate your comments. Look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Himal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Beautiful room (no.5) and the staff were very friendly - food was really tasty too. I stayed on a Friday and Saturday night so there was distant music pounding away and imagine this will affect all accomadation here, but earplugs meant I slept fine. I'd definitely stay here again and hope to return...

Room Tip: No.5 is recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bod123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Himal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked for 6 days and ended up staying for 8! We had a room overlooking the beach and beautiful bay. The room was very nice and although there was no safe the staff provided a locked safe box at reception. Everybody at the hotel is so friendly and helpful with lovely smiles. The food is very good there, overlooking the the ocean. We would certainly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Try for one overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue657w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and time invested in writing a comment for us.

Regards,
Himal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bartonleclay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just returned from Sri Lanka and stayed for 3 nights in thaproban enjoyed our stay and location and food is good. The only issue is on Friday and Saturday nights the disco next door which plays till 3am and is so loud you wont be able to sleep till 3 am and I can sleep through anything.Unawatuna is a quiet area and to have a rave disco that loud isnt good for the area considering there was only about 20 people there anyway each night.
But apart from that its a nice place with big rooms and good service.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank travellercraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. Please note the next door party was not a properly organized one and the hotel was not even informed prior. This does not happen every week, its just a very rare occasion they organize party at the adjoining property.

I hope you will visit us again!

Regards,
Himal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have been travelling around Sri Lanka several times a year for the last 15 years, and when I visit the southern part of the country,I always stay in Thaproban Beach House! It is perfectly situated on the beach, the staff is more than friendly and makes you feel at home and comfortable, the rooms are big and clean with AC and moscitonets and the breakfast is perfect! WF is free.
Thaproban has a very good restaurant with excellent seafood!
This is a hotell which I can recomend to single persons, couples and families with children. It is good value for the money!
Lise Henriksen, Norway

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can see the beautiful sea! The two rooms in front at ground floor, overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clxxaawc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon as you are one of our frequent guests.

Regards,
Himal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

A lovely stay at Thraproban hotel. A 1 minute walk to the beautiful beach where there are a range of cafes/ restaurants. Basic room with tv and wifi and fabulous breakfast. Possibly sea facing rooms are a little nicer. A ten minute tuk tuk to Galle. People are very friendly. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckywakefie1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and hope you will visit us again.

Regards,
Himal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Property: Thaproban Beach House
Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing