We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A true beauty"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"A true beauty"”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at the Thaproban Beach House. Location, staff, food all excellent. You are made to feel really welcome but, not pressured. Stayed in a superior room front facing for 3 nights.

As with all reviews it basically boils down to one's own taste, wants and needs but, having travelled the past 2 weeks throughout Sri Lanka this was a very well organised and run hotel right on the beach with excellent food....what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we hope we will be able to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Himal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    254
    70
    24
    21
See reviews for
190
417
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Warm welcome, helpful receptionist, nice and attentive staff, comfortable and clean rooms, lively surrounding but quiet at ca. 23h, best food in town, good tours with perfect organisation, large wifi area, dinner with oceanview and sound of waves, directly on the beachfront close to beachbars, shops and nightlife. Thanx to the team! B.L.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bente L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor and time invested in writing it.

Regards,
Himal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A hotel like it should be . Great location right on the beach , very friendly and competent staff and management . Helpful for every wish you have (i.e. Airport pick up, travel advisories .) clean and spacy rooms with careful attendance . Safe place therfore great for families , safe nights because the hotel mangement has a good safety standard .
Best kitchen on the beach with local and international cooking .
We can really recomment this place and will
Surely come back .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.

Regards,
Himal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at Thaproban Beach House for a week recently and though it wasn't perfect, it was pretty damn good on the whole. There were 7 of us, so we booked the 4 rooms (ground/1st floor) closest to the sea. We had a few problems with unwanted wildlife finding its way into the Ground Floor rooms but these were minor issues. The rooms were generally clean and well-appointed and with a fantastic view of the bay..

The Thaproban has the feel of a large guesthouse rather than a soulless boutique hotel - yes, there are some rough edges and the place could probably do with a bit of a makeover but it would be a mistake to overdo this as you would destroy its character and much of its charm. If you want infinity pools and tranquil contemplation then you should probably look elsewhere, but for me the Beach House has got things just about right. I am flexible enough to overlook its very few flaws because the overall package is so good.

Where the Beach House scores heavily is with its staff, who are terrific. We had 2 birthdays among the group whilst we were there and they pushed the boat out for us on both occasions - beds and breakfast tables festooned with flowers, cakes - the whole routine really. We were always after them for more toast or coffee at breakfast-time plus tea during the day and drinks at night and despite being very busy, they always came through for us. We also did a pre-booked whale-watching trip with them which worked like a charm - and yes, we did......

The Beach House has the reputation for being the best restaurant on Unawatuna Beach, though I'd have to say that Sun'n'Sea at the other end of the beach was just as good and Nautilus just down the road even better.. The Beach House specialises in fresh fish dinners with Lobster, Crab, Butterfish, Tuna, and 'Prawns' the size of Shetland Ponies regularly available. It all looks good and cheap but be aware that prices on the blackboard are per 100 grams so a whole fish can work out pretty expensive. On the other hand where in Europe are you going to get seafood like that? Maybe it's worth it. on that basis alone.

The other great thing about the Beach House is of course its location; right on the tide-line with the waves crashing in and sometimes - beware - crashing up and over the tables on the front terrace. The sea can get a bit feisty with an onshore wind and high tide, so it's good to know that Beach House guests can use the pools at the group's 2 other Unawatuna properties - the Retreat and the Pavilion. Staff can supply details and directions.

In summary I'd have to say that the Beach House did us proud during our stay and I personally cannot wait to go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to having you again.

Regards,
Himal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a superb hotel with some wonderful rooms, excellent staff and a very good restaurant. However, there is a major problem that affects all the hotels within 200m of the beach in Unawatuna and something over which the owners appear to have absolutely no influence. On Friday and Saturday nights, especially from 9pm until 5am, a roof-top discotheque plays extremely loud techno-music. It is near the beach and the sound carries for more than 1km. It is impossible to get any sleep if you happen to be staying in a room above the first floor or a room facing out to sea while this music is being played.

Unawatuna’s beach is steep and narrow so there was no actual beach to sit on in front of the hotel and it’s difficult to walk all the way along the beach because there are rocky outcrops in places and the sand is so soft that you sink into it at every footstep plus the steepness adds to the difficulty.

Room Tip: the best rooms with wonderful views are the penthouse suites. We stayed in one of them for a week bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

While thanking you for your lovely review, I would like to inform you that this particular night they next door property had a party was not priory planned and our hotel was not informed about it until that evening. We offered guests to sleep at our other hotels if they do not want to stay in the room at Thaproban Beach House. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience caused and this does not occur every Friday night, only very rarely the next door property is having a party.

Regards,
Himal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had to leave this place early.. the sheets were smelly and the place was dirty. The one thing that made it bearable whilst we were there were the staff; they are fantastic, particularly the head receptionist/office manager, but the management really need to invest in some clean sheets and a some redecoration! It could be lovely but it falls well short of most of the reviews on here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgtbilko_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

First things first... This hotel is very run down on the inside. All of the rooms have old doors with the old school keys which is very difficult to unlock the door while sober and nearly impossible while after a few drinks. The beds were comfortable but all you received was a sheet on the bed.. no back up blanket just in case. The bathroom was a fair size but they only gave you one towel per person a day with no bath mat. The bathroom is laid out so there is no shower curtain so water gets everywhere.

While in the rooms you can hear everything downstairs.. phones ringing, dogs barking, people talking, etc. Very hard to sleep in as the restaurant opens at 0730am and staff arrive before then and you can hear everything. Now here is the biggest issue I had... Apparently "overnight guests" or friends are not allowed over into the hotel as per policy. First of all, I never did see this policy and second of all, I have never heard of a hotel not allowing people in! I ended up paying a bit more for a friend who stayed over which is completely fine... but whenever I showed up downstairs they would talk to me about it in front of the whole restaurant which is highly unprofessional. I was absolutely not impressed with some of the staff, made me feel unwelcome and uncomfortable.

I would not return to this hotel in the future... maybe eat at the restaurant during the day and that is it. Even families with children.. it is extremely loud! If your kids need a nap in the afternoon that would be very difficult with the noise. Stay away from this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MandyRoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
This review is from the second guests in the room which wrote the review below " Very Misleading with hidden policies"


The main reason you were upset with the hotel was due to the fact that during the first three days you were at the hotel five different over night friends were bought to the hotel room and as a responsible management we have to think about your safety and as well as the other guests safety, if any property of yours get lost we have to be responsible and one night one of your over night friends came and broke the door of your room by kicking it since you didnt open the door for him, after this indecent the hotel did not allow any out side guests to come in to the hotel. From this time onwards you were not happy with the hotel policies! As a hotel with more than 10 years experience these steps are taken only to provide security for our in house guests and not for any gains of the hotel. If something happened to you in your room the hotel will be responsible for this.

Also we have clearly mentioned that WIfi is not available in the rooms, only in the public area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Property: Thaproban Beach House
Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing