We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We really love this hotel! We stayed at Thaproban before Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and every time it has managed to up its game. It is amazingly efficiently run, from arranging transport to its booking system. The staff are wonderful, very friendly yet efficient and professional. Thank you to them all. The food is delicious especially their curry. We had a lovely, large room, nicely furnished and well appointed with a/c, fan, flat screen tv, fridge and spacious balcony. There was a big wet room type bathroom with plenty of hot water. There's good free wifi which we were able to access in our room and on our balcony. There were pretty flowers and petals on the bed every night and a lovely goodbye message on our last night. So cute! Unlike other reviews we were not disturbed by loud music coming from up the beach. All in all a charming hotel in a great seafront location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavenlyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We appreciate your comments.

Regards,
Medha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 922 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

We first have been to Thaproban in December 2010 and staied there again in December 2012. The balcony sea view rooms are great - nice rooms and a perfect balcony with a great sea view and wounderfull sunsets!. The staff is very friendly and the kooking very good (best sea food in town). We really can recommend the Thaproban hotel! The beach next to the Thaproban is very nice and the water clean. The only negative point is that there is once a week a disco somewhere in the bay which is very noisy - but this issue you have in each hotel in Unawatuna

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noname n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We appreciate your comments.

Regards,
Himal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a fab hotel. Really friendly staff and gorgeous rooms. good location as it is at the right end of the beach where it is calmer and less crowded. That said there was a night club next door which played really really loud music until 4 am. Shame as I could not fault it otherwise. Good restaurant we had lunch, dinner and breakfast - all great

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review,

We are sorry about the noise you experienced in Unawatuna, this is due to the festive season in Unawatuna. The disco was not played in the adjoining property, it was played in a bar which is at the end of the Unawatuna bay.

Thank you,

Himal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel, fabulous staff and service, very nice rooms/bathrooms, food is excellent (we had dinner here as well as breakfast), good location at the better end of the beach IMO.

Sadly the 4am finish of the nightclub next door put a negative spin on things as you can imagine! I tried earplugs and pillows over the top but the bass was too much for me to sleep and once you're awake it's a problem. All the guests complained the next morning at breakfast and the poor manager had to listen to the same issue over and over. She did say that they were supposed to stop at 12 and they would try and do something about it but I would check this out before booking again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeEmmGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Past two weeks due to the festive season Unawatuna clubs were playing disco however now its not played as frequent as it was during that period. Parties may be on weekends. Also this is not at the adjoining property but at the end of the beach area more towards the bay which is about 400 meters away from Thaproban beach house.

Thank you.

Himal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Thaproban beach house is located at the centre of Unawatuna bay effectively between the party (younger tourist) places to the south ans more chilled places to the north. Although it has no pool, the sister establishment about 300 metres away does and if you ask they are fine for you to use this.
They have a fresh fish offering most nights where you choose your fish or lobbo and they prepare it as you wish. The sea facing outside restaurant is a great spot book early or late and miss the rush.
The service is outstanding with incredible staff retention (same crew last two years). The rooms are appointed ans well kept.
Like most places in this part of the world, kids are adored.
If you aren't feeling adventurous and fancy a bit of the beautiful unawatuna, book a couple of nights here to acclimatise. The beaches to the north past hot rock restaurant (brilliant) are safer for kids and frequented by very amusing locals on public holidays. Many of the boys happily hammered on arrack, the local tipple.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments, Actually we are selling wine from different countries such as France, Australia, Italy and Chille and you can select the wine accordingly. All the wines are well recommended and used by many five star hotels in Sri Lanka.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is a gem, located on the beach, with beautiful rooms, & extremely helpful kind staff, eager to please, advice & provide what ever you need. The rooms were spotless. We booked for one night, stayed for many. The evening fish market was delicious , the chef excellent. We would certainly return - not only for the views, the tranquility, the wonderful staff. The hotel has a sister hotel with a beautiful spa and pool - which you can use if needed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are spectacular, you feel as though you are in the sea, worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Public Relations Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

We do not have the words to express how grateful we are to you for your wonderful feedback.

Sincerely,

Nuwani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We came here for our honeymoon and had the most amazing time! The staff was so helpful and friendly, always willing to please. Rooms were peacefull and relaxing, also very clean. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean which always had spectacular views. We would definately recommend this hotel. It exceeded our expectations and has great prices!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Public Relations Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

We do not have the words to express how grateful we are to you for your wonderful feedback.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $58 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing