We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place right on the beach!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A great place right on the beach!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and enjoied every minute of it. Our room was right on the beach, it was cleaned every day. The food is nice and the staff is super nice!! It is also great eating dinner over there near the sea! Gilad and yaara

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilad_Yaara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,
Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    250
    70
    24
    21
See reviews for
183
413
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for 6 days in this little piece of paradise. We had a room overlooking the ocean so very pleasant falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean rolling in!
Our room was well appointed for a beach house style accommodation (everything you need) very clean.
Easy access to the beach in fact right out in front, so a swim before breakfast was very easy with not too much effort at all!
Breakfast had a great selection and we eat at their restaurant every night, really enjoying the fresh seafood, (a good selection of seafood to choose from)
Thoroughly enjoyed our time here would definitely recommend a holiday here for everyone interested in the area
All the staff were wonderful, really went out of their way to assist

Room Tip: Overlooking the beach to get the real beach house experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

After travelling round Sri Lanka and staying in some ok - and not so ok - hotels, we stayed at Thaproban at the end of our holidays and we absolutely loved it and can't understand the bad reviews that have been written.

The rooms were spotless and we could (just about!) see the sea from our balcony. The restaurant was excellent - an extensive menu and superb food (special thanks to the chef who was fantastic). Eating out on the beach front next to the sea was magical (until the heavens opened and we had to rush inside!!) but, most of all, the staff were just great and 'made' the place. They seemed genuinely interested in ensuring their customers had a good time and enjoyed their stay. In particular Mahinda - one of the waiters- was just fantastic and went out his way everyday to help us and make our stay fabulous. The room attendants were also very helpful and always smiling!

Would go back in a heartbeat and would definitely recommend the place to friends and family. They also have a 'sister' retreat a few minutes away where you can use the swimming pool (we didn't discover this until the last couple of days!). The only advice I may suggest is checking out other taxi prices rather than booking through the hotel if you're planning on travelling anywhere- speak to the tuk tuk drivers (they have the details of other taxi drivers).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanclarke79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in September. This place is a gem. Stayed in room 1, room well appointed, beach outside door. Breakfast excellent, menu provided to choose from. All the staff are fantastic especially special thanks to Priyantha and Kurma were very helpful and friendly, always with big smiles. Nuwani the manageress also very helpful. We ate most nights in the restaurant as the food was great.
Wifi available in restaurant. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: This hotel has a sister hotel, Thambapanni just up the road where you can use the pool. They also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomaddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

No doubt the best accommodation on the stretch of the beach. We were glad this was our beach house the moment we arrived at Thaproban.
We spent 2 nights in the penthouse which comfortably fits a group of 4 and the large, sea view balcony was a big plus. Value for money, clean and spacious. The service staff was excellent and friendly. We had left some items in the hotel after we left Unawatuna. We contacted the staff and they delivered to us at no cost - a gesture which deserve much compliments.
Overall, the beach was okay but staying at Thaproban Beach house made it great.

Room Tip: For a group of 4, get the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeiKian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

from the word GO! the reception that me & Dr Jelena received was beyond compare!!! worthy of mention is Ms. Medha, she is one of the best Hostess' i have ever met, you can depend on her for INSTANT email replies(24/7) pertaining to your reservations/bookings, pickup/drops etc.,
just to share our experiences: (8 days) of blisss, solitude, peace & harmony!!!
Me & my partner was seeking "AWAY FROM THE HUM DRUM OF DAILY LIFE" ---- and thats exacty what Thaproban beach house offers !!!, I personally have traveled the world with my partner, never ever i have had an experience like this one.
nevertheless there is alot of room for improvement,
a) the waiters are "over enthusiastic" in the ground floor restaurant, waiting on you while ur still eating (due to this sometimes we had room service)
b) Medha- you would need either make brochures or may have to brief your guests on what all is available by your establishment (tours/rates etc) [Dr. jelena & me had do do alotot of digging & probing)
c) last but not least - every night after midnight there was a continuous knocking sound which woke us up - we enquired with all the staff but no one had a clue!!! me and my partner would wake up and start laffing and wondering whether we could investigate - WE JUST LOST IT!!
hopefully Medha would look into this !!!

I have forgotten all the waiters & staff names - but a big THAK YOU TO ALL OF THEM, they performed well under the circumstances!!!
Dint forget to meet NUWANI the receptionist, she wud put her hand on your shoulder and Re assure you that everything is well!!

check out Ranga the tuk tuk driver - he has stories that would make you believe that SRI LANKA was created by GOD ---
he told me that "watuna" is the medicine dropped by Hunuman!!!!
so definately one must visit & experience the medicine now known as UNAWATUNA !!!
ranga can be found right in front of the beach house in his tuk tuk --all day all night!!

all in all i enjoyed the trip and i would go back again in the very near future

Room Tip: ask for the partial "SEA VIEW"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubby r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Unawatuna and Sri Lanka, in general, seem to be a 'road less traveled' destination for the intrepid among us. Not that it's dangerous or that hazardous, you just need lots of patience and low expectations in terms of things like accommodation and hygiene.

As an American, I sense that I have higher expectations in these areas than a lot of other nationalities, even including western Europeans. The Thaproban Hotel and most others we've stayed at in the beach areas would be considered motels in the US and would go for about the same price. Granted you're not on the beach! I would just expect $54 to go a little farther in Sri Lanka.

Thaproban is a very good option for the budget traveler. I expected more, but for the price, I suppose I shouldn't complain too much. Therefore, I'll just list the good, the bad and the ugly in ascending order...

The ugly:

The breakfast... OK, it wasn't green slime but it could use a facelift. The "jelly" served with the bread is 100% all artificial ingredients. The egg yolks are as white at the whites themselves. On the second morning we got an actual menu whereas as on the first morning we were given options verbally and the waiter must have forgotten a couples of things because when we got the menu on the second day, we discovered other options, such as yogurt and oatmeal, which he left out. But skip the yogurt! It had black bits in it and looked curdled.

The bad:

We ordered an overpriced taxi through the front desk for convenience reasons and it was 15 minutes late to pick us up. The driver didn't greet us and drove like mad man with a death wish back through Colombo.

The doors are locked around 10pm and the nightwatchman who opens it for you is rude. There is no shower curtain so the whole bathroom floor floods.

The free wi-fi that is advertised is not available in the rooms! It is only available near the lobby.

Tried to make a call from the phone in our room, but you actually have to go downstairs for that.

Some things just don't make a lot of sense...

The good:

Greeted very professionally at the front desk upon arrival. They use a modern reservation system and knew our names. They are very accommodating with special requests or questions. They sell beer and other things at the bar.

The rooms are very basic with television, A/C and a small stocked refrigerator. Cement floors and an old wardrobe. The rooms are clean. For $54/night, you can't say much. A good value for the rate.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarthGopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Property: Thaproban Beach House
Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing