We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and very helpful to change us to the much quieter sister hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and very helpful to change us to the much quieter sister hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

We were supposed to stay two nights in this hotel but it was too noisy and luckily the hotelowner switched us to the other hotel they own. We were supposed go stay in a room with seaview but the hotel made a mistake (didn't tell us that the deposit money should have been paid before a certain date) and we couldn't get the room. We ended up in a room next to the staircase just above the restaurant. The noise from the restaurant was audible but hushed so I did fall asleep to be waked up by the village disco that played their thumping music till 3 am! At 6 am the hotelpersonnel started and we heard kitchen noises. Luckily the hotel switched us to their sister hotel and there we had a much quieter night. What I don't understand is that the whole village doesn't complain to the authorities about the noise of the disco thumping through the night. Everybody must have been awake that night. The retreat is a nice and quiet place with a swimming pool. What would help at the beach house is if they gave the rooms on the first floor new doors as they didn't close and left a gap open, you could just peek inside if you wanted to! There is no beach you can sit at, it is all being invaded by the sea.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with seaview or on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    250
    70
    24
    21
See reviews for
183
413
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the beach house and 1 night at the retreat up the road - both were lovely, although definitely preferred the beach house, mainly due to its location as the retreat is tucked away.

It was 'Poya' - the Sri Lankan new year whilst we were staying there and the hotel very kindly invted us to share their rituals with them, which was great as it gave us an insight into the culture, as well as having the opportunity to try some traditional Sir Lankan foods.

The staff were friendly, tip top cleanliness, no faults there and the bedrooms - simple but affective. We were in a standard en-suite room, which was all we needed and the AC was good. The only complaint I may have about the bedrooms was the mattress as it was incredibly thin, no good if you have a bad back and of course the noise, which as other reviewees have mentioned, it wouldnt have been any quieter at any of the other places along the beach front, the beach house is probably the better option as it is one of the furthest along the beach strip but still very noisey and as a light sleeper, it wasnt ideal!

The restaurant was lovely - fresh seafood every night, which was delightful and the service wasnt too bad, especially in comparison to other restaurants we had tried and actually ended up walking out due to the dlays but no problems at the beach house rest. The breakfast menu was limited but it was plenty - fresh fruit and juice, eggs with bacon or sausage, plenty of toast and porridge/cereal and tea.

As the retreat is the sister to the beach house, it was possible to use the pool, which was great, especially if you wanted to cool off or if seeking a little shade.

We would and have already recommended to friends and family - it is a great little place and we would stay there again when we go in the future. Good value for money!

Room Tip: Book it - you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazza2Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Fantastic friendly, helpful staff. Good clean rooms. Nice breakfast. Nice and secure.
Yes you can hear general housekeeping quiet noise earlyish in the morning, but this is Sri Lanka, the day starts early and ends early so I didn't find this a problem.
Lovely views from the beachfront seating area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00_aw_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights over the Sri Lankan New Year period. We had the Penthouse suite which was very large and furnished nicely. The room had a fridge with cold drinks in which was nice after a hot day on the beach. A/C is excellent and kept the room perfectly cool. The balcony has spectacular views and is a lovely place to relax. The balcony is shared with the other penthouse suite which could be a problem if you have neighbours who are a bit noisy - we didn't really have this problem.

The hotel has a restaurant downstairs which is average at best. Breakfast is a little boring as it's the same small menu each day. Service in the restaurant is hit or miss and you often had to call a waiter over to take an order. Better to visit one of the other restaurants in Unawatuna as we had a few nice meals elsewhere.

Other reviewers have mentioned the noise and this is a bit of a problem though it's not every night. It seems to be more on a Saturday / holiday. I'm quite a light sleeper but found a pair of earplugs blocked out the worst of the noise. I think all of the hotels in Unawatuna would probably suffer from this noise which is caused by 1 or 2 bars so I wouldn't dismiss this hotel for that reason. The Thambapanni retreat (the sister hotel) is well back from the beach so maybe a better option for light sleepers.

Reception staff usually ignored you as you returned to the hotel / walked past in the morning and I found them to be a little aloof. A simple hello or smile would be more welcoming. The hotel is kept very nicely and is immaculately cleaned every day. The room boys are very friendly and helpful and are a credit to the hotel.

If we returned to Unawatuna we would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a seaview / penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMaharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights over new years eve and had a fab time. This was one of the best places we stayed whilst in sri lanka, it's very clean and the staff are so friendly.

Its a shame that the 'beach' by the hotel didn't exist during our stay, but really enjoyed nonetheless.

Had the NYE buffet which was complusory and very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess_cat_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

What an amazing place to stay and wish we could have stayed for longer. We had pre-booked 3 nights in another hotel, but ended up coming to Unawatuna a day early and we decided to stay here for a night. We are more mid-range travelers and this was a step up for us in standard and price... But we did not regret staying here for a second. The service of everyone here was so attentive and friendly. The room was beautiful and good attention to detail, a great balcony and didn't hear any loud noise or anything at night. Food was really nice, but we loved the big screen to watch the cricket. We ended up coming back for dinner when we had checked into our new accommodation.

Unless you only stay in super luxurious places and are a very picky person, you won't have any issues with this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Loved it, loved it, loved it. The staff were wonderfully friendly, the room was beautiful, the service was sensational. We loved being right on the water, but away from crazy packed beach (only a short stroll if that's your thing). Sometimes a bit of noise from the bars nearby, but at Unawatuna I'm not sure there's anywhere you'd escape that!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Property: Thaproban Beach House
Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thaproban Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing